We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Eastbourne
1 review
“A fabulous place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Went late Feb 2014 as a family and stayed four nights
The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly
The rooms were cleaned spotless everyday
Great location overlooking Turtle Beach
Will be going back next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your family vacation and for taking the time to share your experience in your review.

It is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on our promise, a relaxing location, clean, warm service and good food.

Considering a return visit to Turtle Beach by rex resorts is a wonderful and appreciative indication that we are doing something right, so we certainly look forward to welcoming you in 2015 for your return visit.


Kindest regard

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    347
    168
    105
    90
See reviews for
253
380
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 weeks in January, another fabulous holiday. Staff friendly and attentive, special mention to Lincoln, Glenis and Esther. Food usually very good quality with tasty Tobagan pulses to make me feel virtuous. The new beachside restaurant is fabulous, lovely to have breakfast while watching the pelicans dive or the fishermen sorting out their nets. Nice to see the bridge in the pool has been replaced. Always plenty of sunbeds round the pool, or, our favourite under the thatched sun shades on the beach. Had a car for a couple of days, can recommend the King's Bay Cafe for lunch, or Englishman's Bay for simple food. One complaint only - can I have the bay leaves and cinnamon back in my porridge next time please?

Room Tip: They're all good and all sea facing, really a question of which floor you want to be on, prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and commitment shown in us at Turtle Beach by rex resorts.

We fully appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and it is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver the level of service you are custom to.

Thank you for acknowledging the improvements that has been made since your last visit and we will continue in our efforts to improve the product and services we offer to our valued guests.

Many thanks for the confidence shown in choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts as your preferred holiday resort and we look forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

Kindest regards



Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is in a fine location, but unless this is the standard of a 3* hotel in Tobago it has gone downhill since it was recommended to us.

The room was simply furnished but adequate - the real disappointment was the food - both in terms of quality & presentation - all bulk cooked & kept in self service heated containers - the only good meal was BBQ steak one evening as this was freshly cooked. The "all inclusive" wine was pretty rough

We did not venture into what could be a great pool as it was so murky that you couldn't see the bottom - even where only 3.5 ft deep

Service was rather poor with unsmiling robotic staff who appeared over worked & poorly organised - although it must be said that some individuals went out of their way to be pleasant & helpful

During our stay the entertainment was very variable - some was was poor but on a couple of nights it was good - the real disappointment was the Saturday night when it didnt turn up at all - seems they may have got a better offer as it was carnival week!!

We chose this hotel as family was coming over from Trinidad & I thought we may have been expecting too much but they as "locals" shared our views along with several others in the hotel that we chatted to..............I think the telling words came from a local who we met walking on the beach who commented "how did you folks end up in a place like that"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your family vacation and for taking the time to post your review on experience at the hotel.

I would agree that in areas mentioned we definitely can do better, but it seem obvious that we did let you down in some regard and I would like to apologize for that.

We will take you comment on board and address them directly with the various departments to ensure there is no repeat of these failings, because I sure you would have noticed the great number of Repeat guests to the hotel, which obviously shows that we are doing something very good, but needs to maintain consistency and improve where needed.

Once again, thank for choosing us and affording us the opportunity to offer our services, but just as important, for bringing to our attention the lapse in our service delivery.


Sincere regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have just recently returned from our 9th. consecutive 6 week stay at Turtle Beach and again thoroughly enjoyed it. There have been improvements to the hotel since last year, and in particular by far the best is the new beach-side Restaurant. Literally overlooking the beach and the Caribbean Sea it is so pleasant and a great new facility. The staff, without exception, provided excellent service in every department. The gardens are very well maintained (as they always have been). The pool was cleaned every day and a new bridge has been installed giving access to the jacuzzi situated within the pool. Plenty of sunbeds both around the pool and on the beach. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day.
The food was of a good standard and variety. Bar service and choice of drinks was also very good (as ever). The restaurant staff were very attentive even when under pressure.
The General Manager, Leslie Amedee should be commended for his efforts and we understand further and continued improvements are planned.
We look forward to our return next January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Once again, thank you for the loyalty and commitment over the years in choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts as your favourite holiday resort.

Your acknowledgement of the improvements that has taken place over the period is very much appreciated. As well, your commendations on the service offered by the staff is very warmly received.

It is good to know that we keep doing something right that pulls you back to Turtle Beach by rex resorts every year and for a six (6) weeks visit. To ensure that you keep coming, we will continue in our efforts to maintain the good aspects and improve where we need to.

Once again, our sincere thanks for your unwavering loyalty and commitment and we look forward to welcoming you in 2015 for what will be your tenth visit (10 years on anniversary celebrations)


Warmest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed a week at this hotel in February. Now I wish we had booked two weeks! The location is lovely, with a massive beautiful unspoilt beach (unlike the commercialised Pigeon Point beach further along the island). The hotel although 3 star was perfectly adequate and the food and staff were wonderful. Our bathroom had a bath and a shower and there was an extendable washing line over the bath to hang clothes, also a rail by the patio for wet swimwear etc. Yes a rug on the floor by the bed would have been nice as I don't like chilly feet, but flip flops solved that problem. The rooms are in a two storey long linear development that face the beach. Each day we simply walked out of our room onto our patio across the grass with swaying palms and onto the sandy beach. This was also our favourite route to the restaurant rather than the rear covered walkway which we only used if it was raining. This is not a huge resort so don't expect discos, gyms, saunas and suchlike, but for me this is why it scores, - it is peaceful and relaxing and quietly elegeant with unintrusive evening entertainment in the form of a singer or steel drums player, yet it is not pretentious and so makes for a relaxed living - I didn't feel I had to compete on the fashion front. Bring smart casual wear for the evenings in order to look respectable, but cruise-style glitzy evening wear would be over the top. My only negative comment would be to be mention the drinks offered at the poolside bar - lots of choice but heavily dependent upon flavoured syrups rather than fresh fruit (at the Rex Grenadian they liquidised bananas etc. for the cocktails). Whilst we were there we met several guests who were on repeat visits - some of whom who booked for several weeks each year - which says a lot! We found all the staff genuinely extremely friendly and helpful as were the locals/taxi drivers we met - everyone was always so happy! Idyllic. In fact I would rate this the best Caribbean experience out of several that we have had and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
It was indeed a pleasure offering our product and services to you, and we would like to say thank you, for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday..

Thank you for acknowledging our efforts to deliver on our promise, cleanliness, warmth of service, relaxing location and good food.

Your comment on the beverage options at the bar is noted.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you on next visit.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The resort could be very nice but had many issues that I do not like to deal with when on vacation. First of all my significant other did not bring dress pants and we were told we could not eat at night unless we went and bought some. They told us it was online when we booked but I did not find it anywhere. Secondly the room was infested with mosquito's so take some Off! I actually slept with my blanket us high as I could because I could feel them at night biting me and I could hear them flying past me. There was no places in the bathroom to really hang things or any resting places in the shower for soap, shampoo etc. The room was not carpeted and had no rugs. The dryer was outdated and took a long time to dry my hair. The beach was nice, the ocean inviting, and the food was decent but for the price that was paid I would expect a lot more. I would LOVE to buy this resort and change simple things to make it more inviting and comfortable because it could be so nice! It has no fitness center which would be nice also. I would definitely fix the customer service at the front desk. When we asked questions it was like we were bothering them and they were very limited in their words to us so that when we left there we just looked at each other like "really? that is how they are to customers??" I will say that the ground staff and room staff was wonderful! They were friendly and kind and always said good morning etc. It was a joy to talk to them compared to the front desk. Tobago is an amazing Island!! Loved it and all we did there but sure wish we had chosen a different resort in which to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for providing your review as it relates to your holiday experience at the hotel.

It is unfortunate that you were not made aware of the Dress Code for dining in the restaurants in the hotel, but the Dress Code serves to help with the very same standards we are trying to maintain and improve. Hence the reason it is also highlighted on our website.

The issue with the mosquitoes is unfortunate, because the room attendants do spray the rooms daily and I am sure if you had requested that it be resprayed in the evening it would have been done. This is the tropics and unfortunately mosquitoes are prevalent in this parts and would get into the rooms if the doors are left open. This will also be addressed again with the room attendants

I would agree the some of hair dryers are somewhat outdated, but those are being replaced in all the rooms. Unfortunately, the maintenance team have not gotten to all the rooms as yet, but this will be completed.

Our apologies for the inconvenience experienced in the bathroom and we will make the necessary modifications as we continue in our efforts to create greater comfort for our guests.

Clearly we have let you down in terms of the consistency that should be in our customer service, especially from the Front Desk, which is the front line. I do apologies and assure you that it will be addressed accordingly.

Your suggestion of making the resort more inviting has been taken on board as we continue in our efforts to improve and meet the satisfaction of you our valued guests.

Once again, our deepest apologies for any discomfort experienced and thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation.

kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Thank you very much Jan Kusta and your Staff for à wonderful evening with "Knoblauchcremesuppe" and the lobster on our last dinner. Thank you for all the delicous Soups every Day! We wish you all the best and hope to see you all again! Thanks to Dain for very good service!
AnnCatherine and Hartmut in room 227

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for posting your review.

More importantly, for your warm salutations to our Chef and his team for their efforts in ensuring your meals and your special dinner were deliciously prepared.

Also, we would like to thank you for your insightful suggestions and recommendations.

We do hope we will be afforded another opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you and our kind regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.