We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hackness Grange Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have visited this Hotel a few months ago with a view to booking our wedding their. There is lots of refurbishment going on, and the new owners are trying really hard to bring this beautiful hotel up to date. Many of the rooms have been refurbished already, and the old pool is being converted to a function room. Well worth a visit, we will be going back in September to see the progress!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    116
    50
    20
    6
See reviews for
38
226
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were lucky with wall to wall sunshine ideal for tea on the terrace in the company of the ducks. Lovely rural position but handy for Scarborough if you fancy some traditional seaside. We had a free upgrade to an executive room in the courtyard, the room had stylish decor and high quality bathroom fittings, some details like doors need upgrading but this is a minor issue, the current owner has only had 10 months to work some magic and is clearly working hard. The food was ok but basic and a bit hit and miss, my lambs liver and mash was excellent but the Eton mess made with frozen soft fruit (in July!) was dreadful. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Only saw the executive room in the courtyard this was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having booked for our annual trip away we found even though refurbishment is underway the service and friendliness excellent and all staff very helpful. We were fed with good food and various beer and wines and plenty to do in the hotel and surrounding areas. Every success to the new owner in the future from 11 satisfied customers and yes we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Thanks so much to the new owners of Hackness Grange for caring enough to list 2 Fairtarde wines on the menu, and for cutting the 'rough' kindly to allow for 9 holes of hugely enjoyable pitch n putt. It's already a really cosy house with some newly decorated rooms in place and more promised. Local cask beer went down a treat after beating the kids on the tennis court. And all this just 20 mins from Scarborough.

Room Tip: There are suites with 2 bedrooms available plus executive rooms with large ground floor windows in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location with fabulous food. We stayed b&b+em for a week and enjoyed every meal. Excellent service and friendly staff.

Grounds are clearly being improved along with decor and plans for new facilities show the ongoing comitment of the reatively new management team.

We look forwards to returning and would reomend a visit or just a meal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay-in this hotel. Roger the owner for the past year has clearly worked very hard although there is still more to do- the indoor swimming pool has gone and will become a function room - but real effort has been put into the pitch and putt course and the croquet lawn. The hotel is by the Dalby Forest in a splendid setting.We were greeted in a most friendly manner and we were escorted together with our friends to two Courtyard rooms. This was a two night stay including breakfast and one dinner each for the bargain price of £99! We had an excellent breakfast avoiding the extra charges for haddock or kippers. Dinner was excellent - it was clear that it was policy to ensure at least one experienced person was present to train the younger person. A reasonable wine list and our choice to take coffee in the dining room rather than the lounge caused no problem.

Room Tip: Courtyard room 22 was on the ground floor-hence avoiding stairs -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We attended a KGB deal in early June 2 nights B&B , 1 evening meal.

Reading other reviews I can understand the comments, however we were fortunate to get a lovely end room in the courtyard, room 17. Very bright, clean and tidy. Windows didn't shut properly but it is an old building. I was more than happy with our allocation. The stairs were very steep though and caution is required. Character old house, nice grounds. We enjoyed a 9 hols pitch/put game. Outside tables on patio made a relaxing atmosphere.

Quiet at night, good comfortable bed.

Breakfasts were very good, and our evening meal was ok but was a set menu and not to my particular taste. The sample menu from the website would have been, so just pot luck. We did not choose to dine in the 2nd evening however, as we had not been overwhelmed by the food for the cost.

I agree with the comments also about the staff, when we wanted to play golf there were no balls left and girl on reception was not interested at all, and suggested we wait for someone returning, however the Manager happened by and within 2 mins we all had equipment. I am sure with some effort she could have done the same.

The young man who serves in the dining room and bar area was very nice and helpful (sorry forgot name after 4 weeks)

I would return to this property but only on a similar deal.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 & 18 fine didn't see others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.