We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Bay Tobago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Turtle Bay Tobago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here at the end of August 2011 for 2 weeks. This was supposed to be the rainy season and although overcast when we arrived, generally it was sunny every day. It tended to rain either first thing in the morning or during the night.
As everyone else has said, you get what you pay for. This is a 3 star hotel and it is reflected in the price, service and facilities.
However, the staff were always helpful and willing to do anything for you - they just do it the Tobago way - which is chilled and laid back with no real urgency.
The rooms are clean and tidy, and the aircon worked fine.
The restaurant was a typical all you can eat buffet style and had a wide choice every evening. You can also chose from the al la carte.
The hotel is not really close to any thing else so to get around you either need a taxi (there is a taxi office outside the hotel) or by bus (there is a bus stop outside the hotel)
The buses are really cheap. $2TT to get to Scarborough. The only problem is that you need a ticket to get on and they don't sell them at the hotel. You could ask your rep to pick you some up or in Black rock (1/2 mile walk) there is a shop that sells them.
We saw tutles hatching on the beach which was amazing.

This is a laid back island where there is no real urgency where you can chill out and relax.

There is plenty to do with scuba diving (excellent) - trips to the rainforest / pigeon point / snorkelling trips / boat trips / etc etc.

You decide exactly what you want to do and remember that if you want 5 star service then go to a 5 star resort.

Otherwise go here - relax and enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    394
    196
    126
    98
See reviews for
291
444
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

loved it here - everyone really friendly including security and locals - beds comfy, room clean and cleaned every day, food good, views good, beach great, always someone to serve drinks at pool bar - want to come again in turtle season. Was really really quiet here, just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

this hotel is only a 2* ,so go with that in mind and you will be fine , rooms all need up dating,pool was very dirty , coffee maker in room did not work,no beach towels,rooms were not made up very good each day, food was ok,half the drinks menu they did not have,beach was lovely but was bitten by sand flys all day,entertainment was cancelled 6 nights while we were there, steel band very good though, but the worse bit for us was we thought the staff to be very unfriendly and sometimes quite rude !!! but hey its only a 2*. went diving with R&Sea divers, great team,great diving,if your a diver, check them out,AAAAA********

Room Tip: dont worry about upgradeing, all rooms are seafaceing and they are all the same .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

hotel is good, service was great, food great but my only problem - payment. When i visited ,there was a special that i was not aware of . you guess it - i paid the org price. On my return to trinidad i contacted the hotel , asking for a refund as such or creit to the hotel in the future - result no way. It was sad as this was my second visit to this hotel and thought highly of it and again you guessit i no longer goes there. By the way it was june 2010 - as it was my birthday and i do visit tobago at least 4 times a yr.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Turtle Beach hotel in August 2011, our party age ranged from 21 to 61. We went all inclusive there was a range of food and drinks the food was brilliant especially for fussy eaters. The hotel overall was very good with the exeption of some of the security guards being intimidating when talking to the local beach boys. Tobago is a beautiful island with amazing people who love to include you into their lifestyle and their way of living. We strongly recommend taking tours with the local guides on the beach as they have a lot of knowledge about their island and will do the trips cheaper than the holiday reps. There is Barry who organises the snorkeling trip which is amazing as you will see the island, stop for lunch and party afterwards your tour guide would be slick rick who is fantastic. There is Ellis who organises the jeep safari trip which is also amazing to see the rainforest and swim in the argylle waterfall. Also frankie (not frankies tours) is excellent at guiding you around the rainforest this is recommended if you like walking. The guys on the beach are also good at crafting there is Engine and Dillon these two work together and make paintings and carvings both execellent. Jackie gives really good massages these are to only name a few. I advise to people who visit to get to know these guys as they will tell you a lot of information and are very friendly. If you do not want to buy anthing from them just a friendly smile and a no thank you goes a long way. These guys made our holiday one we will never forget we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

On arrival at hotel our room was not ready but the wait was made easier with the introduction of great rum punch! We were also upgraded to a better family room, though the quality of the furnishings is a bit dated. The maid service left a lot to be desired, no sweeping of room was done unless asked, maybe a tip on my part may have done the trick. The hotel is family firendly, a kids club was well run and there is no 24 hr notice required as advertised. It also is air conditioned , good to keep kids out of heat at peak sun times. The swimming pool is a good size, for having fun, not intended for swimming. The cleanliness of pool and surrounding area needs to be improved. The food was plenitful, variety was average , quality good, and 2 of our party are vegetarian, and a quick chat with the chefs meant they were catered for during entire stay.Mosquitoes were a problem. Stongly advise on using citronella candles and insect repellants. Management were very helpful in supplying electrical tablet device. The beach is beautiful , not the fine white sand but a pleasant soft golden type. The sea very inviting and warm, and the free non motorized water sports was a bonus for all inclusives. The highlight was getting to see Hawksbill Turtles emerge from their nest one morning. Dogs can be bothersome but forceful shooing does the trick! Tobago itself is beautiful we recommend the boat, rain forest trips. Haggle the price and watch for their tricks to make you pay more! Be firm but polite. The taxi rides can be expensive when considered to low petrol prices and the local bus service. Do as the locals , and flag down cars when they beep at you offering lifts. The prices can vary but are more affordable and people we met were very genuine and friendly. All in all a relaxing holiday, great introduction to caribbean experience .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I've stayed at the hotel for 12 nights with my husband and 2 children.we had great time there.both menagers were very nice and polite always happy to help you,the whole stuff at the hotel is very nice and friendly,the location is amazing with long beautiful beach,the food was very good as well.our children were attending to kids club run by Renata-also very lovely lady.only one thing I'd change at the hotel is outside area when you enter hotel as doesnt look nice-so please managers do something!!!I'd recommend to all my friends the island (is amazing) and the hotel especially if you are with children.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa
18.0 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#2 of 4 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.