We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little Jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
17 Place Neuve | 06320, La Turbie, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in La Turbie
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A great little restaurant on the terrace in La Turbie above Monaco.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing little Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Well what an amazing restaurant on top over looking the Riveria. Fantastic service and food amazingly good. The steak Tartare was incredible. Enjoyed every second.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    42
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good view and OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a big restaurant next to the school overlooking the Mediterranean. While the view is extraordinary, the food is not quite as amazing as the other restaurants in the immediate area. Service was good and the atmosphere maybe a little bright. The lights from the schools soccer field impede the view a bit at night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch there several times. Food is very basic, but of good quality. Always feel welcome even if you do not speak french. Prices are fair and value for money. Will be back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of our local favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are regular visitors to Monaco, and we love driving up to La Turbie for the tartare, the beef and lamb dishes, and the salads and pastas. "Très sympa" as the French say. The charming owners and the amazing view don't hurt either. Very well priced, well-prepared traditional fare. We highly recommend La Terrasse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandria, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews we selected La Terrasse for lunch and we’re thrilled by what we found after a two hour drive from our home in Italy. My wife and I find ourselves craving a piece of beef cooked over high heat (brown on the outside and pink on the outside) as opposed to the typical gray boiled meat preferred by the Piemontese. I would have to say our meal was just about perfect.

We both had beef tenderloin, pommes frites, and a green salad along with half a liter of house wine (a nice Merlot by the way) and a large carafe of cold tap water. It was suggested that we try the local water before spending money on bottled water. That was a pleasant surprise and good advice as well.

The menu is quite extensive and reasonably priced but it took only a moment for us to spot the simple piece of beef we were seeking. We asked if they could crumble some Roquefort cheese on top of our salads and we braced for a negative response. “Sure” our waiter replied, “I’ll be glad to”. That made us smile.

The food arrived promptly but the beef was a little under-done for my wife’s taste. Truth be told, we were so excited over finding what appeared to be a great restaurant, we failed to give them any guidance as to how we wanted our beef cooked and it was indeed quite rare. My wife hates to send food back, especially in France, but she decided to ask the waiter to put it back on the grill for another minute. Contrary to what some reviewers have said about the service here, the waiter responded to this request with a smile and he actually seemed happy to provide us with exactly what we wanted. None of that snooty frown or scowling disdain one might expect in Paris. And the chef didn’t show that he was highly offended by burning the filet the second time around. He returned the plate quickly with the beef cooked exactly as she had requested, pink but not purple. This sounds like a small matter, but a rude wait staff can ruin a meal no matter how good the food. In this case, we experienced not just adequate service, but a genuinely warm reception that enhanced a great lunch.

During lunch, we interacted with the owner Jacques as well as three different waiters. They could not have been more friendly and accommodating as we spoke an amusing mixture of Italian, English, and French. Jacques even offered to check our Email and arrange for a free telephone call to the United States; we declined, but if one were traveling this might be a real bonus.

The deserts were nice and to top it all off, the total cost was a real bargain; mission accomplished.

On the way home, we discussed how anyone might write a negative review on this restaurant. I can only guess they must come from a jealous competitor. We have put La Terrasse on our “must visit again” list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
La Turbie, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.