We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Hotels Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Agua Hotels Riverside to your Saves list
Agua Hotels Riverside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoa
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing break, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights last week celebrating our wedding anniversary. When we arrived our room was upgraded to a suite (apartment) on the 3rd floor- we were over the moon! The hotel is clean, the rooms are big and very modern looking with a double balcony and great views of the river.
It was very quiet, which we didn't mind- got a lot of rest. We spent time in the spa & gym most days and had the place to ourselves. The food was great we ate out a few times also. We hired bikes at the hotel on the last day which was great fun and not very expensive. The hotel is in a small town but not too far from the city (across the river) there is a supermarket nearby if you want to by food. Taxis are not too expensive we paid 7-9 euros to get to Praia de Rocha for an evening out. All in all the staff are helpful and friendly, the hotel very clean, the room/apartment was very spacious with lots of light coming in from the patio doors and lovely views of the river. I would recommend this hotel to anyone its peaceful and serene, suitable for both couples and families.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    226
    96
    22
    18
See reviews for
102
262
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights. The hotel itself was lovely and clean with helpful friendly staff, but very quiet because the location is quite secluded. Although we knew we were travelling out of season it is still alot more than we expected. Transport links are not great buses run very infrequently, I would advise hiring a car. It was quick and easy to do and helped us get away from the hotel and find some activites to do.we visited Ferragudo Lagoa and Albufeira where we found a wide selection or bars restaurants and a more lively atmosphere. The food at the hotel was not that great for the price but they did have a decent selection for breakfast. Its not a large hotel and there is no entertainment. If your looking for a quiet relaxing getaway with a nice view then this is perfect

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel to stay in for a one week holiday. Our room was lovely- stylish decor and the cleaners came daily and were very accommodating and did a great job. The staff in every area were friendly and helpful, from reception to restaurant to spa to cleaners! The rooms have black and white pictures of different scenes from Portugal and a fresh style. We would really recommend this hotel.

Food
We ate in the hotel twice in the evenings (staying b&b) and the food was varied and tasty, but buffet style. The breakfasts had a great selection, so there is something for everyone. We walked to two other restaurants near the hotel. The first was The Village Inn. This was designed for the tourists and was very quaint with lots of atmosphere and great food and service. Although please book! Although it was October, we were too late to get a seat on the Thursday night. The patron then recommended a place for dinner where the locals appeared to eat just across the road and back towards the hotel slightly. It was a great restaurant, although you may feel a bit concerned from the outside (the outside looked grotty), when you stepped into it, everything was sparkling clean and the owner so friendly , he made you feel right at home. The food was magnificent and I would really recommend it. In terms of lunches there is a supermarket right beside the hotel which will get you sorted.

Facilities
The poolside is beautiful and we didn't notice a bad smell from the river, as some people had mentioned in other reviews. There were enough sunbeds for everyone without requiring you to head out early and fight for them! We also used the free part of the spa a few days. It is a nice little break from the poolside with a jacuzzi, heated pool & steam room etc.
In terms of location, it is great for being quiet and escaping the tourist hotspots. We travelled into portimaõ and Praia de rocha which were less than €10 taxi ride each way. If it is cool enough, it is an easy walk to portimaõ, about 20mins. We really liked the location as it gave you the choice of heading to the tourist areas or staying clear of them!

Overall we had a great time and would really recommend it to anyone who is after a relaxing week.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Rooms were very spacious and modern. I stayed for 5 nights and my sheets were not changed once. The bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned for the 5 days but towels were changed daily.
Hairdryers were not available in the room but could be requested from reception and given back once used.
No facilities available in room to make a drink- not sure if this is the case with all rooms.
The pool area and lounging area were great. The indoor pool was only ankle depth and very small so difficult to swim in. The sauna and steam room were always working and no problems with them. The jacuzzi has such strong cleaning products in that we could not sit in it. It made us cough and our eyes sting. My swimming costume still smells of the product since being washed twice. The gym had the basics of any workout and while the area was clean, the pieces of equipment were not.
The staff in the spa/ gym area were very friendly.
The restaurant was lovely and the staff were great! The food was great and plenty of choice! It was buffet style for our first two nights then a la carte for the next few days. The a la carte menu was the same each night but enough choice for a few days!
Be careful not to walk too far if you are alone/ females as the area around the hotel did not seem very safe. Although the hotel grounds were very safe! We got taxis to the two small towns portamao and ferragudo and were glad we chose not to walk. The marina at portamao is beautiful and lovely beach. Ferragudo also has a really nice beach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Positive points to this hotel are 1.Quiet location - as the description states the hotel is a good 20 - 25 minute walk from the nearest town. However, it does have a well stocked supermarket within a 5 minute walk as well as a large LIDL. 2. Rooms - the rooms were spacious and clean, is probably worth upgrading to a suite with a kitchen although the basic double rooms were amply big enough with a balcony A tip would be to take your own travel kettle as they do not supply this, also they have a laundry service - you cannot 'borrow' an iron. The downsides to this hotel - 1. Staff enthusiasm - difficult to judge as we were close to the end of the season but not the friendliest welcome at reception. 2. Bar - The bar is a small section of the restaurant serving station, this is slow but bearable when lunch or dinner is not in progress. Once meal times have commenced you will be told ' to go outside and wait' as you can only get drinks when you dine. Even when you dine it is difficult to get a drink, it is a good idea to ask for a bottle of wine if you are thinking of having more than one drink. Bar staff are there to 'serve the diners' and 'clean up' and are not interested in serving guests (paying or not paying). Drinks are approx 4 euros for a regular beer, wine approx 3 euros a glass 3. Restaurant / Food - incredibly disappointing, buffet breakfast and dinner barely edible (I am not a fussy eater). The lunch menu seemed better although limited - this was table service. 4. Lounge Area - there is not an area within the hotel to relax - it is either the plastic chairs and tables in and around the restaurant or the sunbeds! 5. All-Inclusive - do not pay for all-inclusive - they do not understand the concept and do not serve food all day, they have limitations on the drinks and food. They do have a drinks all-inclusive package which may be a better option but ear in mind you would want to go out and eat. The suites were gorgeous with large balconies, kitchens, lounge and bedroom/s - fully equipped to cook the gorgeous steaks and fish you can buy from the local supermarket. 6. Wi-Fi is only available in the reception and part of the restaurant area. We went for a relaxing holiday and this is what it was, if the food had been better it would have been more enjoyable and received a three star

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

stayed here for 7 nights in October,Really nice hotel nice rooms with a lovely view at sunset looking across to Portamaeo (Dont look down or your looking into the car park). decent breakfast. staff are friendly but it can take a while to get a drink at the bar.

As others have said its out of the way but this isnt a big deal as you will only wait a couple of minutes on a taxi and its only 6 euro to Praia de Rocha and 10 euro to Alvor which i highly recommend for a night out.
Rooms are kept very clean and have an excellent well laid out kitchenette.
All in all we have travelled all over the world and this is up there with one of the best value for money hotels we have ever stayed in

Room Tip: if your room is overlooking the car park keep your window closed at night as early morning deliverie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Riverside is a very nice clean hotel with great customer service, the room was so... clean and tidy we never had any problems with nothing in the room at all. The only thing I will mention is that there can be a lot of fies within the restaurant and they have a river that is near the hotel that was abit off putting due to the smell of the river close by (hence why the fies) the hospitality is great, communication is great also. There's not alot of things to do near the hotel more activities is in Algrave and Lagos very nice places also about 15mins in a cab to get there and very reasonable prices for cabs as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would love to come a relax are with Al grave, lagos

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agua Hotels Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Hotels Riverside

Address: Quinta do Parchal, Lagoa 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Hotels Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Agua Hotels Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Hotels Riverside Hotel Lagoa
Agua Hotels Riverside Portugal/Lagoa, Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Hotels Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.