We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good/Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good/Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had a great time here but the hotel is in need of updating (planned for September 2012). Would recommend as most of the staff are friendly, helpful and polite, had a few teething problems at the start which were quickly sorted by the General Manager, Leslie who was always on hand to sort out any issues. Had a power outage one evening but the staff kept everyone supplied with candles and maintained their good humour. We got to see the baby turtles released into the sea which was a particular highlight even though it was late in the season. Would definitely go again...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    362
    175
    112
    94
See reviews for
266
401
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Generally we had a really good time at Rex Resort. The drinks and food offered to the all inclusive guest had enough variety for each to find something that they were happy with! I would have given the hotel a higher rating but the two days that we were there we were practically forced out of the room- on the first day there was costant pounding as they were repairing the bathroom above and on the second day there was no electricity from lunchtime till adopt 10 pm with no backup generator. What was really disappointing is that nobody said anything about these disturbances or offered and apology for the inconveniences. Additionally,a request for a converter for the plug was made at least 3 times which we never got so unable to use our electronics. The poole needed cleaning more often( at least 1 a day) and the bath towels were dingy rags. Despite these things we will return an will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I got married at this hotel in February 2011, and it was everything I could have hoped for. There was 9 of us that stayed for 2 weeks, and a further 3 who joined us for the second week.
We were greeted by a welcome rum punch & wet towel which was very refreshing after the airport (the airport was rather bad & upon leaving they went on strike & delayed our flight - in the heat my mother became sick, & my father who is disabled nearly passed out)
When going into our first room we were not happy, there were fixtures coming off the walls & it was generally terrible, however we complained, & we were immediately transferred to another room & they began fixing the initial room within an hour.
The food was nice & we all found something to eat every night.
We told Lincoln exactly what we wanted for our wedding & everything was done perfectly.
We went on an island trip, a boat trip & a forest tour, each was amazing & great fun. The bar staff could be a bit rude, but there were a few that we're brilliant.
Our wedding day went without a hitch & we ended up joining in on the entertainment in our wedding gear (that night was limbo!) the entertainment outside was brilliant! The 'disco' in the hotel lobby is not worth it!
On our last night we were lucky enough to see a turtle lay her eggs on the beach - an inspiring sight.
This is one place that I will definately be returning!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

we have just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive at turtle beach tobago! ..a beautiful spot right on the beach ..fantastic people especially "Tony" the poolside cleaner ( he really should be promoted to customer liason officer ..if you have any questions he is always happy to spend time assisting you!!) and his family "Rhonda" ( who runs the scuba centre) and their beautiful children " Rica" "Abraham" and " maya".. ..then not to forget "Henry"..a lovely gentleman who runs a beach store on the complex making belts and sandals ..we all had a pair made for us ..made to measure shoes for only "£25" and super quality.. the only downfall on the beach was "Andy Williams" fondly known as "the mango man!" he tries to sell you mangoes then once you pay he takes your money AND the mangoes!!..the trips we took from the hotel were fantastic ..we did the coastal boat trip ..the glass bottom boat trip ( both to buccoo reef!) finishing with a bbq on No Mans Land ..these were the highlight of our stay ( especially the speedboat trip ) but i will say we didnt go with the hotels reps we booked privately with "Keith Samson" "The A-Team!" and couldnt fault any trip with him!! we did 3 trips with Keith and would recommend him to everyone!!..We will be going again next year to the same hotel and taking more of our family with us ....a fabulous place and fabulous people!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Okay, so Turtle Beach is not the 5 star luxury some of us may be accustomed to.....the best way I heard it phrased was by an English ex-pat... "The problem with the Tobago tourist industry is that they want to charge American prices, but their standards are not even close to what Americans expect!".
Fortunately my boyfriend and I were not too fussed about luxury accomodation! The hotel is clean, pretty, and everything in our room worked just fine. The swimming pool was fantastic and all the staff we came across were great, friendly and helpful.
The only downside was the food! We definitely made the right choice to go B&B, although the breakfasts were sufficient, the quality was pretty poor, but because we had a car we were able to try lots of different eateries around Tobago and had some fantastic meals, we only ate diner at the hotel once and it was not good value or particularly nice.

Our Virgin rep, Kwesi, was great and helped us with our car hire which was very good value, and we booked a boat trip with A-Team Tours, run by Keith, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also took the rainforest trip with Peter Cox, which was again fantastic value and an nicredible experience. These trips are about £50 - 60 per person, but well worth it if you want to see a bit more of the Island with an experienced guide. We got two very different experiences that we could not have had on our own.

Returning from dinner one evening we were lucky enough to witness baby Leatherback turtles digging their way up from the nest and making their way towards the sea. What an experience! The following night we also saw a mother turlte laying her eggs, burying the nest and returning to the sea. The Turtle Watch allowed us to feel her shell while she was in her egg-laying trance which was very cool too.

Overall we had the trip of a lifetime, took in everything we could of Tobago in the week we were there, and would love to go back. if you are going on holiday to relax on a sun lounger and stay on the resort, you might as well go to Spain, but if you want to take in a beautiful Caribbean island, it's culture, food and wildlife, head to Turtle Beach, book B&B, and hire a car!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool, as we were given a room right at the opposite end of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have been meaning to get round to this review and haven't had time, but I am so glad to see it is now the number one hotel for the area. And so it should be!

We had the most fantastic honeymoon, with sparkling wine and fruit in the room upon arrival. The staff were beyond fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. We had many conversations with Mr Lawson, we knew we was in safe hands with him and he always had a smile on his face and a lovely warm greeting.

If you take any excursions with the beach vendor, Keith A Team is the best. He isn't too pushy, has great value for money and is a really nice genuine man. If you need souvenirs, do visit Henry. You can 100% trust this man to deliver high quality leather goods.

The food in the hotel - some of the best we have ever had. Steaks, pork chops, roasts (and thanks for getting my husband hooked on to the hash browns!) anything you can imagine, it was here. The drinks were great, the non alcoholic cocktails were to die for. Oh how I crave a Bentley as I write this!

The entertainment was a little different, mostly good (fantastic DJ twice a week, Princess Adani this girl can sing and the limbo guy, amazing) but you do have a bit of a cringe factor (a guy with a red beret and a keyboard, and a mother father son trio) but they were friendly warm hearted people who have interesting life stories if you speak to them after their performance.

The rooms, in a word, massive. Huge with beautiful views and amazing amount of facilities for a 3 star property. Fridges, hairdryers, safes, huge beds, double vanities, etc. Cleaners always cleaning your room.

Count the lizards on your way to the lobby and pool, great fun!

We loved it so much are returning next year!

Room Tip: Any room is great! But higher floor rooms feel more secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinindad and Tobago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Had a lovely long weekend at this resort. Visited with my family and friends, a rather large group. We arrived almost 7 am, but this was not a problem as we were allowed to use the facilities while we waited to check into our rooms. Spent the morning on the beach, not in the water, but watching the fishermen bring in their nets with their catch of the day. This was nice as guests staying at thehotel joined in as well.We got to our room a bit before 3. The rooms were spacious and had a lovely view of the ocean as it is practically on the beach front. Meals were excellent in the restaurant and dinner was a pleasant surprise as there was a local steelpan band playing live, which was quite enjoyable as I had never heard live steelpan before. The service was also great and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The pool was great as I spent most of the next two days in there as well as the hot tub. There was a swim up bar, where we sat and had drinks and chatted with the bartenders as they were really friendly and gave us a lot of advice on where to visit on the island. We were told that when turtles come to lay eggs on the beach, that we could come to out to see it and were even offered a wake up call when the time was right. Am amazing sght to behold as these gentle giants came in to lay their eggs. I was even even luuled to sleep by the sound of the waves at nights, which was entirely satisfying. All in all, a great stay at a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms closer to the pool, its a shorter walk than the beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.