We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with some bonuses!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle River Falls and Gardens

Turtle River Falls and Gardens
Eden Bower Road | Ocho Rios, St. Ann's Bay, Jamaica (Formerly The Enchanted Garden)
876-974-5114
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A hidden gem with some bonuses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've been to Jamaica three times (as young marrieds, as parents, and now with grandkids) and we had never heard of this place. Our outstanding guide, Paul Williams, suggested it because the children are 4 and 6 and Dunns River is higher falls and more crowded. What a find! The highlight of this year's Jamaica trip. 1.5 hours from Montego Bay it's very beautiful with adults and children loving the trip up the falls. Fantastic photo opportunities by yourself if you don't go in and just observe; or the Turtle River Falls guide will happily use your camera. Lovely gardens, good commentary on the vegetation and history of the former resort. Snacks only available.

Now for the really great part: At the end of the falls climb you will go into a bird aviary that will delight you. As soon as have the food your guide gives you in your hand (or atop your head) many beautiful birds will alight on your head, hands, arms, shoulders. Much to the absolute delight of kids and adults. Chickens, peacocks, parrots, parrakeets, so many, so colorful. It can be overwhelming but you will love it unless you're truly squeamish about anything live sitting on your head. Big bonus #2: No crowds, no lines, no vendors at all here!
$10 admission gets you into the falls and aviary. Bonus #3 -- Paul Wiliams our guide. A truly fine gentleman, knowledgeable, great relaxed style, terrific driver, patient, great with families.
Paul can be reached for his service at paul6y5we@yahoo.com. He will quote transportation and admission fees, just tell him where and when you want to go and where to meet you. He will also suggest some attractions and restaurants based on your interests.

One final thought -- Please be kind and tip generously in Jamaica. This country has experienced a lot, economically and politically through the years. The people are friendly, happy, eager to please and very accommodating. If you are accustomed to tipping service personnel, please do so in Jamaica. They are very appreciative and we have never been asked or expected to tip there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“If you want to climb waterfalls this is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our driver (Joe Cool) advised us to visit Turtle River Falls and Gardens. It was a great experience. The first positive thing is that it is not so touristic here. It is authentic and some people might call it "old". We enjoyed every second of our stay. The Gardens are nice and feeding the birds is great fun (esp. for young children). The tour we got was a private tour as there are not much people coming here. Most go to the Dunns Waterfall. There are over 14 waterfalls and we climbed 6 of them with our guide. great fun and great unique pictures. Definitely worthwhile going to this place!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than Dunn's Falls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful Place to visit even 4 days after Hurricane Sandy! They were still cleaning up from. We did go and see Dunns Falls and this is so much better! They were still cleaning up from the storm but they let us in. The waterfalls were breath taking. Our guide Jordan let us climb in the falls and toke pictures of us. He knew a lot of the plants and told us about them. He was even patient enough to wait while I toke lots of pictures of a humming bird! Then we went into the bird aviary. It was as great as I hoped. Jordan kept giving us seed and the birds were all over us! Scotty the Macaw never left us! We toke lots of pictures and Jordan toke a lot of us! If you can only see one thing this is the one! Thanks Jordan you really made or vacation to Jamaica!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is awesome! It is not well known but it is worth the trip. Be prepared to do a lot of walking up stairs in order to view the multiple (7-10) different waterfalls. Your tour guide even allows you to take dips at your leisure in the waterfalls that you can get to. I am so glad I found this place. The tour of the garden ends at the aviary, where friendly birds land on your head and shoulder while picking at your hand for food. This is not dangerous but it does tickle.....I would definately recommend this place and I will definately visit again. Lovely garden.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Town, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Therapeutic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It has approximately fourteen waterfalls, each with its unique magnificence. There is an aviary as well, with some cheerful birds including a proud parrot and they will feed from your hand if you let them. Learn about a a variety of Jamaican plant species.There is also a garden area if you want to picnic or just relax on a bench or in the grass. Oh and there is a nice pool, if you ever get tired of the falls. If you spend a few minutes at the 'right' falls and just allow the water to 'have its way on your back' ... voila you're at the spa. Another good thing is, there is usually few people there so you have some of the falls all to yourself at some point. If you don't wanna get wet, you can walk the path along side them and take photos and just be awed by there awesome feel. What ever you do .... just have fun. You need to take your own food though if you intend to stay all day, cause there is only snacks for sale on site.

You should make sure you tour the entire property and try the falls that aren't labelled or pointed out in the tour. Overall very, very beautiful and peaceful place to spend the day, you won't leave there the same.

Been there this year and last summer and wanna make it an annual event. I love the place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle River Falls and Gardens also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Turtle River Falls and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle River Falls and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.