We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umdoni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malkerns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Umdoni
Save
You added Umdoni to your Saves list
On MR18, 3km from MR103 | 26°31'12"S 31°13'36"E, Malkerns, Swaziland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Malkerns B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Perfect again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I love this place.
And at under €35 a night b&b single occupancy, it is great value too.
I had the same room as in January last year and was able to leave stuff in the room while I went off to Mozambique for a few days.
It's cold at night during a Swaziland winter, but there's an electric oil heater which keeps the room warm and I loved the blasting hot shower (something which you don't appreciate on a summer visit). The hearty breakfast is also great in the cold.
I had South African neighbours this trip, both quiet business people who are apparently regular guests. The visitors' book suggests that there are also quite a few people staying from Mozambique these days. It's a very international clientele.
Had another fine plate of prawns at Malandela's Restaurant up the road -- Thursday is prawn night -- and the brinjal (aubergine) fritters starter which they have been serving up for decades!
I made a note of the coordinates of the Umdoni turn-off this time. Navigate to: S 26deg 31' 11" and E 31deg 13' 36" and then you've got just the last few hundred metres on dirt road through the pineapple fields (actually, there are no pineapples planted at the moment, the land is lying fallow).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived at night and was received by a boisterous Jane (host) and dogs.
Rooms are large and beds huge and firm
There were mosquito machines in the bedroom and a selection of recent magazines, beer and even muesli in the cottage. Breakfast is prepared in the cottage and consists of fresh fruit, jogurt and bacon eggs and more. Explore the huge gardens and made sure you arrive during the day. Look out for the huge chicken sign at the turn-off.
Stay at least 2 days, there is enough to see an do in the immediate area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful spot, superb room, great hospitality, lovely pool and gardens. Best breakfast of our 6 week trip - don't be put off by having to go out for dinner - the nearby restaurant is excellent.We should have stayed longer - a couple of days at least

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wonderful rooms in the gardens of a colonial-style family home.
Spacious, air-conditioned, tastefully furnished and a good breakfast.
The swimming pool and tennis court are shared with the owners.

The drive through the pineapple fields can be a challenge, if you are not used to dirt roads (but it's less than a kilometer from the tarred road). Arrive in daylight and it's easy to find.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are suites with their own sitting room and private verandas. The other two rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umdoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umdoni

Address: On MR18, 3km from MR103 | 26°31'12"S 31°13'36"E, Malkerns, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Manzini District > Malkerns
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Malkerns
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Umdoni Swaziland/Malkerns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umdoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.