We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Enormous apartments, Quality service, Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colina da Lapa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colina da Lapa to your Saves list
Colina da Lapa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sesmarias-Farragudo, Lagoa 8400, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Value, Enormous apartments, Quality service, Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed for a week, in a 1 bed apartment, April 2011. Transfer about 40min from airport. We had seen v good reviews on the Colina Da Lapa, and we have to say we were not disappointed at all. The size of the whole apartment was enormous! Biggest 1 bed we have been in. Kitchen was great v well equipped. Beds comfortable, and an amazing log fire and you can buy logs at reception if you wish. Washing machine was great and full size fridge and cooker. Staff where v good helpful, and polite. Maid service every day. Pool area well kept clean and tidy. We had a meal which was good may be a euro or two more than in the village. Now we did see some times on the walk into Carvoeiro before we went it took us 55 mins to walk to the beach front and that is a good pace no major stopping, it took another couple we met 1hr 15mins. So whatever you read this is the honest truth ! it is not 30mins !. If you are planning to stay with a view of walking in for the evening forget it, hills up and down and very few watering holes to stop on the way in, residential area. The very good thing is the complex operates a free shuttle bus straight to the Carvoeiro beach front 10.30 and 11.30am down and a 4pm return. Think this is more as the summer season kicks in. Taxi from the centre carvelero was 6euro day, and 7 euro evening. They are easy to get from Carvoeiro, be aware the complex charge for making a call for you to get a taxi think it was 50c, a rip off.

There are quite a few beaches you can walk to one of the closest walking distance from the apartment was Caneiros beach, you take a right turn out of the complex, left at the roundabout and just carry on. 30 min walk good pavements and level walking except for one steep but short hill at the end. There are no bars or café or very much on the way ! The beach is v nice they rent beds and covers the beds are 10euro day for 2 beds. There is a café/ restaurant and good public toilets and showers.

There is a local mini market about 15 min walk you can get all you need from this and 2-3 bars within 20 min walk We had a great week, great value, great quality, nice staff, defiantly consider and shortlist. One point for consideration is it’s far out from Carvoeiro, Taxi back is the only option if you don’t get a car. Car hire through the complex was 60 euro for 3 days and extra 7 euro for the full whack insurance if you wish to have it. We did look and this was a very favorable rate. Bike hire is 10 euro per day and the reception staff are very helpful and knowledgeable with all you enquiries.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    88
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
136
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Fantastic family holiday with a 5 year old. Close to beaches and town with a good restaurant on site. Swimming pools clean. Staff all spoke good English and really helpful. Lovely villas. Furniture a bit dated but in good nick and clean. Super power showers. Close to mini market. We will be going back!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We arrived on Feb.1st for a month and were immediately impressed by the spacious,well appointed accommodation and lovely gardens. The rooms were well heated, and we usually lit the log fire in the evening for an extra cosy effect, as at this time of year the evenings can be chilly. The weather was mostly lovely, around 20C, although mid month there were a few days of heavy showers.
For two people the apartment was well equipped, though we had to buy mugs, as the cups supplied were small coffee size.
The washing machine was very useful for a long stay. There were drying facilities on the balcony, but due to the time of year, we sometimes had to finish off the drying indoors.
The apartment was spotless, and kept that way by the maid, who came six days a week, always with a cheerful smile.
All of the reception staff were efficient, friendly and extremely helpful.
Our favourite restaurants were Original and O Branco, which were great value for money, serving Portugese food. Local people eat there, which is always a good sign. Both of these are about a twenty minute walk. We used the car if we were going in the evening.
If you hire a car it is well worth visiting the many beaches in the area. Some are long and you can walk for miles. Others are tiny, at the foot of high cliffs, and you have to leave the car and walk down. The views are spectacular!
Unless you have a golf "package", the cheapest way to play is at the "twilight" rate, which means that you tee off around 3pm.
Driving in Portugal is not difficult. The roads are well signposted. If you want to get from A to B quickly, there is a motorway from Faro to Lagos. The N125 also follows this route if you want to go through the towns and villages. Be aware that the Portugese drive fast, and often ignore the speed limits.
The Portugese are very friendly people. In the shops, supermarkets and restaurants, everywhere in fact, they are courteous and helpful. Portugal has become our favourite holiday destination.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Could not believe the spaciousness of this villa for the amount we paid. The only items these villas lack are cooking dishes.
Even the lumpy pillows had been replaced the maid came in and cleaned every day and made the beds the dishwasher was a great addition.
Be aware that these villas are 4.5km to Carvoeiro town and nearly 3 km to nearest beach not the 1.5 as stated in guide.
All staff were very friendly. The on site facilities were very good. Would highly reccomend these villas to any one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had a nice short break in this place. Accommodation is basic but spacious. The landscaping and pool area are good. The Cafe is OK. The staff are very helpful and pleasant to approach. The mini market could be better stocked but a mini supermarket is within walking distance. Free WiFi but only in the reception area. For exploring nearby attractions and good restaurants you need a car. It is less than an hour's drive from Faro and 30 minutes to Villamoura where the marina is fantastic. The Slide and Splash a good water park (better than Alton Tower) is just 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Mayo Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is our repeat stay at Colina Da Lapa. Value for money & the complex grounds are beautiful. A nice size pool & the villa spotless with cleaners every day. The office staff very helpfull. I cannot fault. Bar food bites & drinks very resonable. Whilst you do need a car, it is only a short drive away from beautiful beaches and Cavoeiro town, where there is a wide variety of choice of lots of restaurants & pubs and good craic. Central to Slide & splash water park and within a short distance to other major towns for shopping or sight seeing. We hope to return in 2011 and don't see any reason not to return to Colina da Lapa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Colina da Lapa which was totally relaxing. The apartments are lovely - very spacious and well equipped. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a washing machine, iron and ironing board and the living room/dinning room and bedroom had air conditioning. The apartments are in blocks of six in lovely, well maintained gardens.
The apartments are very out of town but there is a free bus arranged by reception in to the town of Carvoeiro and to the nearest beach. The bus in to town runs twice in the morning but doesn't run at night.Taxis can be ordered from reception and cost approx €8.
There is a shop on site but it never seems to be open. Apparently, if you ask at reception they will open it but we never did.The nearest other shop is a 15-20 min walk.
The on site restaurant is ok. We ate in the Island Cafe over the road which is great.The menu isn't massive but the food is good and cheaper than in town. Watch out if you are offered bread in any restaurants as you will be charged for it.
If you do walk about be mindful that the area surrounding the apartments is mainly residential. At night the locals seem to let their dogs roam wild and some of them are not friendly. Also, mosquitoes are a problem at night in the apartment if you have had the doors open.
If you want to get about then a car would be useful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colina da Lapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina da Lapa

Address: Sesmarias-Farragudo, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina da Lapa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Colina da Lapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Da Lapa Hotel Lagoa
Colina Da Lapa Carvoeiro
Colina Da Lapa Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colina da Lapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.