We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Lamim

Restaurante Lamim
Rua da Misericordia 5, Lagoa 8400-335, Portugal
+351 968 608 236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Lagoa
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tradition that combines art and quality. Culture, gastronomy excellence, care and diligence in the preparation of the dishes are some of the ingredients that delight customers and make the recognition of Lamim restaurant since 1980. With the structure enhanced to better serve customers, the restaurant Lamim objective is the improvement of the dishes a la carte. Tradition and essence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Didn't expect much when approaching this place and even on entry we were not too sure that it would be right for 2 adults and 3 kids (especially the picky teen).
Just shows that you should never judge the book by the cover, the owner is front of house and he makes you feel like you eat there every week. The pick of the day depends on what he has caught fresh that morning, we had enough fresh olives and bread to feed us for a week while we waited for the freshly cooked starters and mains. All of us enjoyed every dish but 2 were especially outstanding, the prawns with piri piri could only be beaten by the best baby sole I have tasted anywhere in the world. All washed down with great local wines and finished off by homemade chocolate and strawberry desserts. If I have had a better meal then I can't remember when especially with such value for money. Well done to the whole family who were called in as the small place was so busy. Book to make sure you can get in, even on a Tuesday evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We discovered lamim through trip advisor , we were met by a friendly smile and felt very welcome . The owner couldn't do enough for us and helped us with the menu and even did recommendations for us to try , we had the piri piri prawns for starters which were excellent , then fish and steak for main which again were top class , finished off with home main desserts , excellent value and nice friendly people would go again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Excellent food, traditional style and always a welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Restaurante Lamin is owned and run by Paulo who will move heaven and earth to make sure you get exactly what you ordered with both excellent service and top quality ingredients.

Its probably not the easiest place to find by worth the search and if you’re expecting a white tablecloth style eatery you’ll be disappointed, its a family style with minimum fuss and everything spotlessly clean.

There is a good menu, however their speciality is whatever they buy that morning, changing every day and always fresh. I’ve always eaten their fish, but the meat looks an excellent option.

Can I suggest you go there hungry as the portions are generous and service with a smile.

If you’re in Lagoa, the Restaurante Lamin should be at the top of your list for a non-fussy, family restaurant with local food at a very reasonable price. (They don't take credit cards)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Discovered this restaurant through Trip Advisor. The food was absolutely stunning.... Typical home cooked Portuguese food.....the service was perfect...so friendly and accommodating. Couldn't find it at first but asked one of the locals and he got in his car and drove there for us to follow him which was so kind. We've arranged to phone Paulo the manager on Friday to book a table and another gorgeous meal....Gary, Telo, Dougie and Elvis.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have been going to this restaurant for 20 years now and the food is always top standard. Paul is always very welcoming and the quality of the food is great. My 2 favorite dishes are Baby Sole and Fish Cataplana. His soup tureen is never ending, leave room for the main course. to finish off the coffee mousse is divine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lamim also viewed

Lagoa, Faro District
Lagoa, Faro District
 
Lagoa, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Lamim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Lamim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.