We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, terrible, terrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cadbury Chocolate Factory

Cadbury Chocolate Factory
Claremont, Claremont, Glenorchy, Tasmania, Australia
800-627 367
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 3 attractions in Claremont
Type: Factory Tours, Specialty Shops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Taste your favorites at the largest confectionery manufacturing plant in Australia.
1 review
“Terrible, terrible, terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A waste of time to a dated looking factory with no factory tour . Just a run of the mill presentation followed by a visit to the shop. Why did Cadbury even bother to open the place to visitors, I wonder...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    55
    44
    82
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

On recent visit to Tasmania with overseas visitors we visited the Cadburys tourist attraction, While waiting for the tour we watched a video of the making of chocolate. We joined the tour expecting to see how chocolate was made, all we saw was the same video then shown into the shop where prices were retail, we then had a hot chocolate {reputed to be the best} again very disappointing far to sweet. Having visited the Dunedin factory several years ago which we enjoyed very much, the Hobart factory could do a lot better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Expecting to have a guided tour of the factory all you got was a complimentary bag with a block of chocolate and information on entering ( which you paid for to enter) and a sit in a classroom where someone talked about how it is made. On finishing the 15 minute talk the exit was out through Cadbury's shop. Not worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“All talk, no tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

For a $7.50 entry fee, we got a block of chocolate and a 30 minute video/talk. While the presenter was pleasant and knowledgeable, the strict timetable allowed only one question from the group. We knew that were not going to be touring through the facility, but we were disappointed that we couldn't even see it through viewing windows. Cadbury staff should visit the Hershey factory in the US to see what a real tour should be. It was an expensive block of chocolate. Don't bother.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go to Cadbury's at the beginning of your trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely community vibe amongst the staff. Cheap chocolate to stock up on for the rest of your trip. If you have kids there's a great playground with resident ducks about 1km before you get there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cadbury Chocolate Factory also viewed

 

Been to Cadbury Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadbury Chocolate Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cadbury Chocolate Factory to your Saves list