We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Lataniers Bleus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les Lataniers Bleus to your Saves list
Les Lataniers Bleus
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Royal Road, La Mivoie, Grande Riviere Noire, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Pure Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We Had amazing 2 weeks in Mauritius and a part from this island being Paradise staying at Les Lataniers Bleus was a perfect choice! this is the most homey & welcoming place we could hope for! arriving on a late afternoon flight, Emanuel was waiting for us with hot diner, every request and need was fulflled giving you the best feeling they want you to feel good, and indeed this is how we felt. Josset, the heart and soul of the place is very familiar with all the activities the place has to offer, she will only advice regarding places, restaurants and activities she experienced by herself or 100% sure it is a good one . so…. don’t miss the catamaran tour !!
The Location is very comfortable, breakfast is exactly what you need, not too heavy and located on the most beautiful beach with the company of the local beautiful birds.
Thank you Josset and Emanuel
We hope to see you again….

Room Tip: Sea View room is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    37
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
52
178
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I finished our Honeymoon with 3 nights at this place.... What a wise choice it was! It's a tricky place to get to from the airport- Sat nav would've helped whilst driving through the central plateau towns- and driving there in the dark isn't recommended! We arrived around 9pm and were met with smiles and a much-needed 3 course meal. The food at dinner time was excellent every night- we didn't need to venture out at all and enjoyed the food and the company every night. The tamarin-infused rum as a welcome drink was a nice touch too- though it's strong stuff, so beware!
The room was extremely comfortable with a good bed, large bathroom with his and hers sinks, and a little private terrace with a table and chairs. The grounds are very pretty and we enjoyed relaxing on the beach at the end of every day- it's a lovely place to watch the sunset and the view down to Le Morne is beautiful. The snokelling out in the lagoon wasn't bad though the water is pretty shallow. As a base for the West coast, it's perfect. Not far from Le Morne and not far from Flic en Flac or the National Park..... I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place. Josette and the other staff are wonderful hosts and made our stay very memorable. Thank you to everyone at Les Latiniers Bleu from Melanie and Adam

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Me and my wife spent in this pleasant spot nearly 14 beautiful days and this hotel with family atmosphere, we can highly recommend. The location is ideal for exploring the natural beauty of the west coast of Mauritius, there is a peace and security. Madame Josette and her staff are friendly and open people who will always endeavor to meet all your requirements and wishes. We stayed beautiful memories. Thank you Josette.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had again a great holiday in Mauritius, and Les Lataniers Bleus was as welcoming as previous time. Josette's dinners were fabulous and we had the opportunity to meet guests from many parts of the world. The sunsets and sunrise views are amazing, the children enjoyed breakfast on the beach! Les Lataniers Bleus is also in the proximity of many activites/ attractions: Casela (adventures park), Chamarel sands, sugar cane, rum, tea factories/plantation visits, diving (we loved Easy Dive from Le Morne), hiking Les Morne with Yan etc. We spent 8 days on the West Coast and I wish we had more time available here, as we didn't quite finish all the possible things to do. Josette was very helpful in making recommendations for activities, arranging taxi driver or making restaurant suggestions when we wanted to eat out. Our girls also enjoyed the swimming pool, located right outside of our rooms. The staff was very helpful in accomodating our needs (including arranging very early breakfast for the day of our big hiking trip).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I spent nearly a fortnight at Les Lataniers Bleus with my husband...we had initially booked for only 3 days, but it was such a gem that we decided to spend all out time here.
Josette is a fabulous host, making everyone feel welcome. Her staff are excellent, Arnou and Bayou...sorry if I have mispelt their names, but they were exceptional...very friendly and like Josette, spoke perfect English.
We particularly liked the evening aperitif and dinner, which is an optional extra you can chose on each week night. All diets are catered for, with myself being a "Pescatarian" they always made sure I had fish on the nights other meats were cooked for the other guests.
The evening would begin with an aperitif..meet the other guests, and chat to them..before sitting down to dinner on the verandah....after what was usually a spectacular sunset. Josette would carefully seat guests based on their language abilities....so there was always someone to chat with, whether it be the Finnish couple, the Italians, the fabulous French family, the German, American or the Poms, the dinner talk was always lively and we would hear about the adventures the other guests had got up to.
Josette would be on hand to offer advice on Mauritius...certainly a woman who wants her guests to enjoy and experience Mauritius...not like large hotels or resorts, where they dont want you to leave the grounds...Josette offers great advice on what to see and do and how to get there...
Breakfasts were served on the beach.. you would pick up your breakfast tray from the cute thatched hut and you would seat yourself on the beach to slowly take in the morning views over the lagoon.
The lagoon was great for a spot of snorkelling, yes there are all types of sea life within the shore...nothing scary, but plenty to look at if you are so inclined.
There was also ability to have lunch there too....
I miss the smoked marlin...it was divine.
I would thoroughly recommend Les Lataniers Bleus for anyone who wants a relaxing holiday...whether you be a couple, a family, a group of friends or even on your own....you are welcomed.
We spent most days just relaxing by the beach, or out in the pool or taking a quiet walk down the beach or on the street...Just what we needed!
We stayed in the main house, in room 4 which was a garden view room and when we decided to stay longer, we were able to move into room 5 which was a beach view with its own verandah...just great!
thanks Josette and your team...you made our trip thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable...

Room Tip: Room 5 in the main house overlooking the beach with its own verandah..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I visited Mauritius with my mother,my uncle and auntie. They are average 70 years old people and all of us enjoyed Les lataniers very much. Josette arranged good taxi driver,good restaurants for us. Even on Chinese spring festival, she tried to find a good Chinese restaurant which is open for great dinner. We enjoyed breakfast everyday in the garden facing the beach. Home-made jam is very good especially Lychee Jam. Josette even arranged some mango and coconut to us for free. The villa itself is nice for family. I tried some 5 star luxury hotels last year, but I still prefer this Les Lataniers Bleus. We find the feeling of "Home" there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amriswil, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

If you seek relaxation in a very charming, natural Mauritian place, away from the hustle and bustle of hotel complexes, then you should stay with Josette and her kind team at Les Lataniers Bleus. Having breakfast right at the beach, watching birds and local fishermen out in the sea and listening to the relaxing sound of the waves prepares you for yet another perfect day which ends in amazing sundowns, leaving you lost for words each time. It was a perfect holiday for us. Thank you so much, Josette and team!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Lataniers Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Lataniers Bleus

Address: Royal Road, La Mivoie, Grande Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Grande Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grande Riviere Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Lataniers Bleus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Lataniers Bleus is a small complex of 3 private villas situated within a lush tropical garden on a beautiful sandy beach at La Preneuse on the west coast of Mauritius, 3 km from the village of Black River, Shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Les Lataniers Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Lataniers Bleus Mauritius/Grande Riviere Noire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Lataniers Bleus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.