We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon haven ;-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa
Silent Hill, Marivelies, Dauis 6339, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
“honeymoon haven ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Had a honeymoon trip early January of this year in Bohol. We had no idea where to stay so we browsed up some hotels in the Tourist Info Center located in the pier.Luckily we found one that would fit our budget.We decided we'd go there thinking it was beach front but we're surprised coz when we got there it was on a hill. At first we were kinda disppointed but as we toured the whole place, it was just perfect! The scenic view was marvelous and the place is just quiet and fully fitted for honeymooners so we decided to stay there for two days. We were very pleased with our stay and we definitely recommend it to everyone! Thanks Grand Luis! You're truly a home worth staying in Bohol ;-)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
thank you for the great review.we are humbled by your review and wish to thank you and we wish to tell you that we are happy and pleased to know that you felt comfortable being with us.we really hope that you will visit us again in your future trips to BOHOL.its always your home in BOHOL>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We arrived in Grand Luis yesterday late afternoon and were quite pleased with what we initially saw. The hotel is in a very lovel setting with well-landscaped gardens, a nice looking pool and set back from the road and the hustle and bustle of Bohol. Even the room is nice and we loved the view from the balcony with all the birds flying about. It also looked like the owners were making a great effort to have a 5-star facility with complimentary toiletries and amenities like shower caps and sewing kit that you would normally find in a deluxe hotel.

It didn't take long however for the cracks to start showing. We were given twin beds when we had requested a double, although the staff promised to move us as soon as a double became available, although no one seemed to know when that would be. At the end of the day, after a long and tiring day out, we were disappointed to find there was no hot water. Reception told us that we would have to wait until the following day for the maintenance staff to arrive as they had left for the day. Same story after switching the TV on and only finding 3 channels - 1 local, the Cartoon Network and Discovery Channel. Again, we were told that we would have to wait til the following morning.

Sadly, things got worse when we woke up to find there was no water. After ringing Reception, they sent 2 men with 2 large buckets of water without offering an explanation as to what was happening. When we went down for breakfast and inquired about it, we were told that they had fixed the problem but that we would have to wait for the water tanks to fill up and that unless the pressure got strong enough we could forget about having hot water. We were also told that there were only 4 TV channels anyway so I was only missing one. Maybe management should think about taking 'hot and cold shower' and 'cable TV' off the list of hotel amenities available to avoid disappointment? We're big TV viewers but do like to watch the news once in a while.

As we write, we are still waiting for hot water, knowing deep down it's never going to come as there is hardly any water pressure and water is only trickling through the taps. Next on the agenda is to find another hotel in Bohol as we can not imagine going without a proper shower for another day.

All in all, highly disappointing!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
i have to sincerely appologise for the bad experience you had.i ahve taken it up with the manager and the staff for not giving you an explanation of why you had no water that day.and why you have only 4 chanels.i wish to get your phone numbers so that i could personally call you .i still hope you will come back some day make your stay a great one.thank you for your review as this helps me to improve on things.god bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

My friends saw this place on the net and since it looked really nice, we agreed to stay here.. As we arrived on Bohol, we had some problems with the service that was supposed to pick us up.. We were talking to some locals while waiting and asked us if we already had a place to stay and someone to give us a tour .. after hearing Grand Luis, the way they commented, I was beginning to expect the worst 'cause they said the hotel only looked good on the internet and was not good to stay at.. After an hour, the service finally arrived, I was so nervous and hoping what they said wasn't true and was thinking there are lots of hotel in Bohol, we could just transfer if we didn't like it..

After about 30-40mins (..I think)
When I saw the place, I was so thankful the locals were wrong.. all my worries, vanished-! XD I loved it, the ambiance was really nice, it was quiet and very relaxing ^^

The welcome drink was good, needs more ice, but still tastes good.. The room was good, had problems with the shower, but can live with it.. and the food.. It was so good! specially the buffet we ate on our last night at the hotel.. you can even request the way you want your food cooked (thanks chef!^^). I wanted to drink some cocktails too but sadly the bartender was not around so no alcoholic drinks on my vaca~ =,=|||

Even though all-in-all the hotel was good, I only wish they were near by the beach for a better view and for more activities...
So maybe next time there will be a Grand Luis Lodge - Beachside ^^? ...looking forward to it if ever |3

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
dear guest,i want to thank you from the bottom of my heart.your positive review means a lot to us in grandluis family.we are humbled by your write up and we really hope that we made your stay comfortable.we also appologise for any negative or any uncomfortable hapening while ur stay at ur home in BOHOL.
thank you and hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

If you're thinking taking a trip to Bohol and looking for a place to stay, it's my recommended place. I've just been here last Feb 6 & 7 with my friends. Unfortunately, on our arrival day, it's quiet disappointing because they picked-up us late, but then, that feeling sets aside when we got in the hotel and enjoyed looking at their place. Grand Luis is the best place to get a perfect ambiance for relaxing. Everything relaxes you and free yourself of your daily worries at office or at home. The room is clean, spacious, and with nice balcony. The food is nice and well-served. They also offer tour packages. Touring for me is a bit tiring but enjoyed as well. Of course, no visit to Bohol would be complete without viewing the famous chocolate hills. Hopefully, I can go back again to Bohol this year. More power Grand Luis.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
ear guest,we want to first of all appologise in the delay in fetching you from the pier...we have rectified that and hope we will improve on that.thank you for letting us know...and we also want to thank you for the good review about us..and we feel happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.we hope to see you again..ur home in BOHOL!!!..thank you thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Stayed here last January 11-13, 2011. My cousin recommended this to me, it's my 2nd visit in Bohol, we arrived @ Grand Luis after our Countryside tour, surprised with our room, it was so nice, plus you get to have your free breakfast each morning, what more can you ask for. On our 2nd day, we asked if they can pack our breakfast instead, because we have our sea tour early in the morning, so we need to leave the place @ 5:30 am, though I need to wake up Mr. Ralph (the Receptionist must have forgotten to remind their chef about this), Ralph apologized, no damage done...

I might suggest to change the battery of your Videoke already, or better yet, change the location of the Videoke machine, accessible to your customers, we find it difficult to operate, since most of the time, no one is at your bar...

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
dear guest.
i wish to take this opportunity to wish you a happy 2011.and want to thank you for staying with us on the begining of this brand new year.
i have taken the points which we need to attend to and will be sorted out asap.
we hope that we will have a chance to have you with us again soon.your home in bohol!!!!
thank you for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastBay Ca
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

It is a beautiful lodge. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The bed is a little firm. The furnishings are beautiful. Only thing I probably would have a qualm was the bathroom. The walls of the shower area had mold which I cleaned out myself. Also the handheld showerhead had leaks and the water pressure was low. The showerhead hose had little leaks affecting the water pressure and the water goes all over the place instead of towards you.. which also increases water waste. Maybe replacing the shower fixtures would help and maybe a monthly cleaning of the shower walls at least?

Internet access was limited to certain hours during the day. I was still in a different time zone so I was up during the early hours. I could not go online. It was blocked.

About the food. We had great food 1st and 2nd day. Then the 3rd day we were there, the shrimp dish we ordered wasn't as good, did not look the same and they didn't de-vein it. It was the same dish we ordered 2 days ago. Maybe a different chef?

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The grounds and the pool are well kept.
Overall, when we visit Bohol again, yes we will return here and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
sir/mme,thank you for this comments.much appreciated.first of all i want to appologise for thethings you found not comfortable with your stay.i whave already instructed the manaer to look into those faulty pipes and shower immediately.and i have asked the restaurant chef to explain on the dish as well.i also want to extend my thankfulness in making us on the top spot in tripadvisor fr 2010,getting and excellent award.i still hope you will visit your home in bohol again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is one of Bohol's hidden accommodation gems! To classify this property as a lodge is an understatement. To me, it felt more like a really well-maintained estate surrounded by the lush canopy of trees all round. The grounds are well-manicured, and tended to daily by dedicated staff. This property would be well suited for people in need of peace and quiet, a break from the hectic city life, time away from faxes, phones and cellphones, writers, and for couples who want to rediscover each other. Great for small group meetings and retreats. If there is a drawback, it is it's distance from shopping and the beaches, which is a small inconvenience as the staff is always accommodating in transporting their guests to and from their destinations. The staff is great, helpful, accomodating. We had a special occasion dinner arranged for my nieces and a godson I have not seen in 30 years. The chef-prepared food was excellent, and the staff bent over backwards to make this occasion happen. KUDOS! I am very satisfied with my stay at Grand Luis!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satbootie, Owner at Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
i feel very happy and specially the whole grandluislodge family feel very special and humbled with those special comments from you...we know that we are not the best but we always wish to give our best to make our guest feel at home and special.we would love to have you back in your home in BOHOL.....thank you and wish you a happy and fruitfull festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa

Address: Silent Hill, Marivelies, Dauis 6339, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island > Dauis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Dauis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the peace and fresh air overlooking the Tagbilaran Bay. Our spa to be enjoyed while you stay with us. Free pick up and drop..also offer tours in Bohol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Luis Lodge, Bed And Breakfast And Spa
Grand Luis Hotel Dauis
Grand Luis Lodge, B&B And Spa Bohol Province/Dauis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Luis Lodge, B&B and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.