We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical moments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Kandara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Karma Kandara to your Saves list
Karma Kandara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Secret Offer 55% OFF!
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical moments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Karma Kandara will take your breath away. I spent a week there with my now fiancée (you couldn’t find a more romantic place for an engagement) and it was everything we hoped for and more. The views are spectacular, the villas are exceptional and the delightful hotel staff catered to our every need, leaving us feeling relaxed, pampered and champing at the bit to plan our next holiday to Karma Kandara. The food at di Mare restaurant and Nammos Beach club is of outstanding quality. If it’s a luxurious getaway you’re after, Karma Kandara rivals any of the most exotic and indulgent resort destinations in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing Karma Kandara as your romantic stage for your marriage proposal. And delighted to know that you enjoyed our many offerings. Hope to see you again in the future as husband and wife.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    81
    30
    16
    20
See reviews for
138
136
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Just got back from a one-week trip to Bali with my partner and wanted to share a hidden beach that we found that is well worth adding to your travel wish-list. Our purpose wasn't so much to see and travel around the island, we were more focused on a week of relaxation and we certainly got what we asked for.

Spent a week in one of the villas at the Karma Kandara in Ungasan and most of our days and evenings at the Nammos Beach Club. I can't recommend that place highly enough for the traveler that wants to relax, enjoy great food and service and THAT beach at the very southern tip of Bali; protected by a reef I'd say it would be the perfect spot for snorkelers as well as families with young kids.

It's probably not the best spot for those who're after budget accommodation - but for those who are after the best of the best, but still affordable, you'd be hard pressed to find a better spot than this in the world.

The Nammos Beach Club is accessible via an epic cable car ride and is situated some 75 metres below the cliff face where the villas are. It seems to feature predominantly international DJs (some big names on the featured list too) on the weekends that sets the mood nicely with a soundtrack that sothes rather than keeps you dancing.

According to the program there are also other day and nighttime activities during the high season - while we were there they did a cinema under the stars down on the beach once the sun had set.

Strongly recommend Karma Kandara for its villas and especially for the beach experience.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Nammos Beach Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Our private beach area where Nammos is situated is one of our most valued features that must be experienced and our musical selections are an integral part of this. The soundtracks suit the setting, as does our own Cinema Paradiso under the stars. After an amazing and busy August high season we are continuing the Nammos Beach vibes day and night as we enjoy the amazing weather of late! Thanks for writing.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Imagine making a luxury Balinese bungalow on the cliff top your home for a few days - in an area that feels like Santorini (http://aroundmytable.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/santorini-via-vikitr.jpg). This is one of the few places where the actual experience is even better than the photographs in the brochure.... be insulated from the hot Bali weather uphill - the cooling breeze makes it very comfortable.... hear the rumbling oceans whilst soaking in the infra-red jacuzzi .... unwind in the massage therapy rooms overhanging the cliffs the jacuzzi pool is to die for, lounge around in the villa which feels just like home. The water in the beach is crystal clear (see photos) - I saw fishes swimming between the rocks during low tide. The hotel is well managed and well maintained, great food at Del Mare, excellent service throughout. Buggy service for the elderly helps.

Plusses:

- Low tsunami risk, it is on top of the hill. The place is on bedrock uphill and should be safe from quakes or tsunamis. I didn't feel any of the quakes during the stay there.

- Inclinator (private cable car) down to the beach means you have beach access.

- You can feel totally at home. Which means no screaming kids, $$$ shops, "exotic" paraphernalia made for tourists looking for an "exotic" destination. The kitchen can be used to cook real meals.

- Delicious food, EXCELLENT service.

- Complimentary shuttle service to and from airport. Being greeted by first name on arrival is nice :).

- Complimentary Wi-Fi means you can share the pictures real time on Facebook from your Iphone, or (heaven forbid!) check Blackberry messages from work ....

- Little touches - Nammos beach club had a welcoming drink for guests using the beach.

Things to improve on:

- Nammos beach club can use better food. Raw oysters were small too (can we have Aussie ones?). I had the seafood curry with miniature king prawns (the irony). Sauce was watery, food didn't have the fresh from the sea feel to it. I expected more at the price they were charging and location (on an island we should have fresh seafood??)

- The evening dessert treats were a beautiful touch! It will be nice to wrap that in cling wrap (one night it came without the wrap), and have a covered garbage can in the kitchen. The ants had a great time.

- Extra bath towels - two per occupant?

- The huge tub in the master bathroom is gorgeous! I think an extra touch will be bath salts or bubble baths?

- Organize more activities on rainy days.

- Be informed about countries exempt from "Visa on Arrival" charges. I saw the ASEAN countries there. If the guest had no check in luggage, he/she can get out of the airport in low season within 20 minutes without paying for VOA.

Tips (if I were to do it again):

- Avoid weekends and local public holidays. The beach is open to the public who pay an access fee. On weekdays you pretty much have the beach and restaurant to yourself.

- Share a villa with a few other people who are into relaxation and spas - and can have a good conversation with you. This is a GREAT place for private parties and trips.

- If you are here to relax, max out your time in the resort.

- To max out the value in your resort, use the spa facilities abundantly. The therapists are really good.

- Bring DVDs and books, karaoke DVDs(?). The weather is not that predictable anymore. You need to make allowance for the evenings and the rain.

- Bring a good camera. The place feels like National Geographic.

- Hold private parties(!)

- Bring non skid sandals. The terrain is slightly steep. If you don't want to go by buggy all the time, you need to hike a bit.

- Eat at Del Mare. The food and ambiance is totally worth it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you very much for your enticing descriptions, wonderful suggestions and detailed commentary! They should certainly be of use to our future guests. And we have also taken serious note of your criticism regarding the food at Nammos and are addressing the issues you mentioned. We would like to encourage you to post your 'Karma Experiences' and photos with us on our FaceBook Fan Page.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed at Karma Kendara with my wife and two young children for a 6 days at one of the 3 bedroom villas. The villa was sensational with its infinity pool and lots of ameneties - ie full kitchen, dvd and lots of space. Using the outside shower under the jasmine vine was a real experience, The service and fantastic - attentive and nothing was too much effort. Try and get a villa close to the main restaurant and the elevator down to the Beach Club and dont miss one of the movie nights down on the beach where they set up the lounges for you to watch a movie under the stars. You will need to get the buggy from reception to get back and forth from reception. The hotel is however in a secluded spot so to see any of Bali requires at least 30/40 mins just to get to Kuta (but then once you have stayed at Kendara you dont want to to leave the resort). The only gripe is that the hotel charges almost a 100% surchage to arrange a car to get you anywhere else in Bali. I understand a small surchage to make the call to arrange a driver but 100% is outrageous. The other gripe is that the final part of the road to the hotel is unpaved and full of potholes which makes it not a very comfortable journey. Overall this hotel though is sensational.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Our 3 bedroom villas are definitely the recipe for stress relief with the family and glad to hear you had an overall enjoyable experience with us! Unfortunately, Karma Kandara’s exotic locale is situated amongst a natural and rural area of Bali with some sections of in disrepair from the weather. We maintain the paths within our property and are in negotiations with neighboring areas to hopefully repair the outlying roads soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

From the uber fashionable Ae'lkemi Fashion Week Cocktail Party and Show, to the stunning views from Di Mare and the beautiful villas with my own private pool!!!!..... Karma Kandara is one of the most beautiful places to stay at in Bali....... the food at Di Mare is simply delectable!!! and Nammos the private beach club is just the place to relax and take in some of the most beautiful sunsets on the island....... not to mention the cocktails
Definitely one of my most memorable weekends in Bali.......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
We appreciate your comments and are elated to hear that you had a memorable time with us. Hope to see you on our shores again soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The most relaxing, high-pamper-factor holiday. Staff to be commended for attention, charm and courtesy. Beautiful architecture in a breathtaking location. Everything designed to please. Can't better this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thanks for the kind words and hope you can stay with us again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed in Villa 3, It was a 3 bedroom villa next to the restaurant Di Mare.
It had some of the best views of all the 3 bedroom villas as it was one of the highest.
Not the best hotel for oldies as its not that easy to get around (steep hillside location)
Di Mare restaurant was brilliant and I rate it in my top 5 restaurants in Bali.
If you like beach clubs Nammos beach is honestly one of the best i have been to, Great food, great drinks, just amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Kandara, General Manager at Karma Kandara, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Cheers for the feedback and happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at both Nammos and Di Mare! We certainly strive to excel in all aspects of our resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Karma Resorts Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
0.2 mi away
Semara Luxury Villa Resort
1.1 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 12 in Pecatu
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
4.3 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#9 of 43 in Jimbaran
4.5 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kandara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kandara

Address: Jalan Villa Kandara, Banjar Wijaya Kusuma, Ungasan, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ungasan
#3 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Karma Kandara 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Kandara 5 Star resort villas epitomize Bali's exclusive private pool villa experience. Globally renowned as the place to be on 'Billionaire's Row', Luxury Karma Kandara Resort is an ideal destination for friends, family and incentive group gatherings. Discover captivating views, world-class dining and Karma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karma Kandara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kandara Hotel Ungasan
Karma Kandara Hotel Denpasar
Karma Kandara Denpasar
Karma Kandara Bali/Ungasan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Kandara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.