We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, accommodation and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Suites Alba Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Albandeira | Cx. Postal 377 X, Lagoa 8400-403, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lagoa
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location, accommodation and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in a Suite Villa at Suites Alba for 4 nights in the first week of October. Early October is a great time to visit, as it is out of season, meaning less crowded and less children, but still sunny and 25C - 27C - and best of all it's cheaper.

Service & staff: From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we received nothing but an excellent service. The people working in reception were incredibly helpful whenever we needed anything and also gave good tips about what to visit in the area. We checked out at 11am, but our flight was not until the evening, but they still happily looked after our luggage and let us use towels from the spa as well as the shower. Maids, restaurant staff, reception staff and spa staff were always friendly and forthcoming.

Accommodation: We stayed in a 2 bedroom Suite Villa with a small terrace and garden. The villa was stunning, nicely decorated which gave it a cosy feel. There is a kitchen with a fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher and you simply have to ask for any cooking appliances and plates at reception. It's best to ask for cutlery before the restaurant opens in the evening as it is delivered by the kitchen staff. The prices for items in the mini fridge ranged from about €2.30 for a soft drink to €39 for a bottle of champagne/sparkling wine.

Restaurant/food: Our package included breakfast buffet, which we really took advantage of. The food was amazing - the selection included fresh bread, a range of hams, salami, salmon, cereal, a large selection of fresh fruit, fried sausages, eggs, bacon and much more.
We had dinner at the restaurant the first night - it was not amazing for us as we are not big fans of haute cuisine. The food tasted great, but the portions were small and it cost around €25 for a main course. It was not until the last night we realised the restaurant had a room service with much cheaper 'normal' meals such as burgers, chicken and salads.

Facilities/location: The location is ideal if you are looking to get away from everything and just want to relax by the water. The resort is located right by the sea and has a wonderful landscape which makes for some great sunset walks. The beach is less than a 5 minute walk away and is simply stunning, clear blue water and surrounded by limestone. If you want to get around and are not travelling by car, you will have to get around by taxi or bicycle. We took a taxi to the nearby town Carvoiero, which cost around €10 - €15 euros. It's a useful place to visit if you want to buy food, souvenirs or simply want to go to a restaurant or have a drink.

We enjoyed our stay so much we can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    66
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
116
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Amazing atmosphere, nice views, good restaurant but not really and spa resort as you can't get relax in such nursery. We thought it was a hotel mainly for families but at least they could let you know in advance, as we had to share even the jacuzzi with some kids (3/4 years old). Try it because it worth it just because of the place (praia da abandeira), but don't expect a usual Spa because it was a nightmare...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Pure luxury on the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic. The beach is just under the cliffs. The hotel consists of many villas each offering one apartment on the ground floor and another on the first floor and ensuring privacy. The apartments offer a dining/living room with a kitchen, two bedrooms and a bath. I am a frequent traveller staying at hotels in different countries and I have enjoyed this hotel. By the way, it is owned by a famous Portuguese ex-football star Luis Figo. However, you have to know the following: it is in the middle of nowhere, so you need a car, in particular as the restaurant is quite expensive and there are many places to visit. Despite having a fridge, micro wave and a dishwasher there is nothing more than four vine glasses, so I would recommend some pots, plates and cutlery for small meals and refreshments. If you like night clubs, do not even think of going there. If you seek secluded luxury and plenty of space in your accomodation you will love it.

Room Tip: First floor with full sea view is best. However, next time we would maybe go for side view or even n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

What a surprise this place was, and so welcoming in every sense. It is perched up on quite remote hills, so you do need a car, but it was only a 15 min drive to wonderful places nearby for the evenings. The suites themselves were really well appointed - not boutique style, but much more local, very good value and lovely bathrooms. The restaurant was great, and breakfasts were a real treat in the mornings for long breakfasting! The only criticism is that the pool was freezing in the Atlantic winds, and probably was a bit too small for a fully occupied July and August. I had a great massage in the spa too. We were two friends without children, and in July there were quite a lot of children - this is definitely family orientated but we never felt overcrowded by it.But the service was all round terrific, and I actually can't wait to come back here as soon as possible. Comfortable, stylish and a real treat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a fabulous week in the Alba Suites. I booked the holiday through Travesse and had a deal which seemed too good to be true, but happily the experience exceeded my expectations. The Alba Suites are beautifully appointed, well maintained and a peaceful and relaxing spot for a holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and you feel very well looked after. Some particular comments:

Pool: The infinity pool is clean and well maintained with lovely views out to sea. Whilst we were there we could always get a sun lounger and the pool never became too crowded. It was sometimes quite cold though!

Restaurant: We ended up eating in the on-site restaurant most days at lunch and a couple of times in the evening. The food's really good - some of the best we had throughout our stay.

Villa: The suite was huge - plenty of space if there's just two of you but would be better suited to a family of four or two couples. As mentioned the self-catering aspect is pretty limited. The staff will give you plates and pans etc. but it's not a full kitchen with sharp knives/chopping boards etc. so cooking proved quite tricky.

Beach: Albandeira beach is a 3 minute walk away and is beautiful, clean and doesn't get over-crowded. A real gem.

Nightlife: As mentioned by other reviewers the Alba Suites are quiet. There is a lovely beach bar but when we were there we were the only people in it. This isn't the place to go for lively nights out. We drove to local towns in the evening and had meals out in Estombar, Carvoeiro, Albufeira and Ferragudo. I'd particularly recommend Sueste restaurant in Ferragudo - they catch the fish and prepare it just a few steps from your table - lovely and fresh. Albufeira is very lively, but rather tacky and choc-a-bloc with drunk Brits so perhaps not everybody's scene.

All in all I can't recommend this place enough and there are some really good deals to be found if you look for them.

Room Tip: Ask for your kitchen to be equipped with cooking utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I only found this place by accident after I had mistakenly booked our flights for the wrong day but I'm so glad I did.
We stayed in an apartment in Carvoeiro for two weeks and the 4 teenagers were really happy being able to walk around safely in the evenings and meet other like minded people their own age. This was a treat for them on the last day but it's a bit remote for a whole fortnight.
For myself and my husband to celebrate our anniversary it was fantastic. We arrived and found we'd been upgraded to one of the Ocean Suites, which only sleeps two in any case but when the girls arrived they did get in the jacuzzi.
The apartment is spacious and has excellent air conditioning.
We only stayed the one night but we, and the rest of our group who arrived in the morning, were made to feel very welcome to stay throughout the next day and make use of the facilities.
The infinity pool is lovely and the other facilities looked clean and well maintained, my daughter and her friends used the steam rooms.
The restaurant is small but the views are excellent and the food and wine was very good and not overly expensive.
Like I said we only stayed the one night and day so I'm not really sure if there is much else to do in what is essentially quite a remote location.
I had read some reviews that it looked like it was in need of a refurbishment but that had obviously been fully done when we were there, it was like new.
They had a little golf buggy to ferry you and your luggage around.
It seemed popular with families, as there quite a few small children and that was the reason they'd upgraded us, as they needed the apartments that slept four, so it was just as well my daughter and her friends decided to stay the last night in Carvoeiro.
I'd definitely go again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The Ocean Suites are fantastic but only sleep two whereas the Garden Suites have two bedrooms. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just returned from a 2 week stay with our young family (kids aged 4 and 3) and we had a great time at alba suites. The accommodation is excellent and the staff couldn't do enough to help. My children particular warmed to the fantastic Marisa who is currently providing the kids activities in the Albito club. Breakfasts are great - you can sit overlooking the sea with your choice from the buffet of full english breakfasts, continental and masses of fruit. Beneath the restaurant area is the spa area, with indoor pool, a limited gym, treatment rooms, sauna, turkish bath, relaxation water beds. We stayed in one of the two-bedroom suites overlooking the sea. Each of these has it's own large seating area and kitchen with bathroom. There are 3 one bedroom places which are apparently more expensive as they all overlook the sea and have upgraded bathrooms to include a two-person jacuzzi with a TV over it. I would suggest a couple of points to make the most of your stay:

* Bring an ethernet cable with you if you want to access the internet - there is an ethernet port available in the room but no cable provided. I found the internet to be up most of the time but quite variable in speed. I will be taking a wireless access point with me next time so I can keep my phone connected too.

* Ask for cooking utensils if you want to cook - your suite will be pre-furnished with a couple of saucepans and a ladel. This wasn't quite sufficient for us, so we bought a cheap frying pan and sharp knife from a supermarket.

* Take swimming caps with you - required for indoor pool use. Can buy for 5 euros.

* Take tea-bags with you (if you're a tea drinker). They do have 'black tea' bags at breakfast, but take ages to brew and aren't strong. You can ask to get an electric kettle in your room, but there is a limited supply as we had to wait a few days until one became available.

* Realise that you can get use of free towels from the spa reception desk and that these can be returned and replenished as frequently as you wish.

* Locate the sauna / turkish bath early - we only found this after the first week as it's tucked away at the end of the corrider behind the spa reception desk. (We arrived very late so may have missed the typical tour.)

* TVs (one in each bedroom and one in lounge area) have 2 english channels (BBC1 / ITV1). DVD player in lounge.

Go for it! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Signing off...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suites Alba Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Address: Praia de Albandeira | Cx. Postal 377 X, Lagoa 8400-403, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagoa
#5 Family Hotel in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suites Alba Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Central Algarve, at the top of the cliffs of Albandiera Beach, the resort is secluded and surrounded by a national park which due to its location, offers peace and tranquility to its guests. With only 50 rooms and 3 room categories, Alba Villas by Epikurean formally known as Suites Alba Villas offers a small intimate resort with the additional services of a restaurant, a bar and a spa. The cuisine is modern Portuguese with a strong focus on local produce. A wine cellar may also be used for entertainment and dinners for up to 16 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Suites Alba Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Alba Hotel Carvoeiro
Suites Alba Resort And Spa
Suites Alba Resort & Spa Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites Alba Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.