We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites to your Saves list
The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Talisay, Sta Fe, Philippines (Formerly The Bamboo Oriental)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise at last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After many disappointing stays in the Philippines this was amazing, this place is idiotic and the villas are sublime. The views are excellent and the sea is tranquil. The local village is safe and friendly and all are welcoming. I will be back soon for sure! A superb oasis away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place has nice, spacious beach villas with great views but unfortunately we felt disappointed with what the rest of the "resort" offers or doesn't offer. Maintenance is needed in some areas but I don't think it is a high priority for anyone there. Water pressure in the shower was very weak and to get a very limited amount of hot water you would have to run the shower for about 20 minutes. The staff actually questioned us if we have hot water. I really think they are not so sure if it works and probably don't really care either. I didn't mind so much that we were not bothered by the staff so we could just find someone if we needed something which we rarely did because we were probably better off seeking help outside of the resort. The staff seemed more interested in doing their own things and spending time with family and friends on the premises which should not be permitted in my opinion. We were also told that they do not have a chef so we didn't even attempt to ask for any dining options there and nor did we see any offerings. When we arrived I was offered a welcome drink but my fiancee was not. Just one disappointment after the other... At least now we know well where not to stay on the beautiful island of Bantayan.

Room Tip: Beach Villas are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent a wonderful time at the Coral Blue Oriental Suite at the end of May. When arriving, a representative of the hotel greeted us at the harbour and brought us straight to the hotel. We were greeted friendly by the whole staff and we got delicious Mango shakes as welcome drinks.
Our beach Suite was well maintained and completely built out of bamboo. Even the bed and the table are made out of bamboo. The whole Beach Suite is airconditioned and luxurious.
Especially in the evening, the atmosphere is really romantic. So it was perfect for us.

Breakfast is served a la carte. One can choose both international and filipino breakfast.
I coosed the international breakfast while my girlfriend choosed the filipino brealfast as she is a Filipina. Both breakfasts were nice.
We also tried the dinner at the hotel. The food is freshly made and may take some time to cook, but it´s in any case worth to wait for it because it was delicious.
The staff even decorated the table for us, so we had a romantic dinner in front of our beach suite. Arlene and her team were always extremely helpful and friendly during our whole stay.

On Bantayan you should visit Bantayan city with its old church and its market.
People on Bantayan are relaxed and friendly, so don´t hesitate to talk to these nice and open minded people. Next to the hotel you will find Tristan´s bar and restaurant. You should also visit that lovely place with its nice food.

Finally, I highly recommend that wondeful hotel.
It is not only the location and all the lovely bamboo, which makes the hotel unique... it is also the amazing stuff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

we arrived at the Coral Blue at around 9am in the morning and were greeted by Arlene and her team. while waiting for our rooms to be ready, we were served our welcome drinks (mango shake was awesome, and san miguel lights for the rest). the staff were polite and Arlene was a fine lady, chatting with us and trying her best to answer our questions too.

there were 6 of us, so 2 of us shared a beach suite while the other 4 shared a 2 bedroom villa with living room. the beach suite was nicely facing the beach and had a more spacious bathroom. it was also cooler as it was enclosed. the villa we had was directly above the check-in lobby and also faced the beach.. each suite and villa had a balcony with sun chairs and a dining table for you to have your breakfast in the morning if you pleased. the rooms were less cooling as compared to the beach suites as the ceiling of the villa was an open concept thus the cool air was not enclosed in the room. there was an in-room mini bar, hair dryer and safe, and the drinks were reasonably priced. we had the massage there twice, once out on the sun-bathing area's massage hut facing the sea, and the other time in our room. it was php450 each time. on one of the nights we had the dinner seafood buffet in the hotel at php395 each, which featured scallops, bbq pork chops, chili crabs, calamari, etc. the toilet lights were a little dim, and we didn't get any hot water from the showers while we were there. on both nights there were brown-outs, but i think its quite a common things on the island!

Arlene and her staff were most helpful and very hospitable, friendly, and would do anything they could to try to make your stay a memorable and comfortable experience. as a person who is very particular about service, i have to say Arlene and her team won me over with their hospitality during our stay. if we have a chance to travel again to the Philippines, we would most definitely come back to Coral Blue Oriental and spend a longer time there. Bantayan Island is exceptionally beautiful and to be hosted by Arlene would be perfect.

I would most definitely recommend this to anyone looking to visit Bantayan!

Additional Info:
- at the entrance of the hotel there was a small convenience store owned by the lady living in the hut next to it. do not hesitate to knock on her door or call out to her if you require something, she's lovely too.
- do walk out and venture to Santa Fe town and try some of the restaurants there. we had the best pork sisig throughout our 9-day stay in Philippines at Bantayan Island.
- there is a guy who goes round selling Balut on a bicycle with a basket in front. he only goes around late at night, perhaps some time after 10pm? and he will call out "Balut! Balut!" (not for the faint-hearted)
- we walked along the beach and found a guy who arranged our trip to Virgin Island for us. the boat rental along with the boatman and guide (Jhun) was php800, island fee for 6pax was php600 (we were told its php500 for a group of 5, and php150 for every additional person. Do tell the guide/boatman what you would like to eat there, they would be happy to go to the market to buy you fresh poultry & seafood, and upon reach Virgin island, while you're snorkelling, they would bbq grill your food at the cottages there (with all the other guides belonging to other travellers), and it'll be ready just in time for you to eat after your snorkel)

Room Tip: beach suites have a gorgeous sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was a great hotel - we were staying there for 4 nights at the end of March. Arlene was amazing. The location is stunning. Everything was clean and spotless.

I have some shots of the hotel in my video on the Philippines (we went to CEbu City, Bantayan and Bohol) - you can find the video on youtube here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0DifpS-sRA

I also have some other costs posted re the trip (like hotel costs, airfare, etc.) on my blog at www.hellobonjour.ca

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed in the villa for four nights on March 26. We had an amazing time. The place was beautiful, staff are amazing (Arlene in particular really made the place amazing) and the location was perfect.

Bantayan itself is a super laid back, relaxed island - with stunning beaches, that are for the most part, deserted. It's about a 20 peso ride from the ferry on the bicycles. The villa was beautiful - CLEAN (which is what I was most concerned about) and with a beautiful view of teh beach and the water. We had breakfast served to us every morning on our patio - paradise! There are a lot of locals nearby which again, give the place a real sense of authenticity - not that you are in some sort of resort in a chain of hotels on a developed beach. If that's what you are looking for, this is not the place for you. In the evenings, locals all come out to play in the water, have water fights, look for fish and crabs...yes, school children go back and forth on the property - and we loved it, they were all friendly and sweet and trying to practice their english. Some people like this and some people don't (like mapglobal2's review below) - we LOVED it...

The beach in front is lovely as well as walking up a ibit towards sugar beach - there is an area that is stunning and totally deserted. We also spent a day on a boat tour to Virgin islands (arranged by Arlene) which was lovely. There is a great neighbourhood store around the corner from the hotel (try the woman's mango shakes!) and som great restaurants right there for dinner at night.

Oh also - the hotel has two bikes..and you can rent others just outside - spend the day biking around the island - bikign through villages, you get to see how locals live...people are so friendly and the landscape is beautiful.

We really had an amazing time at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone...I would definitely come back again!!!

Room Tip: I liked stayin gin the villa - but the beach suites would be nice too - closer to the water, I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is now called Coral Blue Villas and had a change of management as of this year. I am hats off to the service that Arlene, manager and her crew gave us during our three day stay. From the time we got there, we felt at home and taken cared of. The room was spacious and the bamboo design, free bottle of wine, LCD TV, room safe,and oversized comfortable bed made it much more delightful. We always had breakfast at our balcony overlooking the ocean. We got addicted to their home made bacon! My partner wanted to rent a bike so we can see St. Peter and Paul church in town. They only had bikes with baskets and I wanted a mountain bike. The afternoon we were to go biking, there was indeed a mountain bike ready for me. Everything we needed was provided for, snorkeling gear, boat for island hopping, massage. The prices were not as expensive as I was expecting it would be. The room rates were a little bit more expensive than ordinary but with the amenities it came with, the price was worth it. And Arlene says they always have promotions online so the rates could go less. I loved the experience in Coral Blue. The place is highly recommended for couples or a relaxing solo vacation.

Room Tip: choose the right most villas ( facing the resort ). These are the quiet ones. The left side ones are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites

Address: Talisay, Sta Fe, Philippines (Formerly The Bamboo Oriental)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coral Blue Oriental Beach Villas & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.