We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth, very happy with the resort will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asri Jewel Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Asri Jewel Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Asri Jewel Villas & Spa
Jalan Goa Gong, Banjar Santhi Karya | Kuta Selatan, Ungasan, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ungasan
Australia
1 review
“Heaven on Earth, very happy with the resort will stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I travelled with my boyfriend and we stayed at Asri for a week during December. By then the staff got to know us pretty well and were very accommodating.
Asri is beautiful and very unique, offers stunning rooms with privacy to your own little piece of heaven!
We went out a lot during the day and did not find transport a hassle at all, very cheap and quick sometimes we'd walk to the beach and seeing some of the local streets without overcrowding tourists was very rewarding!
As we stayed at Asri jewel for a while we were afraid we'd get sick of the place but we could not wait to return back to our villa as it just felt like home! And the best part was that our room was kept spotless. Just amazing, we cant wait to go back and stay again!
I almost forgot to mention the food there was divine, better than all the restaurants we ate at... so pleased we discovered this place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I must say it this is my first review on here but i do travel a lot and haven't bothered to write a review before but i thought i would share my thoughts on asri jewel villas as i was very impressed

Where to start we stayed in a 2 bedroom villa the accommodation was excellent having your own private pool and outside area complete with outside living/dining area was very nice the bedrooms with very nice marble en suites were also excellent and was kept spotless every day

As for the staff it is a refreshing change to stay somewhere that the staff actually care if you are having a good time and that anything they can help you with anything they will nothing was too much trouble i

We had a early start one day while we stayed there i ask at the reception if anything would be possible for breakfast as we were leaving at 7am (normal breakfast stat time ) and was told that it would not be a problem and that breakfast would be at our own dining table at 6.30am where was the last time you got service like that ? .For me a very long time ago

All the staff were very helpful and friendly and you felt like you were staying in bali and not in one of the big faceless hotels where everything is the same in what ever country you are in (and i have/do stay in plenty )

As for the location that some people have commented on
It is up on to of a hill overlooking the bay and it was a short trip to the local beaches by the complementary shuttle service offered by asri jewel if you want to go further afield then a local taxi or driver will take you for very reasonable rates we hired a new a/c mini van with driver fro the day and it cost less than $40 for 8 hours

So i would say if you want to stay in a very nice and friendly villa in Bali i would highly recommend Asri Jewell Villas and i hope to go bad there some time next year

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with private pool, kitchenette, and living/dining area with open air access to the private courtyard. The villa is lovely and very comfortable--rooms are tastefully decorated with large king size beds and good quality bedding. Large bathrooms attached to each bedroom with separate tubs and showers. The villa was very clean with the exception of mustiness in the kitchen drawers. Breakfast was good quality. At $173/night including breakfast for 5 people (we booked through Bali Villas) I believe the Asri is good value for villa type lodging. And if your main concern is to have very comfortable, clean, pretty, private, quiet accommodation that does not break the bank, then I believe the Asri is a good choice. But there are a couple of things to be aware of:

1. The property is located about a 15min taxi drive from Jimbaran beach, up into the hills surrounding this part of Bali. Their website does not mention this important fact. There was something of a view from the second story of our villa but you could only see it when you were on the balcony. There is nothing within walking distance of the property--no restaurants and shops and you have to take a taxi--at a cost of about $5-$6/each way, each and every time you want to go out to a restaurant or visit the beach. The front desk can call taxis & they arrive within 10-15 minutes.

2. I agree with the previous comment about the staff being inexperienced. With the exception of 2 staff, the rest seemed to have extremely limited English skills and basically no clue about anything related to services or local tourism. Each time we needed this kind of service (information on car rentals, information on local restaurants, bill preparation at the end of our stay, airport transfer booking) we had to wait for the manager to arrive hours later. I found this very strange.

3. These days virtually all lodging of this standard has access to internet. This hotel did in principle but the wifi was down the 5 days that we were there and they were unable to resolve the problem. That said, they did allow my husband to use the office so he could access his email with his laptop.

A note on Jimbaran--it is known for its fresh seafood restaurants that line a long stretch of the beach. The quality of this BBQ style fish is amazing, especially if you pick your own fish which is fresher than the fish pre-prepared for the "packets". The higher end restaurants are at the right (if you are standing on the beach looking at the water) end of the beach; the cheaper but equally good are at the left. Many of the higher end restaurants do hotel pick up and drop off service for free & the Asri can arrange this.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

we stayed in march for two weeks and had a great time the friendly staff and new management made us very welcome and ensured that our holiday was one to remember,the spa is one of the best we have experienced,and the food and service was excellent,it was a very relaxing stay with staff who looked after our every wish.we highly recomend this boutique resort

  • Liked — quiet and relaxing with great service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We rented a 4BR villa for roughly $1000 per night. We were very disappointed with the location; this resort is nearly an hour from the restaurants in Kuta, and 30 minutes from anything else in Nusa Dua. During traffic hours, these times can increase dramatically.

The accommodations are acceptable. The communal pool is quite nice; however, the private pool is nothing more than a wading pool, and there is no view from the resort. Your basic view is the walls surrounding your villa.

The living room is not air conditioned; however, the individual bedrooms are. The bedrooms are quite acceptable, and the bathrooms are quite nice. Very clean. As the living room is open-air, be prepared for a litany of mosquitoes and bugs every evening. Make sure you ask for an extra mosquito coil or two for the evenings.

Though in existence for quite some time, the staff at the Asri Jewel were quite inexperienced. The spa was empty during our entire stay, making us wonder if the staff there had any spa experience at all.

The pool area is mostly unused. The covers stay on the lounge chairs all day. If you are looking for privacy, this would be an acceptable choice; we were there during peak season, and felt that we were virtually the only group there. (There were two other groups of travelers there).

Most of the staff do not speak English and had a tough time understanding our requests. We had a broken light in our entryway, and spent a couple of days trying to explain this before giving up. It took us quite some time to explain that we were looking for additional towels.

Upon our departure, we had several problems. First, the hotel overcharged us. We had to dig out records of our original deposit receipt to explain to them that we were being overcharged. They remedied the problem by simply changing the invoice value upwards (I believe the invoice difference went to our local travel agent). We probably ended up paying 15% more than we agreed, but since we could not communicate effectively with them, we just gave up and agreed to pay the revised invoice. We were extremely frustrated with the staff, as we were in a hurry to catch a flight.

Additionally, once we we agreed to pay the inflated invoice, the credit card machine at the Asri Jewel did not work. The staff asked us to pay in cash (we were talking about nearly $3000 US dollars), and insisted that we accompany them to an ATM machine. We were extremely fed up by that point, so we left them a credit card number and took off.

Overall:
* Extremely inexperienced staff. The staff do their best to accommodate your needs; however, they are generally very poorly trained and managed.
* Remote, distant location. If you are looking to eat anywhere, be prepared to sit in a car for over 30 minutes. It takes 20 minutes just to get down the hill that the villa is located on.
* Clean bedrooms and bathrooms.
* No view.
* "Private Pool" is just a wading area; much smaller than represented on the website.
* No Air-Conditioning in the living room. Living room is open air, so bugs can be a nuisance.

Our group will NOT be staying here again and would NOT recommend the Asri Jewel to fellow travelers. We are very experienced travelers, and found the Asri Jewel to be an extremely poor value for the price.

  • Liked — Communal Pool
  • Disliked — Service / Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asri Jewel Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asri Jewel Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Goa Gong, Banjar Santhi Karya | Kuta Selatan, Ungasan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asri Jewel villas and spa sits on the hillsides above Jimbaran Bay, in Bali, Indonesia. Our luxury villa complex has (4) two bedroom pool villas, (2) single bedroom pool villa, (1) ocean-view condo suite, and (1) four bedroom pool villa. Guests enjoy the combined services of a full hotel with the privacy of a villa. There's a common-pool, landscaped gardens, restaurant, and 24-hr reception.Asri Jewel Villas and Spa is located on the Bukit peninsula of south Bali. Asri Jewel is marketed by BukitVista, a specialist in travel and accommodations. The Bukit area is famed for the most beautiful beaches in Bali. Balangan, Jimbaran, Uluwautu, and Padang-Padang. Surfers seek good waves. Beach lovers will love the silky sands, clear waters and abundant sun. Activity seekers will find golf, watersports, jet skiing, surf, rock climbing, paint-ball, and go-cart racing. Alternatively, those looking to relax will find a vast selection of chill out bars, tapas restaurants, cliff-front dining, low-cost warungs, and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Asri Jewel Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asri Jewel Villas & Spa Bali/Ungasan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asri Jewel Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.