We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am here now and ready to leave” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
trinidad & tobago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I am here now and ready to leave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I am here for one night, laying over to go to a villa we booked in the area.
Had to wait half hour to get our room when we checked in. Pool was ok but dirty in some areas. Rooms on the left side of resort are extremely dated. Cable tv sucks. Beds are ok except we have a king size mattress on a queen bed base. Lots of bugs and flies. Baths is small, shower is 2ft so for above average persons it's uncomfortable. Staff generally friendly, drinks are basic but ok.
Buffett breakfast this morning was fair but don't come late or you might have to set up your own table and scrape the pans for eggs like me.
Pool is still closed at 10.45am.
Ready to check out and go to our own villa.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts as a lay over for one night and for posting your review.

We do apologize for the delay in having your room ready on time and this was caused by departing guests checking out of the room later than scheduled.

Your comments on the pool service are noted. The pool is being cleaned by the pool attendant regularly and it could be a one-off case when he left the area for a while, but I could guarantee once he returned it was dealt with. The pool opening hours is 9:00am to 6:00pm and in this instance, the pool was only kept closed longer for scheduled deep cleaning.

Yes, I do agree the rooms are not of a modern feel and we certainly don't profess otherwise. What we offer is clean, spacious, comfortable and with a fantastic beachfront location (directly on the beach).

The Television service offered is Direct TV (satellite service) and that could be temperamental especially when it rains. However, we are in the process of engaging a better service provider.

The comment on the bathroom size seems odd because the smallest shower space is 31"x57", which is more than adequate to accommodate persons above the average size.

For clarification, breakfast is from 7:30am to 9:30am and always extends to 9:45am and sometimes 10:00am and I am sure if the staff are around even when someone is late they will be more than willing to accommodate.

It is unfortunate your one day offered a mixed impressed, but I am sure given a couple of days that would have been different.

Once again, thank for choosing us for your lay over and we hope you would consider giving us another opportunity to prove we can do better.


Regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    372
    179
    118
    95
See reviews for
271
413
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I read many of the reviews on tripadvisor, and it clear that this hotel would be a mixed experience. And it was! The hotel definitely needs a facelift and many renovations so after the first day I stopped looking too closely. Luckily, I wasn't staying by the pool area so didn't have to endure pounding music for most of the day. The beach isn't the classical turquoise or emerald water but is very nice to swim in and the view is beautiful. You will get bitten by mosquitoes and other critters so bring bug repellent. The best news is that the beds are good, the air-conditioners quiet, and the food in general is also good. For foreigners, the hotel is pricey for what it is but most of the hotels on Tobago appeared to be overpriced as well.

Room Tip: Rooms with the number 140 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for taking the time to post your review.

The comment about the physical condition of the hotel is noted, however, the 70's style Caribbean hotel still appeals to number of persons and the beautiful thing is there is so much more to Turtle Beach than the physical layout that attracts new comers and Repeaters back to the hotel.

That said, we are presently working in the rooms to give them a facelift to go along with the external improvements that has been done.

Thanks for the appreciative comments on the food, bed and service in general.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resort and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cunupia Village, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the resort. It was my 3rd visit to the resort and things have definitely improved from the last time I was there. The rooms are upgraded,the staff members are fantastic, the manager was very down to earth and the resort overall was great. The rooms, the restaurant, the pool, beach and the entertainment were all excellent. Had the privilege of viewing baby turtles just hatched on the beach and there was also one laying the other night. Will definitely recommend here to those looking for a family escape or even to spend some quality time with your significant other. Hoping to visit soon again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for posting your review regarding your stay.

it is wonderful to hear that we delivered on all counts in terms of product and services.

Thank you for acknowledging the improvements that is being done in the room and the external facilities. We will continue in our efforts to do the necessary improvements.

It is pleasing to hear that you got the pleasure of witnessing the wonderful feature of the Leatherback turtle coming ashore directly in front the hotel to lay their eggs and seeing the hatchlings return to the water - such a wonderful experience.

Thank you for considering recommending the hotel to friends and family.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to warmly welcome you on your return visit.


Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just returned from our first (and most likely last) family trip to Tobago last week (8/4/14); we had an 8-day LONG stay at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts (Tobago). We previously stayed at Turtle Beach Resort-Barbados and had a beautiful time; we figured how could we go wrong with another Turtle Beach resort! We were SO disappointed during our TB-Tobago stay! Customer service was generally not on their radar (with the exception of the meal wait staff who were always very pleasant). We had conversations with a couple of other guests to discreetly compare notes and learned our experiences were sometimes similar and sometimes different due to the staff's inconsistency. Our room looked NOTHING like the pictures on the resort's website; our room was much more dated and felt "surface" clean. If we looked below the surface, the dead bug on the side of the sink was the same dead bug that greeted us AFTER housekeeping visited. Also, when we arrived our room's small refrigerator was fully-stocked with water and soda; since we're a family of four, we went through most of the drinks (except the beer) by day 4. We noticed after a day or so that it was not restocked and kindly inquired about additional water; my husband was questioned as to when it was ACTUALLY stocked. We learned from other guests that their refrigerators were never stocked and were told WE were the lucky ones! We sometimes were not attended to as readily as other guests who had stayed there previously and who were more familiar with the resort staff. It was also a fight to get towels for the pool at the nearby pool shack and we were often redirected (with an irritated tone) to the front desk for the towels. The front desk in turn would deny having any towels at all! Once we were told to check w/ laundry! When we finally received towels, we never let them go for fear we would not get any more; again, other guests had the same idea. One couple we befriended stated they had received brand new (recently purchased towels) which told us the resort actually may not have been able to accommodate/handle a full resort (we visited during T&T's Heritage Day Holiday). If we ever needed assistance from our room (i.e. housekeeping or a taxi), we would call the department that handled it only to hear a continuous ring; the call would always be re-routed to the front desk. Imagine the girl at the front desk's tone when it was US...AGAIN!! Honestly, we are not a demanding family, but on vacation we DO expect some level of comfort that we've always felt the all-inclusive resorts provided us...until now! We had to always arrive just as meals were being served; if not were were usually scrapping the pans for the leftovers (we learned this pretty early). We also had the flies to contend with for all meals except for dinner which was the only meal located indoors. The food was okay, but after a while we began to tire of the chicken and rice variations. One evening we accidentally locked the room key inside the room (miscommunication as to which of us had the key); when we approached the desk to request to be let into our room, we were then asked if the matter was URGENT. We were with our two small chidlren, so rather than the line questioning, proper customer service would have been to just give us an estimate about the wait time for an unlock. We spent a considerable amount of time in the pool. On one of our final days I noticed a heavy film around the perimeter of the pool with a variety of dead bugs. This was surprising to me because we saw the bartender (?!) cleaning the pool every morning. As we talked with other guests, we were told this was actually the BETTER resort on the island. Although we did not expect for everything to be pristine/perfect, we DID hope to have a relaxing stay free from worries...this did not happen at TB Tobago. Our advice: DO YOUR RESEARCH, READ AND TAKE HEED TO THE REVIEWS!...including this one!! If you decide to ignore those of us who have experienced this place first hand...Good luck to you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury on Thames
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Have not long returned from our first (and last) stay at this hotel. Would only class this hotel as a 2 star (and that's being generous) Hotel is very tired and in need of an update big time. This complex only has one restaurant and was never open on time for any of the meals during our entire visit! But did it really matter? The food wasn't worth waiting for either.
We were unfortunate to be there on one of the Tobagon festivals one weekend which meant LOUD music during 3 entire nights.Due to the festival we couldn't even get a space at the hotel to park our hired car and the security weren't bothered about that in fact they were very rude.
Sun beds were plentiful but a lot were broken and very dirty.Beach towels, where were they? Unless you paid a very hefty deposit you wouldn't get them even though they were included in the all inclusive package.Entertainment.? What entertainment? Out of the entire 7 nights we were there,there was only 2 nites of a women trying to sing with a guy on a keyboard.
This hotel was recommended to us by a tour company which I have made a complaint to and they are looking into it.
Think vey carefully about staying at the Tutrtle Beach,DONT waste your money,
On the plus side we did see a leatherback turtle lay her eggs one evening and also baby turtles hatching,once in a lifetime experience but a very expensive one!!

Room Tip: All sea view, from what we saw all very much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic two weeks at the turtle beach. The setting was magical and the outside dining area awesome. To have breakfast and lunch and watch brown pelicans and frigate birds fishing was really amazing. Seeing turtles nesting, and babies emerging from the sand and making their way to the sea is a life time wildlife experience.
The hotel does need an upgrade. The deck chairs are dirty and lots are broken. Lots of things don't work and we didn't bother to complain as we knew that they wouldn't get fixed in our two week! There is a real problem with towel, both beach and room ones.Darnell and Dain in the dining room were fabulous as was Collin on reception. But some staff were rude to us when we requested things. The food is fine but lunch and dinner buffets are the same. We sat on the beautiful beach when at the hotel and there are a lot of beach vendors, but many are genuinely friendly and just want a chat. We hire a car to see stunning Tobago, so didn't book any trips and they still were very friendly. Michael lives along the beach in a beach house and we really enjoyed meeting him and hearing about island life. We did do a fab boat trip with Tuna man, aka Stumpy and he was brilliant.
We would love to go back as we totally fell in love with Tobago and the value for the flights and hotel booked through Monarch was incredible. If the little niggles were sorted out this hotel would be perfect.

Room Tip: We were in the three story block furthest away from reception and the pool which we liked as we look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I went with my kids and my sister with high expectations. We generally enjoyed our stay. The beach was nice, and facilities were close by and the staff were really nice. However, the pool opened at 9 and shut at 6 which was poor. The food was ok, a bit on the greasy side, ran out of major lunch items, cereals were stale, ran out of jam/butter occasionally, and played the same CD 3 mornings in a row !! The evening entertainment was good for one night, dreadful for 2, cancelled for 3 nights. Things often did not work- no fridge in one room, faulty in another, rooms not cleaned for the first 3 days, irons+ board delivered after the 3rd day, towels not replaced after cleaning. The resort shop was a joke - hardly anything in - especially basics such as insect repellant ! The whole place was poorly managed - the whole place could do with a major renovation with more modern facilities. I would rate it as 3star

Room Tip: Rooms are much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.