We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PITY ABOUT THE TURTLES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Plymouth
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“PITY ABOUT THE TURTLES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I decided to make Turtle Beach Resort in Tobago our focus for the highlight of our Ruby Wedding Year – yes we celebrated all year long! That was a prefect choice and thanks to ALL of the staff for making it a magic vacation.

We arrived at TAB and were greeted warmly, then invited to a transfer in our own taxi with a driver who was obviously proud of and in love with her island.

A really warm welcome was continued by the professionally organised reception staff at Turtle Beach. They lost no time but included warmth and friendship in greeting us. With room key in hand we were given an invitation to the manager’s weekly rum punch party that was about to start.

Formalities over, we went to our room – and what a spacious room with a giant of a very comfortable bed. It had everything needed, including a quiet but really efficient air con system. Well very nearly – there was no shaver electric point – but, thanks to Ralph the maintenance man, an adapter was soon provided so I could use the standard English 3-pin socket that was in the main room. We choose a ground floor room so that we could exit directly through the patio doors that formed one whole wall - onto the beach. The curtains maintained a dark bedroom perfectly, even the heat of the sun dare not pass them.

Our only niggle – and I can pick fault for England – was that the sun loungers and pool furniture was past its sell by date but none the less comfortable and working for all of that. Special blue towels were provided for the beach and pool. They could be changed on demand at the water sports hut – another great team of staff.

The housekeeping staff had added their welcome – ruby coloured flowers decorating the room. We found a chilled bottle of fizz on the dressing table with the fruit bowl! Thanks ladies! These ladies did a thorough job every day we were there. Every night the bed was re-made and the room clean and tidy. Thanks again ladies.

After the cocktail party we headed for our first meal – dinner. Again a warm welcome, this time by maitre di’, who assigned a table of choice without any delay whatsoever. The menu offered a great choice for each course, a feat repeated by chef for very meal we had in house. The options for breakfast beat any London hotel. All cooking was great, except our last dinner when the ham joint was a bit on the dry side and poorly carved. Our main memory was of Valentine’s night – the staff had dressed the restaurant with fabrics and balloons. Chef put on a very special meal - my favourite, a nicely cooked, carved and served rib of beef, It had to be red wine that night – all part of the inclusive package.

Whilst thanking the waiting staff, we must also thank specially the egg chef at breakfast. She was charming at such an early hour and had the added skill of perfectly cooked eggs every time!

We recognised that the beach was a public affair (as in the whole of Tobago). Security staff did a great job of controlling locals, including the various hawkers who wanted to add to their income, even from selling coconuts. There were 3 local dogs who seemed to own that beach, but only barked once in the night and then for only half an hour.

When it was time to check-out we were invited to leave luggage in a locked room. And then use all of the facility. This included lunch and the bar long after check out was completed. A real expression of the spirit of generosity in the island.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor - if only adults then select a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing us "Turtle Beach by rex resorts" to celebrate and share in such a special occasion, your Ruby Wedding Year.

It is wonderful to know that we were able to contribute positively in making it a very memorable and special holiday at Turtle Beach by rex resorts in Tobago.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff (warmth of the service) in making your stay a pleasurable one.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for taking the time to post a review on the product and services experienced during your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2015, God spare.

Thank you and our kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    336
    159
    97
    87
See reviews for
239
366
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Two weeks of absolute bliss. Lovely hotel, excellent value. Staff very friendly and helpful. Tobago is a beautiful island, lots of wild life and unspoilt.
Hotel is in a perfect beachside location. Sad to leave but looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to post your review about your stay.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and the product and services on offer were satisfactory for you.

It is great to hear that you are already contemplating your return in 2015 hopefully and we certainly look forward to welcoming you.

Once again, our sincere thanks for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts holiday

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked a last minute British Airways holiday to the Turtle Beach and to be honest I was not expecting 5 star rooms or food etc. I was very pleasantly surprised how comfortable and large the room was. The food was very good and a great choice at breakfast,lunch and dinner. The staff were all very friendly and always had a smile on their faces. I would return to the Turtle Beach and as they have such a high number of return guests shows how good they are. The road outside is noisy, but as it goes around the whole island it is not something that the hotel can be blamed for. The sound of the waves coming up the sand makes up for the traffic noise. We had an upstairs room which I felt gave us more privacy and did not find the stairs too steep as other had mentioned in previous reviews. One must is have a look at the beautiful hand painted bamboo pictures by Dillon on the beach next to the pool area - they are wonderful and very reasonable, and something that is from Tobago and not China!!

Room Tip: We had room 237, which was a bit away from the main bar area (a good idea if a band is playing late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It was indeed a pleasure being of service to you and I would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts, and for taking the time to post your review.

It is wonderful to know that you were pleased with the product and services we offered. Also for acknowledging the very high percentage of return guests, some of them anywhere between 2-40 years continuously. As you correctly stated this speak volumes for us and says clearly that there are somethings (improvements, warmth of the service and good food) we definitely do right that keeps them coming back over and over and over.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we do look forward to you becoming a returnee to Turtle Beach by rex resorts in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here with my family for 2 weeks booking through Kuoni holidays. Island of Tobago is beautiful with the majority of locals friendly & hospitable. However this Hotel is a major disappointment with outdated rooms,the bathrooms are especially poor, average food with very little choice, slow & surly bar service and a filthy pool & surrounding area. Beach is regularly covered in dead fish left by local fisherman that rot in the hot sun creating a stench that makes the beach unbearable to stay on or use. Overall a major let down & on complaining to Kuoni upon return no visit or investigation by them was undertaken. They would rather believe the blinkered & bias view of the hotel manager over issues raised than listen to their customers. In my opinion stay at your own risk-you will not be impressed.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to post your review.

It seem obvious that you were not satisfied with your stay with us and it is unfortunate and we do apologize if you were let down by the product and services we offer.

The comments raised are noted and we will continue in our efforts to improve the product and services we offer.

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and please accept our deepest apologies for any discomfort experienced.




Sincere regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

IN 1987 I visited Turtle Beach Hotel for the first time , a small hotel at the time , returned year after year bar one, and several years visited twice .I have just come back from my latest stay there. I would recommend the Turtle Beach Hotel as the best choice of medium priced hotel on the island . During that time the hotel has had its ups and downs under different management regimes, and there were times I stuck with it more out of habit knowing that service and facilities needed to be improved, but happily there has been a definitive upswing under very good management, and recent refurbishments, along with impressive new additions like the very pleasant beach side restaurant referred to by the previous reviewer, mean that it is now better than ever. The greatest attraction for me has always been its location, directly on the unspoiled stretch of the beach. Its comfortable size, the rooms only a few steps away from the sea, in the natural setting of a mature garden , and the friendly atmosphere , enable me to feel relaxed and "at home", particularly as a single traveller..And finally it has always represented good value for money , and thankfully continues to do so.
P.S. This year I also saw the unusual daytime sight of a giant leatherback turtle coming right up on our stretch of the beach to lay her eggs . Nature lovers will find magical moments like that ,and sights to explore in the island nature reservations an added bonus

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Our sincere thanks for your loyalty and commitment for so many years. That loyalty is so strong that even after so many years the desire to post a review on a hotel you have visited year on year is a true testament of this being your "Home from Home".

With home comes "Family" and this is what you have become for us at Turtle Beach by rex resorts.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts being made to improve the product and services we offer.

You have most definitely stuck with us during some very good and sometimes very challenging times and we want to say thank you for your unwavering loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2015 to your "Home from Home" Turtle Beach by rex resorts.

Thank you in so many ways


Regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

what a fantastic country, full of fantastic people :)
I couldn't help, but be disappointed by the hotel and facilities, but the staff were without exception fantastic and that did make up for the weaknesses of the hotel.

We found food to be samey and bland - we remember enjoying only one dinner out of our whole week there which was a grill night on which we were served local foods - the dhal puri was gorgeous and jerk pork and other grilled meats and salads were delicious. On every other day we sorely regretted booking a all inclusive package with the hotel and wish we had planned to eat all of our meals outside the hotel.

Desserts were always tasteless - stick with the ice cream.

Breakfast was always great - but eggs, toast and fruit is a simple feast to prepare.

The beach is wonderful for the fact you have a chance of seeing leatherback turtles come up on shore to lay eggs, but its not a beach that can be bathed on, nor sea water you can swim in and the sand was often heavily strewn with dead fish washed up or brought in and dropped by the birds from local fishing nets.

In addition the swimming pool was always really dirty to the point we saw not one guest use it in our whole week there, though we did see someone cleaning it daily.

Tobago is really sleepy and the hotel have entertainment on just 2 or 3 evenings a week so come armed with books and a plan to do nothing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for taking the time to review our facilities and services.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts on the staff, but it is unfortunate that the food was not to your liking.

The issue with the dead fish on the beach is one we have addressed with the authorities and despite this, our landscaping team always move swiftly once they are informed or realize there are dead fish on the beach to have them buried.

We did experience some challenges with the swimming pool, but as you correctly stated it was being cleaned regularly throughout the day. The situation with the swimming pool has since been sorted.

Regarding the entertainment, the hotel has a weekly entertainment schedule, but unfortunately we do have no -shows by some performers and in most cases its beyond the hotel to get an alternative especially on short notice. We have taking steps to address this by increasing our spool of entertainers in order to have cover for any unforeseen no shows.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts, but more importantly, I would like to apologize for any discomfort experienced.

Sincerely

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Ok so my second time at Turtle Beach and I felt like I was going back home!! Brentte and I got married on December 28th 2013 and we decided to spend a couple days at Turtle Beach (on our short honeymoon)...

With the exception of having to wait a short while for our room, everything was as perfect as the first time! Our check-in was pleasant, even though our room wasn't ready, we were treated as wonderfully as usual! Service outshines every (if any) fault of a stay at Turtle Beach!!!

Our favourite guy at the bar, Raul Rosario, was on duty throughout our stay and once again, he managed to outshine himself with excellent service and friendliness toward us.. We have gained a friend and he has surely made two new ones!

Apparently, there was a change in Chef and we noticed... food was still excellent but the choices were slightly different. Whilst there was not a visible decline in quality of the food, we somehow wished for some of the dishes we had the last time we were there!

Clean and well-kept rooms... extremely comfortable and quiet! Pool perfect.. and the Entertainment (Fya Empress) was EXCEPTIONAL!! That girl had the guests on their feet throughout her entire set.. What a wonderful night!

All in all, our second stay at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts was as amazing as the first! This place may not be a brand new spanking hotel but the Service and Hospitality really makes you feel like you're in that comfortable place you're so accustomed to! The beauty and novelty of the surrounding did not wear out... and we are hoping to take our kids there during the August Vacation in the hopes we can see some Turtles!!

Nicole

Room Tip: Ask for a Turtle Facing / Sea Facing room upstairs! you wont be disappointed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
It was wonderful to have had you visit us for a second time and to know that the first visit created such a very good impression that you had to return and chose to stay with us for such a special occasion.

Thank for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your short Honeymoon and for taking the time to review the hotel.

Our sincere apologies for the delay on check-in, which was caused by a few issues experienced with the Laundry Department, but these has been sorted.

Thank you for acknowledging the effort and service from the staff and in particular Raul, who has been a star performer for us.

Regarding your comments on the food, our new Chef is definitely working on making some positive changes to the menu selection, but as you correctly stated the variety and quality has and will remain. Despite these changes, our Chef and his team are very flexible and would be more than happy to accommodate any special request.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your special vacation and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for your third visit.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.