We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare at Kota Beach” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kota Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kota Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kota Beach Resort
Sante Fe, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Cebu
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare at Kota Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were looking forward to a weekend at Bantayan. The kids counted the days like they were counting stars. Everything was planned, from the swim wear to the food joints to the mojitos and margaritas. We prepared so much for this long overdue vacation. But little did we know that only Kota Beach would rob us of the joy and excitement that we so rightly deserve.

The receptionist is as cold as ice. Her demeanor adds up to the scorching heat inside the reception area. Kota Beach needs to do job movement. For God' sake, find a receptionist who knows the job. We stayed at the Amihan room. If not for the sight of the not-so-powdery white sand and the beach, one would think we were in a ward of a public hospital. The knob of the bathroom door is broken. By modern standards, bathrooms should have a soap holder. Not sure with the other rooms but ours didn't have one so we were in a dilemma where to put our soap and shampoo. Even if we found a slim stand, it would still be useless. Nothing else fits in the bathroom except the pail and the bather. But my brother-in-law had to transfer to a pension house because he wouldn't fit in.

The restaurant menu shows a wide array of food choices. But less than half of them was available. Save for the spectacular view of the sunrise and the nice beachfront, Kota Beach is very disappointing. The staff and the kind of service that they have make our stay at Kota Beach a nightmare. It is one of the nightmares that I will never forget. When I go back to Bantayan, I will never set foot on Kota Beach. But I will always remember its staff who made me realize the importance and value of customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose Kota Beach because the owner is a friend of my cousin yet our stay is unimaginable. We got an unfriendly & non service oriented customer service. The receptionist is rude. They even wont extend extra mileage by even allowing us to store our marketed products. They charged BIG time.

The rooms we got was like a ward room of a public hospital. Its their AMIHAN rooms. The aircon sucks, the CR would remind you of a horror movie--- door handle broken, bathroom lights flickered on & off, and whats worst, my cousin couldn't fit (literally) inside the cubicle. They didn't provide towels & basic toiletries (soap, shampoo).

The beachfront rooms are ok but that would compensate the view you can get from the balcony.

The penthouse room got a funtastic view but the aircon sucks. It couldn't compensate the heat.

The restaurant has a nice view but the food choices is limited & the service is snail-paced.

Their amenities like billiard is not free & charges guests P15/game.

The only positive feedback i could give is the panoramic view and the beach scene.

I would definitely be back in Bantayan but I wont ever GO BACK to this resort ever again! This is a THUMBS DOWN for us!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at Kota Beach almost a year ago with 3 of my friends when we were in Bantayan Island. What we loved about this resort is the beachfront. There are other resorts around the area, and we also tried to explore them (their surroundings at least) during our stay. Most of them, if not all, probably offer even better accommodation options than Kota Beach, but Kota has the better beachfront in that area. I loved the view during sunrise and sunset! It's really peaceful and serene. We woke up a little earlier in the morning and stayed a little bit more outside before twilight because it was what we originally wanted to see before we booked a room here.

Although it's more expensive, we stayed at one of the cottages fronting the beach so that we could take advantage of the view. Aside from that, there was nothing special about it. It was average to say the least. The cottage is actually a mid-sized room with a bathroom plus a small porch outside where you can chill and spend lazy afternoons reading a book or drinking coffee if it's your kind of thing. Aside from the beachfront, the free round-trip port transfers pretty much sealed the deal. The port is not too far however, so you may take a tricycle or "potpot" for example. Most of the beach resorts here offer free airport transfers by the way, so you have a lot of options. In Kota, there are also other accommodation types aside from the cottages, so you can choose the type that would fit your needs and budget.

At that time, I'm not sure if they already offered free Wi-Fi, but they did offer the basic amenities like towels and toiletries. The hotel also has a restaurant near the lobby. The prices are reasonable and the food palatable, but there are a few restaurants and bars outside the resort (within walking distance) where you can dine. They offer more options, and you'll be able to see a lot of tourists in that area also. The resort has bikes for rent for those who would like to explore the place more. It was in my bucket list, but we weren't able to do that because we chose to go island hopping and snorkeling for the most part. Nevertheless, there's a lot to see. Although small, the island is beautiful. I would like to go back some time in the future. :)

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront cottages for a fantastic view during sunrise and sunset :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice beachfront resort. Beach beds are provided. Shore is actually clean and quiet. Sand is not as fine as I expected but good enough.

Bar: Just by the beach, nice and clean with billiards table provided and free wifi. Relaxing and good too.

Restaurant. Average. Food is okay, but a few to choose from. There are many restaurants outside just walking distance away from the resort so If you ever got tired of ordering the same food, you can actually just go out.

Rooms: Outdated. If you are a simple traveler, I think, this won't be a big deal. Rooms are clean enough but with dim lights with super old windows. Towels, soap and bathroom tissues are the basic toiletries provided. No hot water in the shower.

For the price of this resort, I think you're getting more than what you paid for as it is actually cheap. So if you're on a budget, a simple traveler who wants a peaceful environment where you can relax, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Me, my Husband and some of our friends stayed here for 4 days last Nov. 23-25 2012 on their Deluxe Cottages...Some says rooms are ordinary yes I agree to that, but the cottages facing the beach is money worth yes again they are not like those resort that gives full luxury but what we feel here is relax which is more important when in vacation.. we never regret chosing KOTA BEACH Resort because first, its away from the Sta. Fe port which may possible that Ferries can oil spill around, 2nd the waves here in the side of KOTA Beach are not big compare the beaches along sta. fe port theres a lot of seaweeds and smalls boats....3rd restaurants are near KOTA Beach...trust me we bike around sta fe and those resorts like container van rooms are just plain resort not beachfront alluring....lastly 4th, around Kota beach it gives you both the view of sunrise and sunset...the other side it will just give you the sunrise view!!! m

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malabon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A beachfront resort. We stayed in a nipa-hut room which looks so nice outside but inside, so ordinary. Bathroom doorknob was broken. Airconditioner is fine.

Their food is just okay. The staff is not that friendly and they would not even smile. I would definitely try other resorts when we go back to Cebu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Room we got was the Amihan. It is a very basic room but very big. It had 2 Queen Sized Beds with a Mattress which felt like it has not been changed for years. The area surrounding the room lacked maintenance. The resort looked like it had seen better days.

The beach front though is a plus, their food here is cheap and delicious.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kota Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kota Beach Resort

Address: Sante Fe, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bantayan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kota Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kota Beach Hotel Bantayan Island
Kota Beach Resort Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kota Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.