We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Country Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hackness Grange Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
DBB winter rate £89pp up
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Warrington Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little Country Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night Travel Zoo stay at this lovely hotel. We arrived with our 2 dogs as the kennels had let us down at the last minute. However this did not pose a problem as we were quickly offered a courtyard room to accommodate the 4 of us. The room was nicely furnished and very warm with flat screen t.v, en suite bathroom comprising bath & shower.The main hotel itself has a wonderful lounge with open fire and chesterfield furniture. The dining room also has an open fire with beautiful chandeliers and soft lamps at different parts of the room. The food is excellent and beautifully presented by very helpful staff. The gardens are very pretty with the lake and river beyond. The hotel is under refurbishment from the new owner however from the work already carried out it will be re stored to it's former glory and it will be a pleasure to return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a very slight distance from the hotel but ideal if you have pets with you. we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    106
    48
    20
    6
See reviews for
31
216
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went on a Travel Zoo deal (as did every other guest, it seemed) and from talking to people, there has been a change of ownership in the last year. This owner, Roger Brooks, points out that he is trying to restore the hotel to something like it used to be and there is plenty to say that he is working hard to do it. The rooms were clean but the heating sometimes seemed to have a life of its own. The food was good with the breakfast in particular being very good. One disappointment was that I had a pork dish as a hot main course on our first night and this was re-served as a cold starter the next with no effort at disguise. That was a little uninspiring. The grounds are beautiful and we walked in the woods above Hackness and alongside the River Derwent, enjoying the North Yorkshire countryside. There is still work to be done; the 'First Impressions' need improving - very difficult to turn into the drive from the road we came on (had to go past and turn round in a lay-by), cut trees and bushes left lying by the side of the drive, allowing cars to park at the front of the hotel resulted in a squeeze for any car wanting to drop off guests and luggage and an open fire in the Lounge in desperate need of banking up when we were waiting to check in on arrival. Get those things right and guests will feel very welcome and have an enjoyable stay here. Mr. Brooks deserves success for the work he is doing and what he is trying to achieve.

Room Tip: Room in the main hotel means you do not have to go outside when weather inclement
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your points on the 'first impression' are duly noted and are fully appreciated. We had cut back a lot of bushes and tress to try and clear the line of sight for guests leaving the hotel and these were left on the embankment. Due to the awful weather this last week, the landscapers have been unable to move it, as the grounds are very saturated.
The fireplace will be replaced with a more efficient mull-fuel burner, this will be carried out during the planed refurbishment of the bar.
I have brought the comment on the food/starter the next day to the attention of the Head Chef, and I apologise for that, this should never be the case.
Unfortunately with the incremental weather guests choose to park at the front to avoid a walk from the main car-park. We are going to allocate some space to disable parking only as well as do a designated drop off / pick up spaces only t help alleviate some of the problems there.
Once again many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have stayed at Hackness a couple of times before but were reluctant to return because of declining standards. Seeing it was under new ownership we took advantage of a Travelzoo offer and were delighted we had had a change of heart.
Changes may not be immediately apparent. The courtyard bedroom we stayed in was warm and clean but the decor is some what tired; the en suite had a shower and no bath we were happy with that.
The real change are in the main building. The lounge had a buzz missing in previous visits helped by the presence of the owner and his team of friendly staff. Improved soft lighting in the dining room has added an ambiance to this elegant room that was previously lacking.
But the main improvement is in the quality of the food.. A couple of dishes warrant special mention. Chicken is never our first choice when eating out but on our first night we both chose breast of chicken wrapped in ham on a bed of thinly sliced vegetables with a wild mushroom sauce. The dish was beautifully presented, the chicken was full of flavour and the wild mushroom sauce couldn't have been bettered. Next night, I had calamari as a starter that was very fresh, full of flavour and cooked to perfection. That is not to see that all dishes quite as good. For example a nicely presented prawn salad starter was disappointing the prawns small and lacking flavour. Also my wife's dessert of eton mess appeared to have been made of "bought in" meringue where the balance of meringue, to cream and fruit was very much in favour of the disappointing meringue. But in fairness, this is very much nitpicking as overall we enjoyed the food and thought our stay represented good value for money.
One further point, this is a relatively small country house hotel, so don't be surprised to find the reception unmanned mid afternoon. A hearty call and someone will soon be there to greet you although it would be helpful if there was a bell so assistance could be summoned more discreetly! In any event, we enjoyed our 2 nights and we hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Our room had a shower and no bath; if a bath is important to you, check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a response. It is an ongoing project to refurbish the hotel and I am so happy that you have seen enough changes (in the right direction!) to win you back. Being an independent owner, without the backing of a large group, the refurbishment and decoration needs to be carried out literally one day at a time fitting in around business needs and occupancies. We have set 18 months to have everything the way we would like it and I believe we are on progress to achieve that.
I have brought the comments of the eton mess desert to the attention of the Head Chef for his further action.
Once again thanks for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights due to work,every one of the staff friendly and helpfull,as i had to be at work,they arranged for me to have early cooked breakfast which i was very gratefull for (even if there was no tinned toms,only grilled fresh one,that i must say were perfectly cooked) evening dinner menu realy good food.So if its work or pleasure give this hotel a go,you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in a response to your stay at the hotel. We will always try and cater (within reason!) to guests needs and I am so pleased that you were happy with the service provided to you. Tin tomatoes(?), well, I will bring this to the attention of the Head Chef who will I am sure keep a tin 'in stock' for you for when you next return!
Thanks again for taking the time to write in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and found it to be a most enjoyable experience. If you want very good service, food, company and rooms with a view then this is the place to stay. The owners Roger and his wife Pinky went out of their way to make everyone feel at home. The food and service was very good and all the staff had a smile on their faces. We will certainly be returning when we get the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of the house have views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi, many thanks for the kind words. It is always nice to have the hotel service recognised as the staff are always willing to try their best to look after their guests.
It is a challenging time in the hotel and whilst we strive and persevere through our refurbishment program we will endeavour to meet and exceed guests expectations.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

first impressions great old country house ,lovely location , the staff were all very friendly and helpful , our top marks would go to Chris ( barman) he was great thanks chris , the food was plentiful and with a good choice , six of us went and not one of us had a complaint or a poor meal, the only downside (if you can call it that) is that there is nothing in the immediate vicinity not a problem for us because we went to go walking ,we wnt into scarbourgh on Saturday afternoon and a taxi cost us £11 ( both ways ) , bar prices on a par with drinking in any hotel or town centre , we were all in rooms in the annex again we could not fault them , be warned though there does not seem to be any mobile phone coverage but the hotel has wifi , all in all we would recommend this hotel and will go again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

just returned from spending two nights at this hotel and wished we had stayed longer. had a room in the courtyard which was lovely and not too far away from the main hotel. the room was nice and comfortable, the staff lovely and friendly and there was plenty of choice on the menu. the house itself and surrounding grounds were beautiful and well kept. the new owner roger and his wife socialised with the guests and it was interesting to hear of their future plans for the hotel. me and my partner will definately book again to stay at the hackness grange and would recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.