We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just returned from another great holiday spent at this hotel and wouldn't choose anywhere else in Tobago. (I've done some of the others).Yes - as others have said, it's verrrrry tired and in need of renovation but if you are happy with basic rooms that are at least clean, a very large and comfy bed, a fridge , coffee/tea making facilities, a safe, great air con and a view to die for from your room then you can't go wrong. The only let down was water for showering (goes hot then cold and pressure not always good).
The staff were as friendly as always and they couldn't do enough. Just be friendly towards them - they'll respond happly. Food in resaurant was always hot and fresh. Enough choice for everyone I should think, at every meal.
Look out for:
Frankie - good reliable tours (book on the beach not through rep)
Stumpy - on the beach. he'll give you a great snorkelling, fishing trip.
Henry - he's on the beach near the far end, and he'll make you leather goods of high quality. Rum punch for a tip.
Eastlyn - ask at the desk when you need her taxi service. She's brilliant and will give you excellent service.
Looking forward to next year already. Maybe as a bonus the refurb will be done.

Room Tip: We like ground floor as it's right on the beach. All rooms face the sea which is only metres awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    340
    167
    103
    89
See reviews for
250
374
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Tobago from Trinidad for 3 days. We originally chose Turtle beach as we saw it was at a very reasonable price. Once we arrived we were not disappointed, in fact we were pleasantly surprised. On check in we were offered a welcome drink (rum or fruit punch). We were given a room on the first level (we had requested not to have a ground floor when booking). The room was very nice and had a view of the sea. The pool was great and really peaceful, there were umbrellas and sun beds freely available. All the staff at the hotel were exceptional and went out of their way to help. We booked on a room only basis but ended up eating at the hotel restaurant as the food was good and good value for money.

The highlight of this hotel was the turtle watching. We were informed by the staff on arrival that as it is nesting season for leather back turtles there is a high chance they would come onto the beach to lay eggs during the night. We were then put on a list at reception for the staff to call our room if any turtles did appear. We were lucky enough to see a leather back turtle laying her eggs one night and the next night hatchlings. What i was most impressed with, is the care and attention the staff went to, to make sure the turtles were protected from people touching or coming too close to them. the staff also took care to turn surrounding lights off once a turtle was spotted on the beach to ensure they did not get too disorientated and could safely return to the sea.

We will defiantly go back to this hotel due to the staff and facilities being excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to enjoy a quiet and laid back Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Going to this resort is probably the biggest holiday mistake that we’ve ever made. Despite reading other posts on this site we decided to try to give Turtle Beach a try.
Initial impressions on arrival were actually quite good. Despite what we had read the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the porter, Aubrey, was especially pleasant. Initial impression of our rooms was also favourable but that was when it all started to go wrong.
While we were settling in we found several minor faults with the room. Some of these were quickly rectified but not all.
Later, when we returned from dinner, we found that one of the bathrooms had an infestation of flying ant type insects (probably 40-50 in number) which we dealt with ourselves and that one of the pillows had a red wine type mark on it. Despite calling the Duty Manager to the room he failed to offer solutions to either problem. The following morning, after a restless nights sleep, we found that the mattresses were pretty disgusting as well.
Disappointed with the standard of the food at dinner and the generally indifferent attitude of the staff at both bars and in the restaurant, we decided at this point that we could not stay in this resort any longer than was absolutely necessary and started making arrangements to move to another resort.
We did speak to the deputy manager, Wesley, who tried desperately hard to right the wrongs but at this point we just wanted to move. He was actually a credit to his company unlike his manager who was just as indifferent as many of his employees. Whilst I understand that we were complaining about his resort and negotiating for a refund we stayed courteous and friendly throughout, even offering to discuss our problems with him, but he wasn’t interested.
I realise that you get what you pay for in this world but even at these prices you should expect better. We have happily stayed at resorts that are said to be in need of a “lick of paint and TLC” before but this place is in serious decline with peeling paint, leaking rooves on stairwells, shabby wiring in public areas to name but a few. Fortunately for others, we are told that this resort is closing in September for renovations so maybe it will be become a better bet in the future although we won’t be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Very beautiful and nice resort by the sea with great pool,good restaurant and great rooms all oceanview,with AC and everything else you might need or expect,plus a balcony.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Have just got back from a week at Turtle Beach, having fulfilled that long held dream of a Caribbean holiday. We'd been reading the varied opinions on this site for many months, but having seen bad reviews of the more expensive Coco Reef and Blue Haven, decided to take the plunge and book. 'If they're all being called tired and dated, we'll just go with the cheapest then'.
At Turtle Beach, yes, the fit and finish of the rooms is a bit shabby. But the basics are all covered. You will have a clean, comfy bed, air conditioning that works very well, a new looking toilet and a fantastic view. When you're watching the sun dropping down in the bay and falling of the world from your balcony or patio, it will not matter that the screws around the light switches are rusty and that a bath doesn't appeal.
The restaurant, pool and lounge areas are all very nice places to be, the food, although a bit samey is better than it needs to be, but it was dissapointing that the a-la-carte desserts were not available during our stay.
The service is all either good or good enough. Staying B&B, eating at the restaurant when we needed to worked very well for us. You can walk to both Plymnouth and Black Rock, although I'd have to caution you about walking along the beach to Plymouth: 1: you need to paddle through a river estuary 2: There's not much there and 3: you may come accross a scruffy couple of beggars who work a double act. He has greying hair, bloodshot eyes and a missing tooth, she carries a bag of coconuts. He will block your path and tell you that he needs money for food, she will be calling him to leave you alone, but later do a similar thing. He's not actually frightening because frankly it looks like you could knock him down with a sneeze and just walking on determindley and pretending not to understand did the trick.
Overall we were very happy with our holiday at Turtle beach and everyone else we spoke to was enjoying themselves as well. The occupancy rate was very low (nice from a guest's point of view), which reflects on the economy in general rather than on Turtle Beach in partucular.
Turtles? Yes! Two nights running: first a Mother and then hatchlings. Wonderful.
Rainy Season? We saw showers on 3 of the 7 days we were there and it really wasn't a problem at all. The sea was calm and wonderfully swimable.
Airline? Virgin. Premium Economy out: excellent - lots of 'surprise and delight'.
Economy back. Horrific. Never, ever again. Shabby, cramped cabin, terrible food, dangerously little to drink and couldn't care less service. Shame on you Virgin. The connecting EasyJet that got me home to Inverness was vastly superior.

Room Tip: The 'new wing', further from the public areas is quiet and has fewer trees to obscure the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I was there in December 2011. It was a enjoyable experience. The food was amazing. It is 20- 30 drive from Store Bay. The beach front view was definitely worth it. The beach at Hotel was very rough though and thus it wasn't advisable to bathe. That was disappointing but the gigantic swimming pool compensated for that. It is close to Mt Irvine Bay and a few other beaches. There are no 120w plugs in the rooms. You should definitely should rent a car for your own independence and mobility if you are staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks in this resort. Virgin flight there in 747 Jumbo, smooth on time good food, excellent choice of recent new films or music to entertain during 8 1/2 hours. Airport security at Robinson International was very strict, rescanned all luggage, and checked that no camouflage clothing or weapons were being brought into Tobago. Arrived at resort, 25 minute transfer by taxi, driver provided very entertaining commentary included, greeted with smiles and rum punch, rooms very clean, ours was a large double on the top/ first floor. Tea,coffee,fridge,study, shower room, Air con, TV, 2 double beds, balcony, English style 3 pin plugs 110-200v. TV had 5 channels, American channels with old films in English with Spanish subtitles, and hilarious adverts! (DirectTV )a Porto Rican channel and BBC World service all very fizzy, but who goes on holiday to sit in the room with TV? All rooms have sea views facing west, so you WILL be amazed by the Caribbean Sunset through the palm trees. Fall asleep to the sound of the turquoise sea splashing onto the sandy beach, with a background sound of the breeze though the palm fronds, crickets, frogs and cows! Daytime watch for humming birds around the flower borders, Gecko lizards running up tree trunks and Walls, cows and local dogs coming in to drink from the fresh water pool. Night time, put yourself on the Turtle watch at reception, if a turtle arrives on the beach to lay eggs, they will call you and invite you to be guided onto the beach to watch this miracle up close, then watch as she makes her way back out to sea. . . .truly magical. Rooms are clean comfortable and have a caribbean feel, not a 5 star or travel lodge but all you need. Water pressure was very low during our visit so shower was hit and miss, and only a trickle from the taps, but enough, just. Cleaners came round every day, changing linen and replenishing tea/coffee etc. The swimming pool, is excellent, fresh water, with swim up bar and an island jacuzzi, just a couple of steps to the beach. Caribbean sea was warm, clear safe and calm, beach was little dirty with flotsam and jetsam left around and with cows dogs and goats roaming free. . . ! Food was very good not a huge choice but freshly cooked meat fish vegetarian and we always found something to try, 3 cooked meals a day is very filling! There was also a "sandwich bar" where you could help yourself, and they serve any soft drinks or local wines and spirits or beer or cocktails to your table all included, with a smile! Trips can be arranged with the rep, Kwesi, who is a happy guy, not at all pushy, but informative, he booked us onto Captains Bounty a motorised catamaran to cruise the Caribbean coast to Cotton Bay for snorkelling,all kit provided, so many colourful fish of all sizes, so amazing, a barbecue is included, with fish you are able to catch en-route or chicken with rice, then to nylon pool, a calm turquoise sandy lagoon a mile or so offshore, but only waist deep, the boat anchors, turns on the boom box hands out the beers and let's you rock! Returning to dock via a mangrove swamp at sunset, with pelicans returning to the trees to roost, quite a sight. There are tours available from guys on the beach beside the hotel pool, Frankie, Stumpy and Woody are the main men, all friendly enough. We went with Frankie on a tour of the island, with it being very quiet, we had a personal tour just us 2 in Frankie's car, highlights, Englishmans Bay, Speyside with views of Little Tobago from Jemma's Tree House Restaurant, that was included with amazing chicken lunch. Frankie has lots of history to pass on to you and driving around you get an idea of what pot holes in the road are like, plus landslides and his guide to the rain forest walk, you need to hire boots(available at entrance 25 TT dollars) for this, very muddy but birds reptiles and plants in abundance. Argyll Waterfalls guide Alison is 40 TT dollars each, not very spectacular but there is a pool you can have a dip in if you fancy it, incredible that an island 27 miles by 7 miles is capable of sustaining rivers waterfalls and rain forests. To be honest it is very like Wales but with tropical plants, the winding country lanes weaving down cliff sides into sandy bays and coves, with a dozen or so wooden houses school, churches then winding up again on the other side! You can easily get round the whole island in a day, but is better to make a leisurely tour, with stop off for food and drink from the many "mini markets" little "sheds" at the roadsides with a cheerful local sat outside offering fruit veg water etc to the weary traveller. As they all speak english this is a friendly informative exercise. Our only gripe is the Virgin Check Out and Chill, system. They take your suitcases at 9.30am and leave you with only your hand luggage even though your plane only leaves at 7.30pm, 8.30 if you include the refuelling before take off. Worth keeping your room until the bus collects at 4.30pm (30 quid) payable at reception. As the night flight back seems three times as long as the flight out. Being able to shower and relax in the air con before leaving helped a lot. All in all an excellent relaxing holiday, for the laid back traveller, with friendly staff and locals, just a long way to travel and the 5 hours difference is tiring,

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms have better views (although all have sea views)and are out of reach of the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;