We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Services, Nice Cliff View, Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ju.Ma.Na

Ju.Ma.Na
Jl. Melasti, Banjar Kelod, Ungasan, Bali 80364, Indonesia
+62 361 3007000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $150
Cuisines: French, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
HK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Services, Nice Cliff View, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nothing to complain for our dinner at Ju.Ma.Na. Everything were good from services to food. Every staff are nice including staff in the lobby, waiter/ waitress who served us and the buggy driver.

We ordered from a-la-carte menu (one starter, one salad and 2 main, one dessert for sharing) with a cocktail and a glass of wine for each of us.

the 70% Valrhona chocolate cake was good~

Spent around USD100 per person. It's a bit pricy but worth.

Remarks
Try to arrive earlier, so you can enjoy the cliff ocean view before sunset.

Our reservation was not confirmed due to problems of the email account. They arranged a table new the window for us but its at a corner with air-con near us. Make your reservation for a better table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear okepuiy,

Thank you so much for choosing Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant as your preferred venue.
We are really glad to hear that you had enjoyed your experience here. Your compliments are invaluable to us as it is recognition for our efforts and an encouragement for us to keep moving forward.
We sincerely look forward to hosting you again.

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    23
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sucked in and ripped off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our last evening in Bali, so we researched to find something really special. Every magazine we picked up during our holiday was boasting the creations of Michelin star chef Christophe Schmitt from Paris visiting the restaurant at Banyan Tree. It was a 30 minute taxi ride from our hotel. On arrival there was a greeting from the GM and a buggy ride to the restaurant. We were very excited as this was looking like it would be an amazing evening of dining. First thing we noticed on arrival at our table was how dirty the napkins were and the single flower on the table was dead .We had chosen the degustation menu with matching wines. The quality of the food was good, but the execution of the food was no where near Michelin Star standard. Cold sorbet on a hot plate, lobster poo tube not removed (yuk), main course plates cleared and dessert delivered immediately, without any cutlery being set. The wine pours were the most unfair part of the evening - less than 100 mls (in my experience, a standard pour accompanying a degustation is between 120 and 150mls) The staff were pleasant enough but had very little food or wine knowledge and there didn't seem to be a host or supervisor present. The visiting Chef did come around in the early part of the evening at which time we voiced our disappointment, especially regarding the entrails still being in tact in one of the dishes - his response was that he didn't actually check that particular dish - there were so many kitchen staff and the restaurant was nowhere near full so that was a very poor response. As for the bill - Don't mind paying top price for amazing food and service but on this occasion we felt sucked in (by all the advertising) and ripped off. Compared to our stunning experiences at the Oak Room, London, Daniel, New York and Vue De Monde Melbourne, the experience at Banyan Tree is one I would rather forget..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JanaLot,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.com.

I have taken note of your invaluable comments. Rest assured that I have shared them with our Executive team for the areas where your feedback highlights the need for improvements and rest assured that all your comments will be dutifully addressed accordingly.

I would like to thank you again for your patronage to Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant. I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit where you will notice a significant improvement.

With my best regards,
Nicolas Belzic
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great view, attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a great night we had, it's a bit out of the way but certainly a hidden gem. Or arrival at Banyan Tree they drive you down to the restaurant in a buggy. Located on a cliff hanging over the beach with great views over the ocean and stars.
Service was great, very knowledgable and attentive. Although our aperitif arrived only when the starter was already served. The pearl mojito was originally presented in 3 different glasses with molecular pearls in them.
Food was of high standard and beautifully presented, bread was warm and fresh with a good selection.
Pricing was pretty decent, very varied with main courses ranging from £15 to £70 pounds. The pigeon was perfectly cooked and the cheese I had for dessert was originally presented.
Only niggle was that the reception for paying with card was very poor and after several tries with different cards it was decided to go to the hotel reception to try an pay there where it went through first time.
Don't miss this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food and Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Roy S,
Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na!

Thank you very much for your kind words. “Wonderful food, great view, attentive service”.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your dinner with us. Kindly rest assured that all your feedback will be passed along to our Chefs and Associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na in the future.

With my best regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Food and Great service ! Amazing View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I came to jumana at sunset time, I was very surprised when entered the Restaurant it's because of such a best view I've ever seen! Jumana is open for dinner only the hostess escorted me to Jumana Bar while waiting for Dinner time.The waitress recommended Jumana Royal as my cocktail paired with beautiful sunset as same as waitress who served me,, soonest I'l be back!! Best restaurant six star service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear 2929ags,

Thank you so much for choosing Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant as your preferred venue.
We are really glad to hear that you had enjoyed your experience here. Your compliments are invaluable to us as it is recognition for our efforts and an encouragement for us to keep moving forward.
We sincerely look forward to hosting you again.

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here while staying at a near by resort in Uluwatu. The visiting chef was from France and they had a special menu that evening. Overall the experience was very good. The food and service was good, staff were efficient and friendly and the dining room was beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas B, Director of Food & Beverage at Ju.Ma.Na, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Std63nyc,

Greetings from Ju-Ma-Na Restaurant!

Thank you very much for your visit and review.
It will always be a pleasure welcoming you back to Ju-Ma-Na!

With my Best Regards,
Nicolas B.
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ju.Ma.Na also viewed

Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Ju.Ma.Na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ju.Ma.Na, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.