We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finn's Beach Club

Finn's Beach Club
Jl Pantai Selatan Gau, | Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan, Bali 80362, Indonesia
+62 361 8482111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Ungasan
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Finn's Beach Club has become the Number 1 destination when visiting Bali, for all those "in the know". The 180 metres of private white sand beaches accessible by an inclinator that will carry you down the sheer drop of the cliff face whilst taking in the amazing panoramic views across the Indian Ocean. While at Finn's Beach Club enjoy a lazy day in the sun or spend your time using the complimentary watersports equipment for snorkeling, kayaking or try the new stand up paddle boards. When the tide pulls low, rock pools and a crystal clear lagoon are left behind perfect for an underwater view of the tropical life. Open daily from 9am - 11pm.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sanctuary..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Part of the Semara Luxury Villa Resort, this little getaway beach connects all the private beaches of the cliff-side resorts along Uluwatu. After taking the private funicular down, descend a few more steps to Finn's Beach Club where you can get a selection of sea sports equipment to enjoy the crystal clear waters. The restaurant is well appointed, and an attentive team is every ready to make your visit even more pleasant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Finn's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Finns’s Beach Club. We pleased to know that you had a great time at our piece of paradise and enjoyed all the beach activities on offer including kayaks, snorkeling equipment and stand up paddle boards. When the tide is low there are some great rock pools to the right that are particularly good. Our team will really appreciate your comments so Terima Kasih and Sampai Jumpa (see you next time)

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    226
    66
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great beach experience in south Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fantastic beach experience - $25 US entrance fee (credited towards lunch) keeps the crowds away....positioned on beautiful white sand beach reached via funicular rail car which slides up and down steep cliff side ....MUST be psychically fit to navigate 2 short flights of stone steps---- Diego is outstanding restaurant manager who sets the tone for great service in laid back beachfront setting - delicious fish and salads with DJ spinning music...the beach has VERY comfy bean bag chairs and umbrellas ( or the more classic lounge chairs) all combine to make for a GREAT beach day....plus pristine clear blue water, white sand beach (watch out for rip currents). Doesn't get much better than this.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Finn's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Finn’s Beach Club and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have a great team at Finns including Diego and our resident DJ Andre who plays chilled out tunes Sat and Sun afternoons. The entry fee does need to be charged as we have significant costs to operate Finns, the inclinator as a starter plus cost of sunbeds, bean bags, watersports equipment etc etc. However in saying that we do provide the food and beverage credit back to the guest so they still recognize that Finn’s offers a great day for a reasonable price. Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Beach and perfect for relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We visited Finn's Beach Club for the first time in December this year and we were blown away! The location is like a hidden gem about a 30 minute drive away from the main areas of Bali. Finn's is located at Semara Resort and boats the most amazing views when you first arrive! It is $25AUD per person but that gets you access and that amount worth of food and drinks, however you will spend over that amount! Finn's is located down an inclinator and a few flights of stairs, hidden away in this beach cove. The water is so crystal clear and lovely and warm! Our family went for the whole day. There is plenty for the kids to do such as included use of snorkelling, kayaking and stand up paddle boarding equipment to use! The food at the restaurant is lovely and drinks are great! The service is impeccable! Would definitely go to Finn'a again when i'm next in Bali!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Finn's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Annie C,

Thanks for your review on Finns Beach Club and posting some pics from your visit. A picture does really tell 1,000 words particularly when it comes to Finns. It is nice to know as a family you all enjoyed the day as we try to provide something for everyone at Finns. Watersports for the more energetic, massage bale for those who want the ultimate relaxation and plenty of beach toys for the kids. Thanks for your comments re the food, drinks and our service as this is a big focus of ours at Finns. You can have the most fantastic location but if these are not up to standard then guests will not return. Anyway, wishing you and your family a Happy New Year. Please come and stay and play with us again on your next Bali holiday.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Birthday on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A dream, my birthday special at this fantastic spot. The food,exceptional, thought we'd be paying a small fortune but no. (I had to have the lobster). absolutely recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Finn's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Kaza,

what a great way to spend your birthday. A day at Finns and lobster for lunch. We believe given the location, service and food quality our menu is reasonably priced which seems you agree particularly in comparison to Australian prices. We hope you come back again and perhaps treat yourself to booking one of our treetop bales and a massage for your next birthday.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to chiil out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our first time at Finns Beach Club. We decided to visit for the day to chill out and celebrate my birthday away from the hustle and bustle of the environs of Seminyak etc.
We hired a driver for the trip from our villa in Betubelig to Finns Beach Club. This is much better and more leisurely way than getting a taxi for the hour or so drive down south to Uluwatu (and the return trip).
Everything you read on the website about the stunning views, glorious white sands, beautiful turquoise sea set against a towering cliff face, and the friendly staff is absolutely true.
The day at Finns Beach Club was one of the highlights of this trip to Bali.

The 250,000Rp per person entry cost is very reasonable when you consider you can use this to buy food and drinks. The entry cost includes use of a beach towel, sun bed or bean bag with sun umbrella and complimentary use of a kayak, goggles & snorkel and surf board.

From the time we were greeted at reception on the cliff top, the 180 metre or so ride down the inclinator to a very warm and friendly greeting from Sari (one of the hosts) at the Beach Club we knew this was the place to be.

There’s a great menu covering salads with combinations such as green papaya with calamari and glass noodles to choice of pizzas (I had the seafood pizza, which was delicious) and more substantial offerings. Choice of drinks includes juices, cocktails, wines and champagne at a reasonable price (our choice for my birthday).

The water at Finns Beach Club is very clear and much bluer than on the west coast around Seminyak and Betubelig. Watch out in the water as there is a bit of a current/tide running from left to right across the beach at some times of the day.

I was really touched. Sari heard it was my birthday and organised a surprise birthday cake (which must have been baked in the main kitchen at the top of the cliff). Sari and two of her work colleagues surprised me with the cake and a happy birthday song. Thank you, Sari.

When it was time to go we step into the cabin attached to the inclinator and made our way back up the cliff. We were greeted at the top by a very friendly member of staff who greeted us and offered to take photos of us. The picture I have uploaded with this review shows the glorious beach and sea scape below.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemaraManagement, Manager at Finn's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your lovely comments and choosing to spend your birthday at Finns Beach Club. I will certainly pass on your thank you to Sari, she is one of our star staff. Perhaps next year you could stay in one of the suite rooms or villas at Semara Luxury Villas Resort. This would make your day truly memorable !

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Beach Club also viewed

 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Finn's Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn's Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.