We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hackness Grange Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hackness
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have just come back from a very enjoyable couple of nights stay with my mother at
Hackness Grange. The house is in beautiful settings, and the room we were given was lovely looking out onto the lake at the front of the house. The staff could not have been nicer and the food was superb. We could not have asked for a better place to stay I would highly recommend staying here. First Class well done all the staff and good luck to the new owners.!

Room Tip: Room four has views to the front of the house and the side window looks up the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    99
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
24
196
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I nearly booked this hotel, but in the end opted for one in Scarborough itself. However, my nosiness got the better of me and we decided to try afternoon tea in the hotel (it is open to non-residents for meals.) We were offered tea in the bar-lounge for £10 each, and although at first that seemed a little pricy, for what we got I thought it was quite reasonable. We had a three-tier cake stand with rather nice smoked salmon sandwiches, scones, jam and cream and some strawberries-and-cream in filo pastry as well as a delicious chocolate mouse each. I have paid twice that price for something similar in Manchester, so price-wise it was fine, I thought. However, I must say that the lounge itself was cold and we had to keep our coats on for some time until we warmed up a bit. As we were the only guests in the lounge, and the hotel was quiet generally, I think the heating was on low. I do hope that they keep the bedrooms warmer!

The hotel is in an idyllic location. The photographs do not lie, this is a lovely historic building in stunning surroundings. The grounds are maintained well and there is an outdoor tennis court on site. However, the indoor swimming pool is closed for good and is going to be turned into a reception/function room. Generally, though I was pleasantly surprised. Having read some of the reviews on here, I was expecting a rather tatty interior, but that would be a very harsh judgement, I think. Although it does look as if it could do with a bit of a refurb, everything seemed perfectly okay, if perhaps just a touch dated in parts. Anyway, country house hotels shouldn't try to be up to the minute trendy places, that's not the right style for them.

If you love the countryside or want a romantic getaway in beautiful suroundings, I think this could be the place for you. Don't expect it to be perfect, but if you get an attractive price I think this would be worth the money. (The hotel website seemed to have quite a few good deals on offer.) Scarborough is only a 15 minuite drive away, but you feel that you have escaped to a real rural hideaway coming here. I suspect it would be at its best in warmer weather, though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently visited Hagness Grange, came home rather dissapointed. We booked a mid week two night stay but only stayed 1 night! When we arrived we pulled up in the car park and were not dissapointed, a beautiful setting, inside a different story! We soon discovered we were the only guests there No swimming pool as promised by the company we booked with, and boxes in all the corridors full of electrical equipment, renervation work going on!!! Maybe the hotel should close until the work is completed or offer cheaper rates!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a very pleasant weekend staying at this hotel on Saturday night (27th Oct). It is set in beautiful surroundings, ideal for walking, which was the purpose of our weekend with our local walks group. Our room in the main house (overlooking the lake) was clean and spacious. The dinner was delicious and well presented, and there was plenty of choice at breakfast. All the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and helpful. We would certainly consider a return visit. We wish the new owner success with his planned refurbishment of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Hackness Grange for one night in late September, along with four other members of our family, as part of a golden 50th wedding anniversary weekend. On first impressions as we turned down the sweeping drive, the hotel stands in lovely grounds in the middle of national forest park. We were checked in by a very efficient friendly young lady and then proceeded into the bar area for afternoon tea & coffee which was accompanied with some very delicious biscuits! We took advantage of the nice weather and lovely surroundings to take some family photo's. Our rooms, which were in the courtyard, were a bit dated but in keeping with the houses' style. They were lovely & clean, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely. Would recommend this hotel, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Now under new ownership, but a little run down by the previous owners. The hotel is in a wonderful setting and if the new owner completes the aims he stated to me, he will do well and will deserve to do so.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are going to be the first to be refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a few days at Hackness Grange. We were aware from the internet that the hotel was under new ownership and that refurbishment of both the interior and exterior were ongoing. We had originally booked in for 2 nights on a bed breakfast and evening meal package. This was excellent value for money.
On arriving at the hotel we were welcomed with a smile from the young receptionist who quickly and efficiently checked us in. Our room was situated in the main house (room 3). On entering the room it was evident that the room had already been newly decorated. The room was bright and airy with plenty of storage new carpets and soft furnishings and a huge 4 poster bed. the linen was clean and fresh, the bathroom had separate shower cubicle and bath with complimentary toiletries and white fluffy towels.
After unpacking we went down into the bar for a drink. The bar area is surrounded by leather settees and chairs with a cosy open fire, perfect for winter evenings.
The dining room is cosy again with an open fire, soft lighting and music playing in the background. We both had a 3 course meal which was included in the price and to say it was fantastic would be an understatement. It is rare for a chef, in my opinion, to get 3 courses perfect but on each evening the chef did just that. The breakfast was exactly the same. On Sunday we decided to have afternoon tea. This was an assortment of sandwiches with fillings of cheese, prawn and smoked salmon. There were freshly made scones with jam and thick cream, tiny shot glasses filled with dark chocolate mousse and filo pastry baskets filled with fresh strawberries and cream. All rounded off with a pot of tea. Perfect.
We were only staying at Hackness until sunday but decided to stay an extra night.
The new owner and his wife were in the lounge each evening chatting to the guests. The whole team at Hackness are like a big family. It is clear to see that they all enjoy their job and nothing is too much trouble. The house although in some need of refurbishment is beautiful but now it is under new ownership and the refurbishment is under way, we are certain that when finished the hose and gardens will once again be a stunning relaxing retreat for weekends away. WE are so pleased that we didn't take any notice of the negative comments posted on here about this country house. To the new owners and the whole team at Hackness Grange We will say this. Keep up the good work . Be rest assured we will be back to stay soon .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.