We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
17 Place Neuve | 06320, La Turbie, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in La Turbie
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A great little restaurant on the terrace in La Turbie above Monaco.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Parked in the public parking that is right next to the "La Terrasse" restaurant. As we were walking by we noticed that they had a special of the day. So we decided to stop in. Ask to sit in the back of the restaurant outside because the view there is fantastic. The menu price is in very reasonable and the food was fantastic. Jacques who is the owner speaks several languages and takes great pride to lend you his "satellite phone" at no cost to you so that you can call back to the USA to wake your loved ones to say hello.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    43
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I and another couple had gone to La Terrasse for lunch only to be told that the restaurant was expecting a tour busload of hungry travelers at any minute and there was, regretfully, no room in the restaurant for us. The owner, Jacques, was extremely sorry that he couldn't accomodate us but he told us this as nicely as possible. I chatted with him on the way out the door and he asked where we came from. I told him that we lived in Seattle and he said that he liked that area of the US very much. As I turned to leave, he said, "Wait a minute, I will make room for you." And he did. We were seated just as the resaurant was filling up with travelers from the tour bus. Despite now having a table, we were concerned that our service would be eclipsed by the larger group. That thought couldn't have been further from the truth as we were served our wine and food promptly and well in advance of the large group.

Jacques' wife, Helen, served us and took the time to welcome us and tell us a little about the story of how she and Jacques met and wound up in La Turbie, all this despite the fact that the resaurant was packed. The food was remarkable, the service spectacular and Helen and Jacques made us feel very welcome indeed...true French hospitality.

We will definitely return to La Terrasse again. Thanks to Jacques and Helen for making the lunch memorable!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific!! We had wonderful meal in a wonderful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stumbled across the great spot after a day in Monaco. Our table had a beautiful view and the meal was excellent. The owner/chef took a few minutes to visit with us along with some others who were enjoying their meals. La Terrasse is a great location for families or for a romantic night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Welcoming Cafe - Spectacular View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The town of La Turbie is perched high above Monaco and is famous for the Trophee des Alpes, the Roman triumphal pillar and its spectacular views of Monaco and surrounding area. We had originally intended to eat at the Cafe de La Fontaine on the main street, but after being ignored after being seated, we left there and fortunately found La Terrase. The restaurant is owned by an Australian woman and her French husband therefore you can order in French, English or a combination of both! We just had a basic lunch of baguettes and drinks, but this made no difference to our reception and service. Meals, snacks and drinks are all reasonaby priced and are prepared to a high standard. The actual terrace of the restaurant shares the same spectacular views as the monument and this adds to its ambience and appeal. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horgen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view, lovely owners, playground opposite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Whenever we come across the region, we go for a stop in la terrasse. good food, lovely owner, reasonble prices, great location with stunning view, child friendly with a playground opposite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.