We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow" seaview, food okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Di Mare Restaurant

Di Mare Restaurant
Kama Kandara Hotel | Karma Kandara, Ungasan, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8482200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Ungasan
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Organic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Wow" seaview, food okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Perched on a cliff, di Mare has one of the most wonderful views in Bali.
Service was quite slow, food is a mixture of Indonesian and western. Quality was ok but not the best value nor the most remarkable compared to other places in Bali. Still atmosphere is everything in Bali so I'd still strongly recommend it.
There are little monkeys that live by the hill. Great fun to watch. They won't disturb your lunch.
The restaurant has a minimum charge of Rp150,000 per person, although they are not too fussy if you end up slightly short.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Di Mare Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear RnC_hk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at di Mare restaurant. We value your feedback and would like to update that we are already in the process of changing and upgrading menus as well as further refinement to our service processes. The view really is incredible, and the whether or not you will see the monkeys upon your return is up to fate.
We look forward to welcoming you back to di Mare.

Kind Regards,

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Agreed with the rest of the reviewers. The only good thing here is the breath taking view. I find the food there a bit too salty but the staffs were quite attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Di Mare Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear maggielsl,

Thank you for your review of di Mare restaurant. The view is absolutely incredible, and with the recent changes put in place, including a very exciting menu, the complete experience is now in place. We look forward to welcoming you back to di Mare.

Kind Regards,

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

the best thing in here is the scenery. i can enjoy my meal while watching the sun sets in front of me. but i don't think they have great food, the price is too high and the taste is not outstanding as the view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Di Mare Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Miss Nidy

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent visit to di Mare. We are truly blessed to have this amazing view daily which we love to share with our guests and we hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views but unbelievably bad experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our party of 10 walked into Di Mare and were blown away by the views and ambience of the restaurant. Outstanding! That was the end of our special dining experience. We spent 4 hours waiting to be served drinks, starters, main courses and desserts. No dish was served along with others. The food varied from mediocre, undercooked or over cooked? Nothing that represented a great restaurant. When asked why we had to wait for over an hour for our starters or another hour for main courses we were told the restaurant was very busy, they had a new menu and the food was coming. Other tables came after us and were served and the diners left before we ever got to dessert. We asked to speak to the manager and were told he had gone home earlier. The person in charge was one of the people waiting on us. At no time were we apologized to or offered even a drink or discount off the bill. The following day the head chef called and offered apologies. He offered a free dinner, a nights stay or entrance to use their private beach. Nice offers, but not worth making up for an evening spoiled by unbelievably bad service and food that was poorly prepared.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Di Mare Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mickiehaas

I am sorry to hear of your experience at di Mare and I am aware that you had spoken with our Executive Chef the following day who, as you have mentioned, would like to have compensated for your spoiled evening.

Whilst the level of service you received was unacceptable, I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future so that we can regain your trust and that you are able to enjoy the full Karma Experience.

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

the indian food was amazing.the sevice of the staff was brilliant.and the location was breathtaking.the ocean is in front of you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Resorts_Group, General Manager at Di Mare Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Hisham

You joined us at a special time when we welcomed our guest celebrity Chef Kundan from our sister Chakra Resort in India and I agree that his food was amazing and I am glad that you were also able to experience this.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Rochelle Kilgariff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Mare Restaurant also viewed

Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Di Mare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Mare Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.