We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you have an allergy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Martins Grill

Martins Grill
Main Square | Praia do Carvoeiro, Lagoa 8400-517, Portugal
+351 282 357 494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 35 Restaurants in Lagoa
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Don't go if you have an allergy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited here in July 2012 and will not be returning! The food was very poor and we had to return a meal as we had requested one without a certain food on it due to a severe allergy........ Guess what? The plate when it arrived was covered in the allergen! Sent it back and the plate of food came back 30 minutes later (I timed it) and everybody else had finished their meal ages before this. Felt awkward having to do this and think the waiting staff also felt a bit like this it, was offered no bread to curb my hunger while everybody else tucked into their lukewarm meals......yum yum! Gorgeous setting, shame everything else lets it down.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    15
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was bad, the atmosphere was bad, and the staff were slow. I have piri piri chicken and it was minimal and tastless, a friend had ribs and they were dry and tough unedible, they did offer him something else but after a wait. It was not very bust when were attended and service was poor AVOID!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not recommended!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant was the worst one we went to on our week away. The food was average and the service was poor. We waited ages for someone to even take our order and get us our drinks. The restaurant wasn't full to capacity and there were four staff on who couldn't organise themselves properly. We had ordered a bottle of wine which was sat at the bar next to us for about 15 minutes before the waiter brought it to our table. I was tempted to walk over and get it myself!

If you want a cheap grill meal that is like 'harvester' standard then you won't mind this place, but I really wasn't expecting it to be that bad. It's a shame because it's in a great location. I can't imagine they get many people returning!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could not believe my eyes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Absolute horrible evening ,my food was not good ,staff very rude ,would not recommend with a family, downstairs was nice last year ,but tried grill upstairs awful

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Avoid this place! (Known as Martins Grill)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were having a lovley evening in Carvoeiro and keeping an eye out for a nice restaurant to book for the following evening. We had already eaten at our villa that night but the kids fancied a crepe and we only wanted a drink. I am glad we did not book it. The waiter who greeted us was I think German/Dutch. Not sure if he is Martin bald and glasses. He was ok until we said we only wanted crepes and a drink, He was totally obnoxious. He told us tables were needed for people who wanted to dine and he should not waste them on people only wanting desserts and drinks. He then in a very rude and unwelcoming manner snatched all the place mats and cutlery from under our noses and said he would on this ocasion make an exception.

If we had not already ordered drinks we would have walked out. The Crepes alone are 7 euros each and four of us were having them as well as drinks. We were spending 40 odd euros and there wasn't a shortage of tables. There were about five other tables empty the whole time we were there. He ruined the evening for me since all the other places we have visited have been very friendly and welcoming. Not here! He scowled and the whole experinece was unpleasant and we were made to feel most unwelcome. I would not recomnmend eating here. There are plenty of warm welcoming places in Carvoeiro and this is not one of them. Avoid!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Grill also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Martins Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martins Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.