We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloire de mon Pere

La Gloire de mon Pere
Place du Thouron, 83440 Seillans, France
04 94 76 98 68
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Gloire de mon Pere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Seillans
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The prime location in the village, beautiful setting. However, the food was a huge disappointment and very over-priced. 19 Euro for a Chicken Caesar Salad which was mostly iceberg lettuce with some sloppy sauce. What a pity, do hope they start to concentrate more on quality and prices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    91
    13
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten at this restaurant many times before and this visit was 2 years after our last. Returning to the same place can often be disappointing but I'm pleased to say this wasn't. It was my husband's birthday and this is always his restaurant of choice when in France. We were impressed to see that the business has expanded, now occupying other premises within the square.

We all ate the beef fillet which was cooked perfectly, the desserts were amazing. The good local wine, Chateaux des Selves, is really good and excellent value.

The service was as attentive as ever. We like to practise our French and it's great that the staff resisted speaking to us in English!

We hope not to leave it too long before returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“lunch a Seillans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Situation ,picturesque seating and excellent food around a fountain .Service was excellent and I can only recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food in the center of a beautiful old village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at this restaurant many times. ..each time was a special pleasure. Starters, fish, meat dishes all done with flair and originality...not routine or predictable preparations at all. Service with a smile and lovely outdoor seating near a beautiful fountain. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I urge you to ignore the bad review from 2009”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've been there twice in the past 3 years. Each time a wonderful experience.

Go on a warm summer evening, sit under the trees in the square outside the restaurant, watch the busy bustle of friendly waiters, earwig other table's conversations, and enjoy the occasional visit from the violin-playing busker.

Food is generally superb; not necessarily top-quality haute cuisine, but very good nonetheless, and a decent wine list to go with it. Not outrageously expensive but certainly not "cheap". Save up; it's worth it.

Lovely place for a long family meal and an evening to remember.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloire de mon Pere also viewed

Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Gloire de mon Pere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloire de mon Pere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.