We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Tobago's better hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of Tobago's better hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Booked all inclusive for a long weekend and was very impressed. The room was modern and was very well presented. Nice flat screen TV, lots of channels and a balcony overlooking the sea. The pool area was nice and you could literally step straight out of the hotel onto the beach. The staff were friendly and the buffet style meals offered plenty of choice. Really can't fault this hotel, for the price paid for the room it was excellent value. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    380
    184
    122
    95
See reviews for
278
426
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I have traveled all over the world, I have never stayed at a hotel that doesnt have electric sockets in the room, have poor communication between reservations and the actual resort or bland food. I tried to book my reservation directly through the hotel, and was told i couldnt because I didnt live in Trinidad, so I booked it online. I called the reservations number in the states, asked SPECIFICALLY if I should pay for an extra night because I would be arriving in the early morning, I was told that I wouldnt have to, I would be able to get my room upon check-in, be able to eat ( I purchased all incl for 2 adults, 2 children) and there would be a note in our reservation that we would be arriving early. We arrived at 10am, waited an hour & a half to get our room, then was told that we would have to wait until 3PM to partake in the all-incl restaurant- WHEN I SPECIFICALLY ASKED IF I SHOULD PURCHASE AN EXTRA NIGHT STAY SO I WOULDNT HAVE THESE PROBLEMS! So we arrived at 10am, had to wait until 3pm to eat, lunch was stopped being served at 3pm (tea & crackers at 4pm) , then dinner at 7pm. I was supposed to make 2 kids wait until 7pm to eat?!! The manager eventaully "LET US EAT" the dried out & whatever left over food was left at 230pm only after I complained. Horrible customer service! We may only be one family, but Rex Resorts will NEVER get a dime from me again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Staff very friendly and clearly there to make your holiday as happy as possible. Rooms a little 'tired' but as you only sleep, shower and change in them, more than satisfactory.

The advise is that Tobago time is slower than anywhere we been, your not being ignored... just be prepared to wait a little bit longer to get served

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Hotel - advertised as a 3 star ( or 3 V if you go with virgin) and it is that . If your looking for a clean , comfortable and family / couples ( depending on time of stay) holiday then that is what you will get . The hotel is located literally on the beach and in my opinion you couldnt get a better location . Rooms are clean ( could use a redecoration ) and are a good size , they have a tv but not the greatest selection of channels also a small fridge and French doors leading out onto the beach. The food was ok for Tobago standards but average for uk standards ( unless you like fish) . The pool is a good size and there is a dive shop on site which I used and found good . Some of the local staff in the hotel I found a bit miserable at times but generally ok (all the phillipinos working there were great ) . The locals on the beach who ask you to go on tours and sell craft are generally nice people , we were unsure about going with them but after a trip on a boat snorkelling found them to be really nice friendly people and would recommend using "woodys tours" from the beach for boat trips and "hans tours"(lovely guy) ask at reception for taxis and island tours(has 13 seat mini bus as well) , also heard "frankys tours" were good too but didn't get a chance to use him myself .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B/WOOD ENGLAND
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Had a great first week at the Turtle Beach, visited the island beaches, forest and waterfalls. Its an a beautiful place. The hotel staff were amazing and the restuarant was above average and there was plenty to choose from.Rooms were clean, but mosquito were in a plentiful supply in the room. The room upgrade was toffee and totally not worth it, a couple we met had a better room and paid no extra, also had a full fridge. I got stung in the pocket dealing with the beach traders, this was due to my stupidity, mixed with the local puncheon(RUM) mixed with full throttle. A couple of really nice guys we went on trips with was Blacks and Franky . Had a really great time, we also went to Sunday School with Woody another great night. We also done the Carnival with Blacks, totally crazy morning (jouvert). The down side was the pool bar was ment to be open until 11:30, but closed between 8:30 and 9:00. Also we saw two turtles laying, which was another bonus. We had done so much in the first week we were totally shattered after 10 days and ready to go home. We did want any more ash trays, necklaces, trips, massages, birds made from horns, carvings etc. I had them brought all, lock stock and barrell. Now I had to give my clothes away, to fit all the bric-a-brac in my case. I think the Rum and the sun, had turned me loco. A big thanks to all the staff and guest who made it a holiday to remember. Big Show sorry I forgot to leave you my trainers. Also do not forget TJ's just a walk up the beach to Plymouth. A great bar plenty of local characters and live football.It was top draw we were made very welcome.

Room Tip: Mosquito plug for the room, totally for no smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bognor regis
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

every thing was good except bertram and mohamed the bar men that served as slow as poss and never smiled and laughed when we couldnt get served. hotel needs new ping pong table and general tidy up, manager was doing nothing. The men on the beach new where to go and how cheap to go on tours ask Engine Bob he carves on the beach and is trustworthy kind and helpful, Keith the tour guide is allegedly a shark go to engine bob on the beach for tours and taxis not keith.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We had requested a room with a kingsize bed. The Lady at the desk was not able to confirm that the room allocated to us met our requirements. So off we went to the room only to find that it had twin beds. we then had to go back to the lobby with all our luggage and had to wait until the room was cleaned. By now it was over 3 hours since we arrived at the resort. Not a good start having flown for 8 hours and waited at the airport for almost an hour. It only got worse from then. The shower was blocked and had to be reported twice, no bottle opener to open the wine they had supplied, the cleanliness of the place is below average. The worst was that on room only we had to pay a deposit of 1000 TT (£100) and this was not just a swipe but was taken out of the account with a commission. Thomas Cook on booking did not warn us about this, even though we asked in advance.

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.