We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorns Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Acorns Guest House to your Saves list
Acorns Guest House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Old Farm Downside Road, Backwell BS48 3DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Backwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Perfect if you have an early flight!! Well appointed rooms, very prompt transfer service and even offer a free drop off and collection if you wish to go to one of the local pubs for dinner. Nothing negative to say about this place, would return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    46
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
101
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted a place to stay for the night before an early flight from Bristol Airport that also offered car parking with a reliable transfer service and boy did we find it! We had a superb room to stay in complete with en-suite. It was furnished to a very high standard and very comfortable. Agreed food isn't available here but there are a couple of pubs within easy striking distance where you can get something to eat. There was however an ample amount of tea and coffee available in the room and the quick breakfast pack that was provided was just about right for the really early start. Our transport to the Airport, (it really is just about 4 minutes away if that), was bang on time at 04.00. On our return, when we had got our luggage, I called the number given and by the time we had walked the short distance to the express pick up point our transport had arrived to take us back to our car. All in all an excellent service that we will use again and have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night in july - clean and tidy - well organised transfer service to and from the airport - hardly any waiting.Ideal if you have an early flight - planes noise.was minimal.I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked for one night en route from the South West to Legoland Windsor.

Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. Was greeted on arrival and shown to an extremely spacious room with what appeared to be a king size bed, huge flat screen tv and a separate twin room again with flat screen tv and interconnecting en suite.


Loads off tea and coffee (plus biscuits).

Car park was busy but it is primarily an airport drop and fly so it didn't bother us.

We were given a key fob so although the room was behind electric gates we could come and go as we please.


Breakfast was already bagged up and in our room. A brioche, apple,cereal bar and carton of juice. More than we usually eat at home but as described so no surprises.


If I had to say anything negative about this place then it would be the signage. We missed the place first time and even though we then had our bearings the signage on the way in isn't highly visible until you are right upon it (apologies to the cars behind us when my husband floored the brakes).


Secondly, the floorboards in the room above us were very creaky! Other than that - all good. Would definitely book again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Staff came out to great us and showed us where to park. Room was beautiful and decorated to a high standard. It was clean and very welcoming. When we booked we were told no breakfast was included but there was ample amounts of tea and coffee and a bag of goodies was waiting for us for the next day (fresh fruit, orange juice, crossiant and a cereal bar). Would recommend to anyone. Very close to the airport but hardly any noise at all. We had a very lovely stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here one night before flying from Bristol Airport the next morning.
It is very close to the airport and there is a free minibus service for the transfer to the airport.
The room was comfortable, very quiet and spacious.
Recommended if you have to take a flight in the nearby airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset/Dorset border, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not your usual B&B, although I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived through the gates of the farm; although the forecourt was cluttered with cars I was immediately greeted and told where to park, then shown to my room where transport was discussed to the airport. It was evident it was new as everything was pristine and wonderfully clean.

The wifi was easy to connect to; tea and coffee facilities were in the room with a breakfast on the side consisting of orange juice carton, cereal bar , brioche and banana.

In the new build where I was situated, the rooms all had their own door and lock so you depart, leave your keys in the door and go.

The transfer was very short and on time and so close to the airport!

Just ensure that you take cash to pay, also be aware that there is no facility to buy anything on site, although advice will be given on where to go. There is a manned reception where the staff were very pleasant.

For me, this made my silly-0-clock departure so easy. Transfers, location, parking and organised. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Address: Old Farm Downside Road, Backwell BS48 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Backwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Backwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorns Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Acorns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.