We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We had a fantastic time. Yes, the accom is basic, but the plumbing and ac worked perfectly and, hey, you only sleep in your room, after all! Food, again is fairly basic but wholesome, tasty and plentiful; if you want 5 star property, book at the Hilton!The staff were all wonderful - if you treat them right, they will look after you, but if you are rude, don't be surprised if they turn off!
The location of the hotel is stunning - probably the best on the island - right on the Turtle beach, which is about a mile long. 4 turtles came up on the beach to lay eggs while we were there and we witnessed hatchlings making their way to the Ocean, too - a really special experience.

If you are having any doubts about booking - don't worry - GO!!! You will have a ball - but manage your expectations and enjoy the laid-back caribbean atmosphere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    389
    188
    122
    95
See reviews for
282
430
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We decided to go to Tobago at the last minute as we were unable to get booked into the Rex Grenadian. We were a family of 6, 2 adults & 4 children, aged between 14 & 7. We booked through tropical sky via the internet, with a really helpful lady called Gail. She had previously stayed at this hotel,,and whilst she advised me that parts of the hotel were a bit tired, she told me about all the benefits of it as well.
The flight with xl, was excellent on the way out & the transfer from the airport to the hotel was also brilliant, the only problem was about the hour or so getting through customs.
Once we arrrived however, we were met by a steel band and several large rum punches/cocktails as our rooms were not quite ready. This was not really that much of a problem, as we got chatting to another nice couple, tony & sue, who we became good friends with during the holiday.
We had two rooms, which were both really spacious, and both in need of redecoration. However, all the beds were comfortable, the showers & toilets worked & so did the air conditioning, although it was a bit noisy. These rooms however were cleaned every day to a really good standard, and to be honest how much time do you spend in your room. It would have been nice to have had a tv that worked though, for the kids to watch while your getting ready in the evenings & for the mini bar to be stocked as ours was always empty & not stocked once during our stay. The hotel are gradually upgrading some of the rooms though, and the most recently refurbished ones are really lovely, especially the modern bathrooms.
The food in the hotel is good, with plenty of choice for everyone. Maybe after 2 weeks it does become slightly boring, but you can always order from the a la carte menu, This isn't widely publicised by the hotel for some reason, maybe because of the iinconvenience to the chef, although we never found this . This menu is particuarly good for children with a huge choice & also for lunchtimes if like us you go on the all inclusive option which is definately worthwhile, especially if you are travelling with children. The staff in the restaurant were generally very friendly.I got on really well with everybody, but especially Kenneth the assistant manager, hes a lovely guy, who should go on to do really well. One night he brought me a meal from the a la carte menu , not long before the reataurant was closing, which I didn,t ask for just because he knew that I hadn't , eaten very much that evening. Glendora & Annie in the restaurant are brilliant too. Annie was probably my favourite member of staff in the hotel, nothing was too much trouble for her and quite often she had to wait on a table of 14 or more people, when
several of us got together & all went in for dinner together.
Jemel & Alan at the surf bar were always polite & friendly, but were often greatly overworked. The bar closed at 11.30pm which is a bit to early, 12.30 would be a bit better, so it helps to order drinks in advance. Jason the other bar tender gets really stressed about this. Watch out too as he often accuses you of buying drinks for the local guys, which does happen, but if you do it & get caught on the AI package then he will charge you for them,& he did this to one or two of my friends.
The swimming pool area tends to get quite busy, but the pool is enormous , it takes all the kids & never semms over full. There is a jacuzzi area & a swim up bar, which is all great. The pool was closed for a day when we were there whilst the fixed/replaced the filtration system & there is also quite a large crack which needs fixing too.
The kids used the pool loads, but i preferred to use the beach, Its not white sand, darker, because I think its volcanic, but its only 10 steps from your room, if like us your on the ground floor, and its nearly always empty. There are beach umbrellas, unlike around by the swimming pool, which could do with some, and plenty of trees for shade if need be also. The waterpsports center/hut is also on the beach,Here you can hire kayaks, sail boats /go windsurfing etc. There is instruction which I think kurt [criminal] does, apparently he's really good if you so wish. You can also do a free trial dive, which my boys did. Manta dive come up to take this session and they then went diving with my husband at Pigeon Point. A young Swedish girl called Lyn took it & they had a brilliant time.
Now for the best bit, if you sit down on the beach, you will come across all the local beach traders & the guys selling trips. Yes, it can seem slightly intimidating when they all try to talk to you on the first day, but after this they get to know you & will leave you alone if you just say you're not interested. However, you are far better off getting to know them, as most of them are just really nice. Henry who makes all the leather goods is a real gentleman, makes nice stuff & is really cheap. Mary who does the massages/ hair braiding is lovely. She put a few braids in my daugters hair & even cut my husbands hair on the 1st day on the hotels recommendation. It looked better than when he has it done at home.
We also met Dexter, who became a special friend. One night at 3.30am he banged on our window to tell us that a giant turtle had come up onto the beach to lay her eggs & had woken us specially. We were the only family to witness this whilst we were there as it was coming to the end of the laying season, & so I felt very lucky to witness such a special event. He did this simply because of our friendship & knowing that the children may not get another opportunity to see this. At no time did he ask us for any money.
We were also very fortunate to see approx 150 baby turtles hatch during our stay. This happened mainly at night, but sometimes during the late afternoon.Its amazing to watch these hatchlings make their way down to the beach. There is a progaramme called SOS Turtles which I think is run by Daryl ,more about him later & another guy called Darren, They take it in turns to patrol the beach at night / protecting the hatchlings nests from the wild dogs which sometimes get to them first & some over eager tourists. Daryl does a great job of getting all the kids involved when the turtles hatch. They even got to revive them in their hands.Grant a really nice guy who was out there from Glasgow University also showed us what to do..
If you want to experience things like this, make friends with the locals, if you wait for the hotel to call you, if you put your name down on a list, which you can ,then you will never hear, as no one did when we were there.
We also did some great trips. We did the island trip with Peter Cox, a well renowned naturalist. He is absolutely brilliant, & knows everthing about bird life & the rainforest on the island .We also went around all the beautiful bays with him, to the Argyle waterfalls & more. Kelton thomas is also very good re this tour. He also is an expert on birds & is a falconer.
However, if you want to go snorkelling/see the island via boat then you must book with daryl of Top Notch tours. Daryl [AKA Captain Jack Sparrow] is brilliant .Don't be fooled by him operating his business from under a tree or on the beach. He cares greatly about the reputation of his business & the tourists view of him.
We all loved Daryl, he isn't pushy, will just give you his leaflets, then leave you alone to make up your own mind. Wll take the kids for free. Go with him to buccoo reef, nylon pool, etc. Drink rum punch, relax & have a laugh.
Even if you dont book up a trip spend some time talking to him & he is more than happy just to chat. Also did 2 fishing trips, 2nd one was for free as nothing was caught on the 1st trip.
Try woody's tours also, some friends went with them,& they were great fun also especially the all day trip with the barbecue. These are generally run by woody's son Akel. Can't miss him, has a gorgeous smile.
Overall , a brilliant holiday. Stayed in some of the best 5 star hotels in the world previously, but this one holds a special place in my heart. Saw some really funny incidents, the people involved
you know who you are,lol. Made some really good friends, heather, maureen & phil, tony & sue& jude & kim & Karel & all the kids. Miss you all. Meet up with some of you soon. If anyone requires an honest opinion, then send me a message or email me [--]. Don't believe all the bad reviews they simply aren't true.Go, relax, & have a wonderful time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We are family of 4 who booked through travelcity direct for a stay July/August on all inclusive deal for 2 weeks. We booked the hotel and later read all the bad reviews. The best bit about the hotel is its location and swimming pool (the largest in the island). We are well travelled family and have been to many destinations. Comparing the standard of accommodation it seems to be well below par. Having said that how much of your time are you going to spend in your room? The staff were a mixed bunch some offering superb service while other were bit
grumpy. Although we paid for a upgraded room we ended up in an old dated room. All the rooms are faily close to the beach and great for watching sunset. The food was more than adequate, but can get a bit boring in the second week. However, you can order from the A la Carte menu which can be good alternative, but be warned that it can take up to 50 minutes to arrive. The only entertainment is during the night which might not be everybody's cup of tea. Overall if you are not too fussed by the quality of the rooms and all you want is to relax and chill out then I would highly recommend this hotel. What made our holiday highly pleasurable was the company we were with.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms and also the service of some staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I just returned from my second stay at Turtle Beach, having previously stayed there in March of 2008.

My first stay was all-inclusive, and my friend and I really enjoyed the food. We thought it was tasty, and there was a good mix of Caribbean and international fare. For this trip, I saved some money, and just went with the room. I still had the breakfast buffet, but walked to Black Rock to get dinner.

The room that I stayed in for this trip had been updated, with a beautiful bathroom sink, and rain-shower head in the tub. My air-conditioning worked fine, although I preferred to sleep with the balcony door open so that I could hear the beach.

The wait staff in the restaurant and especially at the bar (Jason!) were very friendly and helpful.

But, the best part of both vacations was hanging with the guys on the beach. They really do make the trips a special time. There's almost too many to list, but look for Dillon, Blacks, Woody, Jamie, Mary, and especially Daryl (Sprout), Loady, Engine Bob (love you!), Akel and Kurt (Criminal). I don't think I would be interested in going back if those guys weren't on the beach taking care of everybody.

I can't wait to be back on Turtle Beach again.

  • Liked — The guys on the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Have just returned from the Turtle Beach Hotel in Tobago. We had the most wonderful time there. Looking at the reviews and having now stayed there - the Turtle beach is like Marmite - people either love it or hate it. If you are prepared to overlook the slightly tired and shabby decor and typically Caribbean pace of service then you will love it. If you are the kind of person who judges people by the clothes that they wear and the make of car they drive then you will probably think that TB is terrible.

It is not a 5* hotel - they tell you that. However, it is an honest, clean hotel on a fantastic beach with brilliant staff and fantastic local beach vendors who really bring the place alive. Kenneth the assistant manager is a great guy who deserves to go far. Tobago and its people are very warm and friendly.

We went in July/August - perfect time for turtles as the last adults are still laying and the babies laid earlier in the year are coming out almost nightly. This is one of the most awe inspiring spectacles - there are days that you will remember for ever - seeing those magnificent beasts doing their thing and the very cute baby turtles will stay with all of us. The guys that do the turtle watch on the beach are just brilliant - very caring and knowledgable.

Big pool that can take all the kids - lovely sea to swim in - lots of other wildlife, birds, lizards, beach crabs, bats, flying fish and rays. Seeing what the fishermen catch each day in their net was always interesting - 3 turtles one day the size of steering wheels.

The food, drink and entertainment at TB is all great - beware the rum punches too early in the day. The all inclusive buffet never got boring and the breakfasts could set you up for the day alone. We had a special a la carte meal of lobster and steak one night - just great!

The rooms are very variable - I would go for an upstairs room as you cannot really see the sea from the ground floor - also a bit more private for your balcony. We had 221 and 222 which were both larger rooms. The new block has smaller rooms and is a long way from everything but they have been refurbished.

Trips were great - the cocomotion speedboat, bucoo reef and Darrells pirate tour and BBQ all to be recommended. As was renting a car and doing pigeon point and the Grafton waterfall. Take US dollars for the trips as they work out cheaper with 2 dollars to the pound.

Lots of nice people there too - Brits and Americans mainly with some Dutch and Germans. A large number of people had been there for upto 12 years on the trot which must tell you something.

Now onto the things to watch - they don't tell you that they have free wireless internet in reception - not fast but it works. The mosquitoes are a problem - take good quality deet based repellent and piriton in case they really like you. The plastic wristbands for the all inclusive deal are medical style tags which scratch you in the shower. Ask for them to be loose so you can slip them off at night. I would recommend that someone from Rex head office wears one for a week to see how bad they are.

The watersports guys are the main let-down on the TB staff - they are quite lazy and need convincing to help you - would not trust them for anything like scuba diving judging by their attitude to something simple like kayaks.

All in all - this was a great hotel in a perfect location - with wonderful staff.

  • Liked — Location, staff, turtles
  • Disliked — Wristbands
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lorhian
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

BASIC is the only way to descibe this tired and dated resort.
Our first room was very poor : 2 legs were missing on the bed, the toilet didn't flush and my husband had to kick open the door to the bathroom to get out.
We were moved to a refurbished room which was better, however the plug in the sink kept jamming and the air con didn't work.
The food was a complete dissapointment. The 2 restaurants the hotel boasted were 1) A cafeteria style room and 2) The outdoor area of the same cafeteria style restaurant.
The food was unimmaginative, stodgy and depressing. Not very carribean (didn't see a single prawn during the whole of our stay, never mind any lobster!!). The only seafood there was , was battered kingfish which was so stodgy it stuck in your throat.
We decided after the first evening to be daring and try something from the a la carte menu (at extra cost). The "chef" proceeded to come out to the all inclusive buffet and dolop vegetables from the chaffing dish onto our over cooked tuna steak (we had actually ordered rice but hey!) To accompany our fine dining selection we ordered a glass of wine. Well I can only imagine that they mistakingly poured 2 glasses of paint stripper!!!! I have chosen not to include a picture of my husbands face following the only sip he took of the glass of amber nectar
In a bid to retain some sanity we decided at that point , at personal expense, to eat out in the evening at various restaurants despite being all inclusive. And while waiting to move to Coco Reef , survived on fruit for breakfast and lunch.
There were not enough staff, though in their defence they were all helpful and mostly cheerie.
I have posted photos and would suggest you check them out. This is after all 1 familys opinion, but pictures speak volumes. This is NOT a 3 * hotel.. BE WARNED.
We found it so poor that we eventually booked ourselves into Coco Reef for the last 5 days of our holiday forking out an extra £1400 over and above what we had already spent and abandoning the all inclusive deal we had already paid for.
I'm sure it will suit some people but it was not for us.
JOSH'S COMMENT AGE (10)
I was really looking forward to my first holiday in the carribean. The beach was nice, the sea was gr8 but the hotel and food were evil! ( grownups version: bad) had a seriously good time at Coco Reef though. Tobago gr8 Turtle Beach evil!

  • Liked — Leaving to go to Coco Reef
  • Disliked — Staying at the resort and the mosquitos
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

I must admit, my husband and I really wavered after reading the reviews. We've stayed at Coco Reef before but wanted something a little more for the children. We were very pleasantly surprised. We had no problem whatsoever with our room. It was a little crowded with four beds fit into it but we were fine with that. We were only in the room to sleep. We never once turned on the television so cannot comment on that but, really, why go on holiday to watch tv? The staff was wonderful. We found them to be very friendly. The food was also wonderful. The children loved the pool, beach and boating activities. Having lived in the Caribbean, I can tell you, if you are friendly, you'll find the locals and the staff to be very friendly.

If you have a family, I really recommend this resort. Definitely go the all-inclusive route as most do. We've stayed at a number of Caribbean resorts now and this is one of our favorites!

  • Liked — The friendliness and the location!
  • Disliked — Would have liked wireless in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.