We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in two months of traveling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Le Papillon

Save Saved
You added Hostal Le Papillon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Le Papillon
Calle 7 #8-28, San Gil 00, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“Best hostel in two months of traveling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have been traveling in south america for 2 months and this has been the best place I ever stayed at. The owners are extremely helpful for all your planning (whether its in the region or how to get to other cities) and your questions with a lot of patience and in different languages. All facilities are clean and the kitchen very well equipped. For everyone who is planning to go to san gil i would recommend to stay at el papillon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calamba, Philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place and the family that owns it is so friendly.
We liked it there bec
(+) common area has a tv and dvd player, good for watchinga movie if you got your own dvd with you. If not then you can choose from their collection.
Pc and wifi
Kitchen is nicely equiped.
Fresh bread n coffe in the morning but you got to rise early or you might miss the bread.
Non slip/wet bathroom as they put towels on the floor.
Hammocs!
stores and bakery near it.
5-8 min walk from the plaza, depends on how long your stride is.

(-) nothing big comes to mind

At our last hours there we were able to hangout for some hours at the common area as they were genuinely concerned for our next destination and they called a cab and waved us off. Such sweeties!
Would love to come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for about a week in a double room. Ximena was a wonderful helpful host, Silvano could be a bit grumpy at times but he bakes amazing baguettes. The whole place is clean, has good cooking facilities and is overall excellent value for money. We were sad to leave, and can recommend it most highly to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Over the last years, many hostals have been started in Colombia. They all try to be as convenient as possible, with modern facilities and clean kitchens, good matresses and free wifi. Some places even lure backpackers with a pool. Yet in most cases something is missing. During our four weeks in Colombia, we often felt like another name in the book, another joint in a giant machinery that prints money for the owners.

This place is different. It has all the above mentioned conveniences (except for the pool). But: From the moment you enter the hostal you feel like you are at home. The Swiss owner and his Colombian family are definately the most friendly, most patient and most likable hosts we have had in Colombia. Their hostal offers everything you need, if you dont mind a short climb up a hill to get there. Give it a try, even if all the party-gringos you meet rave about Sams VIP hostal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cucuta, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in the papillon for a month. It was really fantastic! The owners were so nice, it was like being at home. The hostal is also very clean, the kitchen is probably the best i have seen whilst travelling. But what makes this place trully special is the calmness of it. The garden reminded me of a buddhist temple, with a swiss/colombian touch. And finally, who could forget the owners delicious homemade bread, which he happily shares with all the members of the hostal.

Thank you so much again for your kindness and hospitality!
Felipe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Nice ,quiet hostal
Staff here are very friendly and helpful.

Great location close to the center of town

the wifi is very good,surprisingly fast ,
good spacious kitchen,clean bathrooms and rooms.

Private rooms very nice and cheap

Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Everything was excellent during my stay in Le Pappilon Hostal in San Gil. Location - could't be better. It's very close to few shops and restaurants, and to central square. Room - better than I've expected. Big enough for two people, clean, with comfortable beds. Price - very good. Hosts (aparrently French-Colombian couple) were amazing people! Very kind and very helpful. Thanks to them I was feeling more like visiting friends than staying in a hostel. Also there is a lovely patio in the back of house where you can relax after day full of physical effort. :) I would definitely recommend this place to pretty much everyone, and I'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Le Papillon

Address: Calle 7 #8-28, San Gil 00, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Santander Department > San Gil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in San Gil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Papillon Hostel is located in one of the most traditional streets of San Gil, near to the center and the Malecon where the tourist activities of the region are taking place, we offer you a very quiet place where you can rest in a hammock in the backyard of the house, or if you like to camp, we also have a place for your tent, you will have access to the bathrooms, kitchen as well as the all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Le Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Le Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.