We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and worst” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
South east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best and worst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

Not easy to write a review because this hotel has such a mix of positives and negatives.

POSITIVES:- Location is excellent - right on the beach, views of sea from all bedrooms, plus lovely grounds, attractive and clean swimming pool, many staff are delightful being efficient and friendly and very good choice of well prepared local dishes are served in the restaurant. The (relatively new?) manager is aware of the hotel's short comings and was open in discussion with us and certainly concerns about our first room were addressed promptly.

NEGATIVES:- This hotel is very tired; there is a renovation programme in place but this is not being managed very well - they are trying to run the hotel as if the renovation wasn't taking place.eg our room was not ready when we arrived, it had been renovated that day!!! Next door rooms were still in the midst of renovation so stairs and corridors were covered in builders dust. Obviously we complained and we were able to move the following day to a better room. Our 'renovated' room had no handle on the door, badly stained bedhead and mucky floor. Other guests told us of renovated rooms with wet paint and blocked shower heads.
Other concerns replicate what others have said eg (and surprisingly in our experience for the Caribbean) some staff are inefficient and miserable, the restaurant appears understaffed which may account for the problem.
There is a Faulty Towers type feel to this hotel - watching guests searching the grounds for sun beds which are not broken, trying to change pool towels at any other time than 10.00am, trying to obtain a second glass of wine at dinner (it would invarably arrive after the dessert course) and our picnic lunch came in a cool box without a lid!

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — Attitude of some staff and renovation underway
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    392
    193
    125
    96
See reviews for
287
437
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Wow, what a wonderful experience! After reading the reviews before we went we were a little apprehensive. After we arrived, all fears dissapated. The hotel was average, but the local people make the difference. The hotel staff treats you in the way that you treat them, your experience is in your own hands.

The boys at the beach, Blacks, Engine, Scoutie, Akiel, Darryl and Smitty are truly memorable. Book your trips through them and you will be well taken care of.

We loved it so much, that we are returning in April.

Best vacation that we have ever had, it is what you make it!!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

i returned from my one week stay on the 19th Jan and i wish i was back there...i read the reviews before i came on this holiday and i was rather worried about going as being a lone 35 year old female. But believe me once i got there i felt safer than i do when i'm at home! Yes the hotel rooms could do with a little modernising, But what the hell you only use your room to sleep and ?????(you know what i mean)....The hotel is used alot by the saga company so if your looking for a hotel full of heavy music this is not the place for you! They do have entertainment but not the loud party scene.
When you go down to the beach go and talk to the locals they are more than happy to help you especially Akel, Daryl, Engine Bob and Blacks and even my mad beach friend Aldon. Engine Bob and Blacks are quite partial to a bottle of Guiness! If you want to book trips see Akel or Daryl they will give you a good price and time. The beach is lovely and clean and a nice relaxing place to be. I will be returning and would recommend to anyone!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

I read several reviews before going and I was rather worried. We have just come back after a week there and we were pleaently surprised. The rooms are indeed basic, but clean and litterally on the beach with a stunning view. The pool is fantastic and excellent for children. The food was fine and varied, keeping in mind that this is only a 3 star hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an excellent holiday and are looking to going back soon. There are some building work going on at the moment to refurbish a block of rooms. The noise (day and night) is rather annoying. As soon as we brought this matter up with the Manager we were given a new room and a complimentary bottle of champagne. Excellent customer service, however many guest were not as lucky as us and could not be relocated. Overall we had a fantastic holiday, excellent value for money and would definetly go back.

  • Liked — beach location
  • Disliked — basic rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

My husband and I spent 9 lovely days over the X-mas holidays at Turtle Beach.
The rooms are old but they are nice, A/C worked great, view from the sliding glass doors is to die for, pool is gorgeous, food is good and varied, (they try to have a theme each night i.e. Asian night, Caribbean night, French night, U.S. night, British night, etc )
The staff is friendly. Be friendly and PATIENT with them, not demanding. They work LONG hours with little pay dealing with the public from ALL over the globe.

We were on the all inclusive plan and that worked great for us.
I was surprised that the sand on the whole island except 2 beaches is so dark. Darker than the Atlantic U.S. coast.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We returned to another Rex resort after staying at the Grenadian, Grenada last year. Turtle Beach didn't have the immediate impact of the grander and recently refurbished Grenadian, but we'd read the reviews on Trip Advisor and knew what to expect. Staff and sevice were friendly and good, the food was much the same as the Grenadian and we'd opted for the AI - the big draw for us. The seventies decor could do with updating, however it adds to the charm of this Caribbean hide away, and every room has a seaview! We met some very pleasant fellow guests at a 'repeaters' dinner given by the manager, where we were treated to an extremely good meal. This hotel is clean, very well appointed and great value.
Great Courland Bay is a real gem. You'll see local life in the almost daily off beach fishing always accompanied by an army of pelicans, and a few traders who are neither rude nor intrusive. Indulge in the space of this natural mile long sandy bay, a feature not enjoyed at some other more expensive hotels, where sun beds are close together on much smaller beaches. The sea is quite rough within Courland Bay, which was great for my 2 teenage sons who discovered body boarding, but younger children stayed around the impressive large new pool.
We are a family of Padi divers, and we were disappointed that the Padi operator at the Turtle Beach was poorly rated, although he offered the usual free non motorised water sports for AI guests. On the recommendation of another Trip Advisor we booked with a 5* Padi center based at the Cocoa Reef resort. We were picked up and dropped back, a 20 minute drive, before and after every dive and they were always punctual. Undersea is run by Derek Chung, and our dive master Ellis was proficient in organizing great dives. Both Ellis and Kevin were very friendly, and had good knowledge about the sea life. We didn't dive the Atlantic side because conditions weren't good as Tobago was experiencing the tail end of a very late storm and it was too rough. The beauty of this Island is the choice of dive sites on both sides. We saw turtles, rays, eels, and lots of colourful fish. The icing on the cake was the chance to have a DVD of our dive produced by Oscar, which has been played to death since our return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Padi Dive center was poorly rated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

I've just returned from 1 night at the turtle beach with some family members and am writing a review of this hotel so it can be compared to my other Tobago Hotel reviews if you are looking for comparisons.

The hotel itself is nice, beautiful location on a stunning rugged beach, fab pool, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful apart from one woman working on the pool bar who was as moody as hell. Rooms are a decent size (we were in 240, comfy king size bed and larger than our families rooms) and all have a beach view which is a bonus.

On the downside, it desperately needs a refurb - if it did I believe it could be the nicest hotel on the island but as it stands its tired, scruffy, generally clean but a bit grubby round the edges (i.e. dusty in the corners of the bathroom and under the beds but the bed sheets, towels etc... were all spotless). Food wasnt bad but we were only there 1 night, I dont think I would be too impressed if I was all-inclusive there for a week or more but there are restaurants and bars nearby.

Yes i'd go back if I was looking for a cheap place to put down my head but I dont think i'd want to spend a week there especially after i've stayed in the Cocoreef and Hilton (but then they are twice the price).

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.