We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip to Reniella in Tuscanny tops my list of best places to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reniella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montefollonico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reniella
Via Giuseppe Rotelli, 53040 Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“My trip to Reniella in Tuscanny tops my list of best places to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

After trying for almost two years to make a visit to the Reniella farm, my dream finally came true this past November. And what a glorious experience! The farm sits in the heart of the Tuscan valley with 360 degrees of the most stunning views. The property is beautifully maintained inside outside. Olive and grapes orchards grace the property and the walking trails offer spectacular vistas of neighboring farms and villages. The walking distance into the charming town of Montefollonico is perfect in length and you are rewarded with places to eat, shop and sight see..
The apartment was impeccably clean, nicely decorated, and well stocked with everything needed to make your stay just perfect. Bathrooms were modern, and beds comfy. It was just like being at home. The owners had gone to great trouble to find out beforehand what our needs were, including dietary needs. All that we had requested was provided. We had wonderful meals prepared by the owners who took care of us like we were family.
We enjoyed participating in the olive harvest, taking the olives to the olive press, bottling the oil and eating the oil on delicious homemade bread!
Would I go back? In a heartbeat! Why? Because of the wonderful service we were given, the beauty of the place, the good food, the great accomodation, the olive harvest and great hosts.
If you want to really experience Italian countryside, this is a place worth visiting. I am already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Reniella is my favourite location in Tuscany. A little off the beaten path, but centrally located, it is the ideal base for visiting the host of surrounding towns, including Pienza and Montepulciano. The guest apartment is beautifully appointed, with a big kitchen adjacent to the patio where you can dine with amazing views of Montepulciano across the valley. This year I had the chance to take part in the olive harvest, which was a great experience. It's very satisfying to pick the olives, sort them, take them to the press, and leave with the most amazing first-press organic oil.

The Vaughan's are tremendous hosts who go out of their way to help in any way possible. The quality of the accommodations and the brilliant location make this a bargain. Groceries and wine, purchased in Montefollonico or Torita, are inexpensive and great quality, making this a very affordable vacation. But certainly persuade your hosts to fire up their wood-fired forno oven and do real Tuscan pizzas, those were a highlight.

I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

For anyone wanting to experience Tuscany from a working olive farm and vineyard, this is the place to come. Elfride and Bob are lovely people who were very nice to deal with from both a business and personal perspective. The apartment built into one end of the 400 year old farm house has been very nicely done, is well appointed and comfortable. the views from anywhere on the property are great, but from the apartment patio, they are spectacular, facing across the valley to Montepulciano. We found that Reniella was the ideal location from which to head out on day trips to Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona, and Montepulciano, not forgetting of course that Montefollonico, where reneilla is located is a gem in and of itself. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We spent two wonderful weeks at Reniella and didn't want to leave. Picking a vacation spot online is always scary, but Reniella lived up to the pictures and description on the website. The apartment was beautiful with stunning views from every window, but for us it was the terrace with its view of Montepulciano across the valley that we enjoyed the most. The perfect way to end a day of sight-seeing in the neighbouring towns.

Montefollonico is a little gem of a town, and is just a short (but strenuous!) walk up the hill - but at least it's all downhill coming home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The place is really beautiful but we had some serious problems with the deposit.

They asked for a deposit of 75 euros promising they would send it back by bank transfer after our stay. We trusted them (we have been in many rural accomodations in the last 15 years and we have never had problems like those with these people) and see what happened:

Well, it has taken about a month and a half to get the deposit back and some very unfair mails.

First they said they wouldn't return the deposit fully in a very impolite mail because they didn't like how we left the place. After our justified complaints, they said they would return the deposit fully, but then they claimed problems with the bank transfer,
finally they sent the deposit but not fully and by traditional mail.

CAREFUL!!! They're not reliable people and they may try to cheat you!!! Don't leave the place if you don't get the deposit back. DON'T TRUST THEM!!!!!!

In the appartment there isn't a washing machine.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Our stay at Reniella Agriturismo was too short. It was the highlight of our vacation. We stayed in the two bedroom, two bath apartment. Full kitchen leading to a wonderful patio. The patio overlooks the rolling hills of the farm with the town of Montepulciano in the background. Great place to eat dinner, sip a little wine, snack on some olives and cheese, and generally let you cares fade away. If you stay here, make sure you plan for a pizza night - we had a blast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I first stayed at Reniella in 2003 when I saw a small ad in an Italian Travel magazine to come and help with the olive harvest, and I e-mailed them saying I would love to try harvesting olives. That first week spent with Elfride, Bob and their son Owain, has turned into a lifelong friendship and my wife and I have been back 4 times since and are returning this fall again. Reniella is the quintessential Tuscan experience! The views are incredible, right out of a painting, and the location is ideal for visiting most of Tuscany. The local town, Montefollonico, has become one of my favorite places in the world, and I travel a lot! To not stay at Reniella while in Italy, is to miss out on what Tuscany is really about, peace and quiet, rural vistas and amazing local culture! We rate it as our first choice when planning a vacation!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reniella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reniella

Address: Via Giuseppe Rotelli, 53040 Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena > Montefollonico
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty lodging in Montefollonico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reniella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reniella to your Saves list