We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food with a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ju.Ma.Na

Ju.Ma.Na
Jl. Melasti, Banjar Kelod, Ungasan, Bali 80364, Indonesia
+62 361 3007000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Ungasan
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: French, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent food with a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

i often have dinner at Ju Ma Na during my stay at the Banyan Tree Ungasan. even invited business partner to have dinner there is also a good idea. They served excellent fine dining menu with a reasonable price. their wine selection is also very good.
I enjoyed the French Michelin star Chef had promotion there recently, the food served during this promotion was extremely excellent.
better make a reservation.in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Paulus K K,
Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na!

Thank you very much for your kind words. “excellent food with a reasonable price”.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your dinner with us. Kindly rest assured that all your feedback will be passed along to our Chefs and Associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na in the future.

With my best regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    22
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Still a little gem but not the best.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited Ju Ma Na several times on our last visit to Bali (2012) and it was just incredible, We were very excited this time to be going back but a bit disappointed.

The food was very good but seemed to be missing a little something, then we discovered the chef has changed. Whilst the food is still very good there was just that little something that was missing...... sorry can't give you more detail you kind of had to be there.

Given there are a lot of new restaurants of this quality on the island now, we found that the wine list was very expensive. The prices haven't changed since last year its just the market has opened up a lot and wine is now become a lot more affordable.

I would recommend that you go for the experience and you will probably wonder what am I talking about in this review but we have been to some incredible restaurants on Bali this trip and I think Ju Ma Na may not be keeping up with the changing times.

Ju Ma Na was well ahead of the game last year but maybe complacency has set in...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear cliffandjo,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant!

Thank you very much for your visit and review.
It will always be a pleasure welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na!

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Services, Nice Cliff View, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nothing to complain for our dinner at Ju.Ma.Na. Everything were good from services to food. Every staff are nice including staff in the lobby, waiter/ waitress who served us and the buggy driver.

We ordered from a-la-carte menu (one starter, one salad and 2 main, one dessert for sharing) with a cocktail and a glass of wine for each of us.

the 70% Valrhona chocolate cake was good~

Spent around USD100 per person. It's a bit pricy but worth.

Remarks
Try to arrive earlier, so you can enjoy the cliff ocean view before sunset.

Our reservation was not confirmed due to problems of the email account. They arranged a table new the window for us but its at a corner with air-con near us. Make your reservation for a better table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear okepuiy,

Thank you so much for choosing Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant as your preferred venue.
We are really glad to hear that you had enjoyed your experience here. Your compliments are invaluable to us as it is recognition for our efforts and an encouragement for us to keep moving forward.
We sincerely look forward to hosting you again.

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Sucked in and ripped off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our last evening in Bali, so we researched to find something really special. Every magazine we picked up during our holiday was boasting the creations of Michelin star chef Christophe Schmitt from Paris visiting the restaurant at Banyan Tree. It was a 30 minute taxi ride from our hotel. On arrival there was a greeting from the GM and a buggy ride to the restaurant. We were very excited as this was looking like it would be an amazing evening of dining. First thing we noticed on arrival at our table was how dirty the napkins were and the single flower on the table was dead .We had chosen the degustation menu with matching wines. The quality of the food was good, but the execution of the food was no where near Michelin Star standard. Cold sorbet on a hot plate, lobster poo tube not removed (yuk), main course plates cleared and dessert delivered immediately, without any cutlery being set. The wine pours were the most unfair part of the evening - less than 100 mls (in my experience, a standard pour accompanying a degustation is between 120 and 150mls) The staff were pleasant enough but had very little food or wine knowledge and there didn't seem to be a host or supervisor present. The visiting Chef did come around in the early part of the evening at which time we voiced our disappointment, especially regarding the entrails still being in tact in one of the dishes - his response was that he didn't actually check that particular dish - there were so many kitchen staff and the restaurant was nowhere near full so that was a very poor response. As for the bill - Don't mind paying top price for amazing food and service but on this occasion we felt sucked in (by all the advertising) and ripped off. Compared to our stunning experiences at the Oak Room, London, Daniel, New York and Vue De Monde Melbourne, the experience at Banyan Tree is one I would rather forget..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JanaLot,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.com.

I have taken note of your invaluable comments. Rest assured that I have shared them with our Executive team for the areas where your feedback highlights the need for improvements and rest assured that all your comments will be dutifully addressed accordingly.

I would like to thank you again for your patronage to Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant. I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit where you will notice a significant improvement.

With my best regards,
Nicolas Belzic
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great view, attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a great night we had, it's a bit out of the way but certainly a hidden gem. Or arrival at Banyan Tree they drive you down to the restaurant in a buggy. Located on a cliff hanging over the beach with great views over the ocean and stars.
Service was great, very knowledgable and attentive. Although our aperitif arrived only when the starter was already served. The pearl mojito was originally presented in 3 different glasses with molecular pearls in them.
Food was of high standard and beautifully presented, bread was warm and fresh with a good selection.
Pricing was pretty decent, very varied with main courses ranging from £15 to £70 pounds. The pigeon was perfectly cooked and the cheese I had for dessert was originally presented.
Only niggle was that the reception for paying with card was very poor and after several tries with different cards it was decided to go to the hotel reception to try an pay there where it went through first time.
Don't miss this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Roy S,
Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na!

Thank you very much for your kind words. “Wonderful food, great view, attentive service”.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your dinner with us. Kindly rest assured that all your feedback will be passed along to our Chefs and Associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na in the future.

With my best regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ju.Ma.Na also viewed

Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Ju.Ma.Na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ju.Ma.Na, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.