We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time was like going home...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Plymouth
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second time was like going home...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Ok so my second time at Turtle Beach and I felt like I was going back home!! Brentte and I got married on December 28th 2013 and we decided to spend a couple days at Turtle Beach (on our short honeymoon)...

With the exception of having to wait a short while for our room, everything was as perfect as the first time! Our check-in was pleasant, even though our room wasn't ready, we were treated as wonderfully as usual! Service outshines every (if any) fault of a stay at Turtle Beach!!!

Our favourite guy at the bar, Raul Rosario, was on duty throughout our stay and once again, he managed to outshine himself with excellent service and friendliness toward us.. We have gained a friend and he has surely made two new ones!

Apparently, there was a change in Chef and we noticed... food was still excellent but the choices were slightly different. Whilst there was not a visible decline in quality of the food, we somehow wished for some of the dishes we had the last time we were there!

Clean and well-kept rooms... extremely comfortable and quiet! Pool perfect.. and the Entertainment (Fya Empress) was EXCEPTIONAL!! That girl had the guests on their feet throughout her entire set.. What a wonderful night!

All in all, our second stay at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts was as amazing as the first! This place may not be a brand new spanking hotel but the Service and Hospitality really makes you feel like you're in that comfortable place you're so accustomed to! The beauty and novelty of the surrounding did not wear out... and we are hoping to take our kids there during the August Vacation in the hopes we can see some Turtles!!

Nicole

Room Tip: Ask for a Turtle Facing / Sea Facing room upstairs! you wont be disappointed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
It was wonderful to have had you visit us for a second time and to know that the first visit created such a very good impression that you had to return and chose to stay with us for such a special occasion.

Thank for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your short Honeymoon and for taking the time to review the hotel.

Our sincere apologies for the delay on check-in, which was caused by a few issues experienced with the Laundry Department, but these has been sorted.

Thank you for acknowledging the effort and service from the staff and in particular Raul, who has been a star performer for us.

Regarding your comments on the food, our new Chef is definitely working on making some positive changes to the menu selection, but as you correctly stated the variety and quality has and will remain. Despite these changes, our Chef and his team are very flexible and would be more than happy to accommodate any special request.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your special vacation and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for your third visit.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    318
    152
    96
    83
See reviews for
226
341
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have just returned from our 7th holiday at Turtle Beach (during a period of 15 years) and have enjoyed ourselves immensely. (We even saw a Giant Leatherback laying her eggs) The hotel has an incomparable position on the longest beach on the island and has been steadily but surely making improvements. It does not carry a high star rating probably because it needed to make these improvements. This year we found that all of the A/c units had been changed and were modern and quiet. We found that a new dining area had been created, fronting a stretch of beach making it one of the best places to dine on the island. The gardens are well cared for and the bird feeders on the lime tree in front of our favourite "suite" attracted a wonderful range of tropical birds. We found the hotel to be very well managed and the staff very friendly and helpful. This is a hotel that is getting better and better. There are more luxurious hotels on the island but this one because of its position, friendliness and value for money is hard to beat

Room Tip: Choose a "turtle room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for making this your favourite holiday resort.

Your loyalty and commitment shown over the years means a lot to us and we look forward to the continuation of this relationship and association.

Your acknowledgement of the improvements made in the hotel is very deeply appreciated and we will continue in our efforts to improving the product and services we offer.

Many, many thanks for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you in 2015 for what will be your eighth visit.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I read a lot of the reviews on here before going to Turtle Beach so I had a bit of an idea what to expect. It's not cheap to stay at a resort in the Caribbean and this is the cheapest all-inclusive in Tobago so I think people need to keep that in mind. Overall we did have a good time and would recommend it.

All the communal areas are really nice: the lobby, outside and indoor dining areas, bar and especially the pool area! It's a beautiful pool to sunbathe by and will be even better once the bridge is back and the jacuzzi is working. We thought there was a good variety of food at the buffet although sometimes it wasn't as hot as we would have liked. However I regularly saw the chef checking the temperatures of the dishes so it wasn't like it was something that was being ignored and I appreciate that it's not an easy task! Maybe heated food warmers would be a good investment? The all-inclusive cocktails were also really good :)

The only thing we were really disappointed in was the room. I appreciate the '70's charm' but there were a few things that were just broken (bed headboard, table on balcony etc). Our bathroom was particularly bad. I'm not sure if other rooms are the same but there wasn't sufficient ventilation in ours. As a result it was constantly damp so we couldn't keep anything in there for it would end up damp too, including the toilet paper! There was also a leak coming from the roof which resulted in a puddle on the floor. Housekeeping would mop it up each day but not do anything about getting it fixed. I'd already mentioned a few minor problems to reception early in the stay so I didn't say anything about this until a few days in. We were then given a towel to put on the floor which stayed in the offending area for the rest of our holiday. A slight improvement to standing on a wet floor but not exactly a great long term solution...

Even with the problems in our bathroom we still had a great time. A refurbishment of the rooms would make a huge improvement to the overall experience of Turtle Beach.

Room Tip: Lots of the reviews are saying closer to reception is better but we were down the far end and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us for your Caribbean holiday. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the hotel.

Thank for acknowledging the services offered by the staff and the improvements in the communal areas.

My apologies for not having the bridge for the jacuzzi in place during your stay. We are depending on the contractor who should have had it completed already and its unfortunate that it was not. We should have the bridge in place very shortly so access to the Jacuzzi would be restored.

It is both embarrassing and disappointing to read that after so much good work was done in the other areas that we let you down so badly in the room maintenance. This certainly is not the acceptable and expected standard. I am appalled that the persons involved (room attendant, maintenance and receptionist) neglected to deal with the issues appropriately and with the urgency that was required. This sought of lack of attention has been addressed with my respective managers to ensure such does not happen in the future.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday, but more importantly, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort caused.

I do hope that the blemish with the room does not deter you and you would afford us another opportunity to prove like with the other services, we can do better in this regard (room maintenance).


Regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

From some of the reviews I cannot understand how we could have stayed at the same hotel. For my family and I, it was our first stay in Tobago (Boxing Day to after New Year). All staff, the receptionists, bell boys, room attendants, restaurant staff etc. went the extra mile to ensure our comfort - they were extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. On arrival our fridge were topped with CocoCola, wine, Carib, Stag and water. Three minor things which should please not detract from the holiday - as someone chronically afraid of cats, to find them freely wandering around during meal times was unsettling, beech rather than dark oak point should be used on the wooden areas in our room to bring further light into the room, someone rather unhealthily duplicated the amount of chlorine added to the pool. People from England would appear to have been charged that bit more than the nationals themselves. Just one beach person, please, please avoid the beach person with the surname Laindor?! The staff are to be commended working under extreme conditions to ensure customers were happy

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach - mind you, you need strong knees to keep climbing the stairs - so the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your family vacation and for taking the time to post your review on the hotel.

It's comforting to know that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and we would like to thank you for affording us the opportunity.

I note the comment on the overdose with chlorine in swimming and this was a result of an oversight by the persons servicing the pool and fortunately this was action and sorted immediately.

The issue with the cats has been dealt with, because the local animal shelter coming in and collect them. It took some time to get done, because some of the guests would open the cages set to catch them and set them free, but this has been dealt with. The cats are taken to the shelter where they are cared for until someone comes to take them as their pet. The hotel makes the necessary contributions to the shelter to ensure the animals are cared for.

The comment on the lighting in the room, which is not helped by the dark wood ceiling is one we have started addressing by increasing the lighting in the rooms and this project should be completed by March/April 2014.

Thank you for acknowledging the service and friendliness of the staff and we will continue in our efforts to ensure this service standard continues.

Once again, thank you choosing Turtle Beach by rex resort and we sure hope to welcome you in the not too distant future.



Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I booked this place only because, they were the only hotel who picked up the phone and had vacant rooms... Ask yourself why?!
Every where else was fully booked, this was an unorganised, cheap looking, not worth the money hotel resort!
Their pool had dead bugs in it, it was dirty, cans of soft drink floating... Awful absolutely awful, staff are underpaid on 15 hour shifts, the room was average nothing special!!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT! YOU WILL REGRET IT BIG TIME!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Turtle Beach by rex resorts and taking the time to review the hotel's product and services.

I alarmed by comment regarding the pool having dead bugs and soft drinks cans floating around, because there is a pool attendant assigned to maintain the cleanliness in the pool and we do not serve any drinks in bottles or cans in the bars or restaurants. Nonetheless we will ensure that this area is more closely monitored.

I certainly agree the hotel is not modern facility, but it offers a true 70's Caribbean charm which do appeal to a great number. The addition of the new seaside restaurant, modern furniture in the restaurants, newly built public facilities, newly refurbished entertainment area with band stand, newly tiled lobby and guest rooms corridors only serve to enhance the charm this property offers. It is unfortunate that it did not appeal to your liking.

The comment regarding the staff working 15 hour shifts unpaid is certainly not the case. Every employee is the hotel is contracted to work a certain amount of hours and paid a hourly rate and any time worked beyond the contracted hours, they are paid overtime and that's by law.

Our sincere apology for any failings and for not being able to meet your satisfaction.

Sincere regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a great holiday in Tobago. We stayed at Turtle Beach By Rex Resort. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a nice cold drink. W e went to our room which was very spacial and had TV, Tea making facilities, Hair drier and Fridge. Bottle of champers and dish of fruit. Room had 2 double beds and was nice and clean. We had a large balcony over looking the beach and sea. The bar was very good had all types of drinks included in the all inclusive package. If you required brand named drinks then you had to pay for them also full bottles of wine or champers. The restaurant was lovely the food which was all buffet with excellent selections for breakfast,lunch and dinner. On 2 occasions we had a BBQ. which was also very tasty. At 4PM there was sandwiches and cake if required. There was a nice large pool which was very clean and had a pool bar. It had a comfy lounge area and a small shop. We went on an island tour which was brilliant and also a cat tour of the Caribbean side of the island which was very beautiful. The whole island was amazing the people were very friendly. We went to Sunday School which was a massive street party held every Sunday from 9pm til 4am, they had steal bands and dancers and other types of entertainment, also BBQs. The whole holiday was a great success we have even got a quote for next year. We would highly recommend this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor all ,rooms face sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for taking the time to post your review.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great vacation with us and was very pleased with the product and services on offer.

We do hope there will be many more visits to Turtle beach by rex resorts.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts


Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The only good thing at this resort is Dain the waiter. He was very sensitive to us from the first moment he saw us even though we did not say a word. He picked up on our expressions and noticed that our meal for dinner was soup and salad. The rest of the food was just disgusting!
By the end of our 3 night stay, the food did improve in selection and variety. We enjoyed the dinner the Saturday night and breakfast Sunday morning and also lunch.
The rooms need improvement. We did not have a TV remote until the last night although we repeatedly asked Esther at the front desk where all of our requests to her went to deaf ears like dirt on the floor after they moved two single beds to make a king. The dirt remained until the last day when another cleaner gave our room the best cleaning it ever had.
When we asked Front desk Esther to book us another two rooms for our family who were joining us on Friday and Saturday, she said they had no rooms. When we asked Esther in Reservations, she accommodated us.
The people make the resort and there are more people there that do not make it.
This resort allows locals who cook outside, take all of our patio furniture, and leave the garbage overflowing. Not very good!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing the Turtle Beach for your recent stay and for taking the time to write your review on the resort.

It is regrettable the discomfort experienced with the services during your stay with us. I am dismay to hear of the lack of service and poor cleanliness from us. I would like to apologize for not delivering on our promise of good service in a clean environment and I assure you this has been addressed accordingly.

The issue with guests or anyone cooking on the beach is beyond the hotel's control, however, they are not allowed to remove furniture from occupied rooms patio nor to leave garbage on the premises. Subsequently, when this was brought to the hotel's attention it was addressed.

Despite the discomfort experienced, I would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Dane, Esther in reservations and improvements in the food.

Once again, we are thankful to you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for you and your family short holiday, and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to offer our services to you in the future.


Sincere regards



Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth
Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.