We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Buckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   West Buckland, West Buckland EX32 0SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Jackie and Anthony go that extra mile to make your stay memorable. We stayed over the Easter week-end. Nothing is too much trouble and if you are interested in the animals they will happily show you around and answer questions. They even made sure we got to see a lamb being born and chicks hatching. The family room in the barn was clean and very comfortable. The food was delicious and there was even an easter egg hunt for the children. Walking around the farm is delightful and relaxing and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxtablefarm, Owner at Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Easter weekend stay with us. Splish and Splash, the orphan, tame lambs are growing well as are the chicks. The broody hen has hatched 6 of her own chicks and Polly, the sheep dog, is starting to look pregnant now! We do hope you'll come and visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our second visit to Huxtable Farm and the magic remains. A warm and friendly welcome from Anthony and Jackie ably assisted by their two dogs. The welcoming cream tea was much appreciated. We had the same room (yellow primrose) that reflects all the charm of the age of the bulding. Everything was so clean and tidy. Breakfast was superb, most of the contents being locally sourced or produced by Jackie and Anthony and you could choose as much or as little and in whatever combination you wished. By special request we were able to partake of an evening meal, starters (choice of 4) main course with an array of vegetables and desserts (again choice of 4) - loved sitting at the big round table and chatting to other guests that were present. Our seond night saw us "dip into" the information books that are available for somewhere to eat. There are also information sheets on local walks to suit all levels of walkers as well as places of interest. As always the bed was comfortable, the room of suitable temperature and so to sleep we drifted, every now and then hearing a distant sound of owls and sheep. After a two day stay we left, suitably fed, watered and refreshed and clutching free range eggs (there is a small shop area where other produce from the farm can be purchased) We will definately return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxtablefarm, Owner at Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review :-) We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Huxtable Farm again and appreciate the care we take in providing locally sourced food. We think the tawny owl has nested in the nesting box we’ve put up near the fruit garden, so there should be chicks next month! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to huxtabe farm, always a lovely welcome from Jackie Anthony and the dogs. A 1st class breakfast every morning, with a huge choice. Its a lovely place to relax, lovely and quiete, just the sound of pheasants, and at night you hear the owls. We hope to return again. Keith and Chris Tindell

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at Huxtable Farm. Our room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are as good as you can get.
Great hosts who made us feel very welcome.
A great rural location but close enough to allow us to visit the nearby beaches at Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Westward Ho! and Croyde.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We were so glad to have found Huxtable Farm, even though it was for only one night. Our room (Blue Forget Me Not) was comfortable and delightful, while still reflecting the age of the building (low ceilings, narrow stairs, etc.). The welcome was warm and friendly, the lounge large and comfortable, and breakfast delicious and filling. We only stayed one night, but deeply enjoyed walking the paths through the farmland (sheep!) and surrounding areas, using the maps supplied by Jackie and Antony. I had to go to the lounge to access the WiFi, but that just put me in a perfect place as other guests came in and the socializing began!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remich, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

On our tour to discover the south east and south west of England we booked one night at Huxtable farm. Although we were a little late (9pm) to arrive at the farm, Jackie welcomed us very warmly. We booked the Barley barn room wich was very comfortable for us and our two boys (9-7 years old). Next day Jackie and Antonay surprised us with the best breakfast we had on our tour! Our boys discovered a lot of animals and enjoyed playing with the dogs. Before leaving Jackie gave us some tips on which was the best way to drive to our next stay (in Bath), so we could see some very nice places of Exmoor National Park. We were very happy to stay at Huxtable farm and can´t find something missing, so absolute must if you are looking for an excellent place to stay. Jackie and Antony, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We have been visiting Huxtable Farm for about 12 years as a couple and with our children and once at New Year as a large family party. Jackie and Anthony always make us feel welcome and spoil the children, nothing is too much trouble. When the children were very small we had use of microwaves, fridges, washing machines, monitors, highchairs and everything we needed for a stress free family holiday. We appreciate the family rooms available, the safety of the farm off the road means the children can play safely and there are plenty of things for them to do. For me the meals are the highlight, when you have been out all day high tea for the children at 5.30 and then a meal on our own at 7.30 is a luxury, and the food is suberb.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: West Buckland, West Buckland EX32 0SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > West Buckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Buckland
Hotel Class:4 star — Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this beautiful, Medieval Longhouse (beams, log fires & low doorways!) with quality en-suite accommodation, near Exmoor. Free Wi-Fi, tennis court, sauna, games room and Devon Wildlife Trail (with panoramic views & abundant wildlife) to explore the farm. Enjoy delicious home-baked bread & preserves. A Devon Cream Tea awaits your arrival! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huxtable Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.