We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar

Save Saved
You added Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Fe, Bantayan island | Cebu, 6047, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Skien, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here last week.

First I want to mention the minor issues I had with this place.
.

My room really needed a des infecton before I got there. cause of bugs.
A big trashcan just outside my balcony, where the staff throw garbage, offcourse that attract flies and bugs. Move that trashcan..

Guests from other resort used Beach Placids sun beds, I saw 2 times Beach Placids guests looking for sunbeds, but no one was available cause of other resorts guests.
The Security should taken care of that.
Ashtrays should be on the tables at the Beach for those who smoke.

The Duplex room was big, had 2 big beds, and a Kitchen with everything you needed.
A quite large balcony with direct acces to the lovely Beach.

The restaurant had it all, The best service I`ve seen during my retaurant visit`s in Asia.
The staff always smiled and laughed.. Great.
The Food was great, didnt took long as some other mention here.
I also saw the sheets in the restaurant roof were colored from a leak, but they removed the shets while we was there.
Very Close to the Ferry, so the location is Perfect.

I have no doubt reccomending this resort to other Travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. All of your suggestions were noted and changes were made today! We work hard to make our customers happy and satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    41
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
44
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have no complaints about the service it was great and the food at the restaurant is good as well. It took a while and we had to wait a while before food was served but we also experienced that in other restaurant in bantayan so i guess thats the norm there. We stayed at a non beach front cottage near the reception area. The linen on the bed we slept with was very thin, I guess we could request for this to be replaced and they would have replaced it but i hope they wont use that type of linen anymore. There were bed bugs on our bed and I had a severe allergic reaction to it that i had to cut my vacation short together with my friend and go to cebu doctors hospital. Plus point is that they were nice and offered to take me to the hospital there, but I just decided to go back to cebu. The aircon on the room is placed at an awkward location that its dripping on the bathroom so the bathroom floor is always wet. The state of the bathroom is scary as well. I have stayed at budget resort and even on a more remote areas and they're in much better shape than the room we stayed in. I hope this is just an isolated case and that they make sure that all their bed mattresses are free of bed bugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your review and I'm sorry for your inconvenience. If it were true that you got bitten by a bed bug you could have said something to the front desk or manager. We had no prior reports of bed bugs in any room. You could have been bitten somewhere else outside while swimming or going somewhere else in the island. We are on an island.. We need specific proof that it came from the room. We've had thousands of guests who stayed in this room with no bug bites. Also if this was true you could have asked to be transferred to another room since the room was not to your satisfaction. We could have easily transferred you. Also, if you were such in bad condition , Why didn't you go to the local hospital here? why wait until you checked out and go to a hospital
In cebu which is about 6-7 hours away? if you're allergic to any island insects or creatures, i suggest staying in the city for vacation. island life is not for you:(. The linens we put on the beds are thin because it is so hot in the island like 95-100 plus degrees. Why should we put thick blankets? If you asked for more blankets or thicker ones we could have provided them to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have visited Beach Placid 4 times in the past year. It is where we go when we want to get out of the city and enjoy some sun. The rooms are adequate for the price. They are always very accommodating with our four kids and provides an extra mattress - the rooms are a good size so we still have plenty of room. The staff are our favorite part -and they are always there with a smile and a gathering to say goodbye when we leave. We normally stay two nights and enjoy all of our dinners at the restaurant. They have karaoke at the bar/restaurant that keeps us entertained. They offer free transport to and from port but the distance is walkable too! Easy access to the port. They are also good to help you find food at the market, coolers and ice to take on the boat when you head to the Virgin Island - the beach at Beach Placid is also wonderful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you made beach placid your favorite place for relaxing. We hope to see you again soon. Let us know always what we can do to make your stay always a happy memory for your family:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed 2 days here. The first thing i noticed, as we were paying for our room were the dirty roof drapes in the open air restaurant. They were filthy.

We were walk-in guests, the last room available that day was the Beachfront Triplex room (I forgot the nr., but it was the room nearest to the other resort or what looked like an empty lot. Check out the picture of their Beachfront Triplex rooms, our room was the one where the models were). It was not worth our money!!! The aircon robbed us of sleep. (I hope they got it fixed already, because it was really loud). The next day i asked the nice lady at the reception and requested for another room. Thank God they they tranferred us to one of their non-beach front native cottages.

They serve good food. We found the grilled squid very delicious.

Their beach was lovely.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here avoid the Beachfront Triplex Rooms (they're old)... Choose their Cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience . There was a leak in the roof of the restaurant and due to the rain it leaked and the drapes got dirty. It has been washed and cleaned recently and the leaked fixed. The air conditioner to one of the beachfront rooms you mentioned has now been replaced with a new Airconditioning . Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our group went there last Mach 27 and stayed until April 2. Well, the place is simple but nice. Staffs are accommodating, Grace welcomed the group. The beach front room given to us is simple , yes so basic with a small refrigerator and A/C. ( rooms 9 and 10 ). Anyway, went there for a rest so we don't really need extravagant rooms, Sweet smiles from the staff is so heart warming, I noticed that the staffs do all around services. Male staffs can be seen cleaning the beach, then you can see them attend to show the rooms to in coming guest, during breakfast, lunch and dinner you can find them serving the foods on your table. You can always ask for fresh towels from the laundry staff. The chef made us dishes that we requested. We went to Bantanyan market with ease since the owner allowed use of multicab with her trusted driver.

In general, Beach Placid have a multitasking staff.

I really appreciate Joan the owner for being guest oriented because she always find a way to provide whatever request her guest ask from her ( if she can't provide she always offer an alternative ).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. I am glad you were satisfied with our customer service ! We always try our very best to satisfy your needs! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan City, Philippines
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this resort a little more than a month before coming & I was a little apprehensive because of some not so good reviews I've read. But my family & I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the port of Sta Fe to find them waiting to pick us up with no extra charge. Checking in was a breeze & we were immediately escorted to our beachfront room. Its size was good enough with 2 double beds which accommodate 4 persons as expected. There was an aircon, a TV, a walk-in closet & a bathroom with towels & bath soap but no shampoo. There's also a ref & a furnished kitchen complete with utensils if you want to do your own cooking. A balcony with wooden table & benches were an additional unexpected feature. A hammock also hung between 2 coconut trees just in front of our room which was great! The white sand beach was awesome & the sea had really crystal-clear waters inviting everyone to take a dip..It's shallow near the beach(good if you're with little children) but if you walk some distance, it gradually becomes deeper, enough for those who really like to have a good swim. Al though there's no telephone & the wifi connection was bad, our cellphones' service had strong signal so we were still able to have fast internet through 3G! We had all our meals in the restaurant & they were really delicious especially the pasta. We just have some problem with the flies during daytime because it was an open restaurant..The resort also arranged island hopping for us going to the Virgin Island for some snorkeling & to Ilantagaan Island. The boat cost us P1,000 & the snorkel was P75/pc. The only negative side was the exorbitant entrance fee in the Virgin Island at P500 for the first 2 pax & P100/pax for more than 2 + you have to pay additional P150-300 for the cottage. When asked, it was because Virgin Island had another private owner! Over-all, it was a fantastic beach getaway if going on a road trip for > 3 hrs from Cebu City + 1 1/2 hr boat ride from Hagnaya to Sta Fe will not daunt you, then this is for you!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay . To all viewers , don't always believe a few negative comments compared to lots of good reviews! At beach placid, Wealways do out best to make our customers happy and satisfied with our service! Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

... we didn't have prior reservations made so we initially chose resorts that were near the sta. fe wharf ... the first resort gave us the cold shoulder, probably because we went inside the premises riding a "trisikad" ... so, off we went to the resort beside it ... Beach Placid ... Ms. Grace Batindaan welcomed us and made sure we were comfortable ... we were surprisingly given a beachfront room ... awesome, right? ... that's not all ... the food ordered and served were really delicious ... my family really do have simple needs when we go on a vacation ... four factors actually ... 1) a really good A/C unit, 2) a working shower 3) really good food and 4) hospitable staff ... i'd like to make mention the bartenders, the food servers who were really attentive to our needs ... thank you so much .. and i believe it also helps when we treat the people running the resort with respect ... from the manager down to housekeeping ... and i always go for first name basis ... :)

... However simple Beach Placid is, they sure made it up with the earlier mentioned factors ...
and the location? Perfect ... suits us just fine ... :)

... and i got photos taken by my husband to prove it .. Thank you, Beach Placid! ...

Room Tip: ... beachfront room ... perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giging, Owner at Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words of praise. At beach placid, we always treat people with respect. And I'm so glad that someone recognized us for that! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar

Address: Santa Fe, Bantayan island | Cebu, 6047, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best and longest stretch of beach in the area, Beach Placid is happy to host guests throughout the year. Beach Placid is a recepient of Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award for 3 year's in a row. We also won the "best beach" award in Bantayan Island in 2011. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and satisfaction. We have various types of cottages to cater to different needs and walks of life. At beach placid you enter as strangers and leave as family. Beach Placid also accommodates special requests and events. So what are you waiting for? Come join our family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant And Bar Hotel Bantayan Island
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant And Bar Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.