We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to stay in this area” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shivlinga Tourist Complex

Shivlinga Tourist Complex
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shivlinga Tourist Complex to your Saves list
Shivlinga Tourist Complex
Gangotri Highway | Ujeli, Uttarkashi 249193, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uttarkashi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good to stay in this area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is nice hotel located close to river. It is away form the city but nice location to spend the night. Service was reasonably good. Room are clean. Basic facility like hot water is also available. In overall good to stay on this location during char dham yatra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a good place to stay in Uttarkashi. Don't know what the status is now after the floods, but the riverside view and a little bit of lawn in front made for a peaceful setting. I have stayed here twice. A good starting point for Dodi Tal, Kedar Tal, Gowmukh and similar treks. Functional kitchen and restaurant. Compared to a lot of restaurants in Uttarkashi, the food is in this hotel better. Check out the geysers when you check in - they may not work in some rooms. The rates were affordable, but I went both times in the off-season. It is a good 10-15 minutes walk from the township, but that's why I preferred it - Uttarkashi town is pretty noisy. You will get share jeeps also to get to this place.

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the ground floor. A swing and a small lawn comes for free. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great Location on river banks safe enough for you to see surging Bhagirathi Ganga surge in front of you at holy town of Uttarkashi. Clean rooms, food and good bath before you climb, drive up to higher altitudes where you might not bath even. Stay spot for all who go and come back to, from temple town of Gangotri at 3100 meters. Great hub of mountaineering as NIM is here. Resort is away from town which has no rickshaw etc, walk you must unless you have your own vehicle which most who zip past in char Dham yatra circuit do. Great spot to recuperate after a hard trek like we did as we stayed two days before and later after our Tapowan Shivlinga trek.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The mark of a good hotel is determined by not how they treat their guest when the times are good but how they take care of them when the times are challenging. We were stuck in the Uttarkashi during the recent floods (June 2013) when on a char-dham yatra. We were enroute to Gangotri when we had to return due to heavy rains, landslide and road damage. We stayed in Shivlinga Tourist Complex for five nights. The length of stay was variable as we had no idea how long will it take before the roads to Rishikesh will open. The floods during this time were so severe we saw houses on the opposite bank of Bhagirathi being swept away. There was severe flooding and damage in nearby villages as well.

The staff that works in the hotel instead of fleeing and taking care of their family in nearby villages decided to work 24/7 to take care of the guests staying in the hotel. To give you a perspective: there was no electricity, limited diesel for generators, no fresh supply of LPG cylinders, no new fresh supply of water, and limited rations. Despite of these limitations the cook and the staff ensured that guests received breakfast, lunch, dinner, and morning & evening teas. Each of these meals were prepared with love and care. During this time they ensured that hotel remained clean, the guests tended to, and maintain a positive atmosphere to keep their guests calm. Most importantly, there were rumors that other hotels in the area had jacked up their tariffs by two to three times, Shivlinga decided to maintain their sanity and kept things under check.

It is not easy to smile and keep working when you know that your own house and loved ones might be danger. This is what I consider as epitome of service quality. The owner, Mr. Puri, the manager, and other staff members of the hotel deserve kudos for taking care of their guests when they knew times are tough.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had booked 2 rooms enroute to our visit to Gangotri. On our arrival we found the Receptionist trying to pacify other guests at the Hotel. This set the tone for our stay here. We were booked into rooms 102 and 101, of which 102 deserves special mention. Though the rooms were big, regular maintenence was low. The attached bathroom was as messy as can be imagined. Leaky flush, poorly lit, non floor, dirty accessories. There was a foul smell too.
We tried changing the room, but the staff were unable to do so. Despite repeated arguments with the Manager we had to stay put in thr room for 2 nights. The Manager suggested that we look out at the Lovely, well maintained garden at the doorstep, what more could we ask for, hinting that our demand for a clean room was unreasonable.
The bed linen too was old and needed replacement. Luckily we were carrying our own blankets that we used. The humming of the mosquitoes combined with the clatter of utensils from the floor above kept us awake most of the night. I also encountered cockroaches and other insects in the room. In the morning we found that the room was just below the kitchen.
Even in other areas like food service, the Hotel lacked trained staff. Almost all guests were complaining about delay in being served or dirty dishes. Moreover the Manager decided to look away when we complained about the poor service. I was amazed at how this place managed better reviews on trip advisor and also sported the trip advisor sticker on its front door.
The Manager and Owners of the property demonstrated a nonchalance whenever we complained saying "You can find any other place to stay, all our rooms are full".
The place needs a serious overall and more importantly the Owners and Staff need to rethink about improving the existing rooms

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed on 29th and 30th March 2013. Had booked two rooms for my family and parents; one with extra bed. One of the rooms, no. 310 was smaller than other rooms in the property. Firstly, the minor irritants; the managment needs to pay attention to the qaulity of linen. My parents room bedsheet had two clearly visible holes in it. It is time to change towels, though clean were worn out. Washbasin in the dining room needs ot be replaced as it is cracked and chipped, not changed since I visited last year.

Now to the great part. Superb location, no parking issues. Mr, Bhagendra is a very capable and highly accommodating manager. He provided us with the food we wanted it to be cooked in a particular manner; superb taste and reasonable portions. We made our request and everytime they complied with it almost perfectly.

Rooms have righly oriented and large balconies so that one can have an uniterrupted view of Bhagurathi river which flows just 100m away. Toilets are of resanably good size. If you find your geyser not running anytime during day then please ask reception to put the switch on in the min panel which is near reception. As we went there in off-peak season the total stay cost including food was extremely resonable.

I reommend it for groups, couples, families and solo travellers. Try it.

Room Tip: Preferably avoid room no. 310, it is a smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This part of Uttarakhand is known for its torturous back-breaking roads. Uttarkashi is even worse with roads full of slush all around. You don't really expect a nice place to stay here overnight and Shivlinga Tourist Complex is a nice surprise. The place is clean and have basic facilities. Further, the backside view of river Bhagirathi makes it worth staying for. But, don't venture for front view, which is the classic dirt road of uttarkashi. The hotel has hot water facility, which is a rare luxury in Uttarkashi. But, this hot water is delivered through the taps not through the shower. Hence, no shower no matter how badly your back aches because of torturous roads of Uttarakhand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shivlinga Tourist Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivlinga Tourist Complex

Address: Gangotri Highway | Ujeli, Uttarkashi 249193, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Uttarkashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uttarkashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Shivlinga Tourist Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shivlinga Tourist Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.