We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“H'Evans Scent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H'Evans Scent

H'Evans Scent
Freehill, St. Ann's Bay, Jamaica
+876 427 4866
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Your trip begins from the moment you arrive into the Port of Ocho Rios or Falmouth; you will be picked up by our well informed driver for a spectacular ride up to H’Evans Scent . On route the Caribbean Sea is so close you feel that you could touch it. And so you begin a leisure drive up hill. The drive takes you through sleepy villages past kids going to school to locals doing their washing H’Evans Scent is located 2000ft up with a view across the green fields of St Ann, our garden parish.Upon arrival at H’Evans Scent Bamboo gates you will be met by our friendly staff who will give you your first real taste of Jamaica, a natural fruit drink made from fruits that are in season, served in a calabash cup. H’Evans Scent was the first to introduce Zip Lines to the Island of Jamaica and they have stayed ahead of the competition by installing rides which are different to what others are offering. Each ride is a different experience, and once you have been harnessed your safety instructions comes next then it is onto the first Zip Line.
Columbus Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“H'Evans Scent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great zip lines, each one unique. Love the "screamer". I would recommend this place and the jerk chicken is a must.....don't skip. We had a great time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic trip - better for older kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked with H'Evan Scent on a last minute change of Itinerary from a cruse ship (booked on 6/18/13 for a 6/20/13 arrival date). We were not scheduled to stop in Jamaica but a tropical depression in Belize caused a rerouting and a change in ports mid cruise. Rather than wait in a huge line on the ship to book a shore excursion, I searched for things to do on the internet and found H'Evan Scent mostly by accident. The owner Derrick Evans was an absolute pleasure to work with. We were a group of 28 with ages ranging from 6 to 71 and he accommodated us with basically no notice.

We booked the combined zip lining and Dunn River Falls tour. Overall I'd highly recommend this excursion. But let me expand and tell you why I didn't rate it a 5. To be fair, had we had the time to research our options in Ocho Rios properly, we probably would have scheduled this differently taking 1/2 our group to the zip line and had the other 1/2 just do just the falls. For those in our group that were more adventurous and/or had zip lined before, the consensus was that this was the most exciting zip line tour anyone in our group had ever done. H'Evan Scent does a great job of making each of their 5 Zip lining experiences a different challenge. The highlight was a 1200 ft zip line that you have to climb a 50 ft pole to get to. While this was great for the brave in our group, but it was not suitable for the smaller kids and there were about 5 that bailed out and joined what we light-heartedly called the "Chicken Club" Out of our group of 28, 5 never intended to zip line, 11 were too small (I believe the weight limit was 110 Lbs) and 5 did only half the course because they "chickened out" on climbing the pole. That said, we all agreed that the 23 of us that did zip the first three lines thought they were great. We felt we got our moneys worth (the kids that were too small to do lines 4 & 5 were given the chance to do lines 1&2 twice).

We did get the Jerk Chicken lunch. it was delicious and worth doing, especially if coming off a ship and only spending the one day in Jamaica. We got one lunch for every two people and with all the small kids in our group, that was more than enough.

From there we went on to climb the Dunn River Falls. Our driver, Calvin, did an excellent job of helping to prepare us and escorted us through the "aggressive" tour guides and vendors that surround the falls. We were definitely glad to have him along as it would have been really annoying to deal with those guys without having a guide. I won't say much more about this as there are a lot of other reviews on what is good an bad about the Dunn Fall part of the trip.

If you have only young kids or are looking for a zip line "light" experience (say for those that are pushing your limits to get on a zip line at all), you might want to explore other options. If however, you have zipped before, and are looking to push your limits a bit, I definitely recommend H'Evan Scent. As others said, the drive up to the park is beautiful. I always felt safe (even on the one where you had to climb the pole, you are always tethered) and the staff is extremely nice. Derrick has a well run operation and is just generally fun to be around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked our trip through Jamaica Tours - and I am so happy we went with this package rather than the Mystic Mountain zip lining. We did this and the Dunn River Falls tour in the same outing. H'evan Sent is a littler farther away from where we stayed in Ocho Rios, but it really allowed for us to see REAL Jamaica - rather than just the Jamaica you see at a resort or a touristy area. You have to ride through the hills and thin roads where the locals live, which was half the fun of the excursion.

It will definitely push your comfort limits - but it is worth it. The big swing is AMAZING, and the views are even better.

We REALLY enjoyed the staff. The owner, Derrick Evans, greeted us and explained some of the history of the place while we were waiting for the rest of the group. Everything there, the tables, buildings, etc - are made from the trees that fall naturally from storms. They don't destroy the ecosystem there for the sake of tourism, which I really appreciated. The staff members have worked there for years together, and they are very fun and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Took wife and 2 daughters ages 15 and 10. The owner and workers could not have been nicer and the ziplines were awesome. Screamer lives up to its name. It is an interesting ride up there but well worth the time. I would go again and suggest to everyone to do this excursion.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A rush!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time zip lining (my boyfriend & I). We were staying at a resort about a half hour away & didn't know where we were going driving all the way up into the mountains on a narrow road! But we finally made it & Orlando explained everything to us. The other guides were great too, they even gave my boyfriend this leaf to smell (not sure what it was called) but to help with the hangover nausea he had haha. The zip lines were so much fun & I always felt safe & secure! Nobody on the resort had really heard of this place which was great for us because we went early in the morning & literally had the place I ourselves! They said it gets busier in the afternoon when cruise ships dock. But it was an amazing experience! Orlando even showed us "Shy Lady's" which were these little blades of the grass that when you brush your finger on them they close up! It was so cool!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H'Evans Scent also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to H'Evans Scent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H'Evans Scent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.