We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful respite in lovely area with kind competent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Dao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows
Save
You added Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows to your Saves list
144 / 2 m.5, Chiang Dao 50170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brevard, Nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful respite in lovely area with kind competent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just spent 3 nights there in new bungalow #9. My wife and I took advantage of local outings that Malee kindly arranged for us and enjoyed them tremendously. All meals were tasty were inexpensive. We will be back for a longer stay when we can. This was a very fine experience and I liked the variety of guests that we encountered. Chiang Mai just seems way too noisy now.
We were very happy with our experience.

Room Tip: #9 bungalow is very private for couples and good for birdwatching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
66
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows.

I paid 300baht for a twin bungalow (brick built building) with a detached bathroom. The room was basic but clean although the thin mattress an sheets looked very old and prove to be pretty uncomfortable.

The toilet and shower facilities were acceptably clean in an 'outdoors' kind of way and the shower was nice and hot.

The restaurant isn't the cheapest but the food was good quality and the service good. Wholemeal toast and homemade jam in the morning was lovely.

The hosts speak very good English and were extremely welcoming.

One thing to bear in mind is when I stayed there the typical clientele were older bird watcher types. I only saw 2 other younger people (I'm thirty travelling alone) so if you're backpacking and want to meet people probably look somewhere else too!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A last minute change allowed us to find this little gem and as nudists & lovers of the out of the way accommodations, this was a great find. a little difficult to find at night, but with patience and follow the signs exactly it was all good in the end. A daylight arrival is recommended as it would be easy to find. We missed the evening meal but that did not stop the staff digging up some simple toast and jam for a refreshing feed before a lond deserved sleep. Touring Thailand on 2 wheels and 2 up is an effort after a while, and this was our 2nd last night on the road.

We are still newly married so the Honeymoon Suite was for us, down the back and very private as expected. A well appointed Bungalow with all we needed, including a soft bed, mozzie nets, decent bathroom, fridge and a fan, sorry but no A/C.

A balcony with a glorious hammock, surrounded by near tropical rainforest and fruit trees. The fresh lychees we sampled and took with us were so sweet.

Between the various level bungalows was a pool and many little playgrounds, more fruit trees and a small kitchen for snacks etc during the day. A restaurant, bar, lounge, library and the views all top off this little Resort. Motor bikes are available I believe, as well as being out of town for peace and quiet yet close enough to get your essentials as needed. Being a small village area, it was close to living with nature and with the locals, as well as being a great base for the touristy stuff as well.

The staff are very helpful, polite and the limited English and our limited Thai just made our stay more enjoyable as nothing was too difficult. I only wish we could of stayed a week or two and really got back, as one with Nature.

Room Tip: Go the Honeymoon Suite, privacy, balcony and that comfy hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile


We rented a hut with privet bathroom for 600B.

The small swimming pool, surrounded with flowers en palm trees, is perfect on a hot afternoon.

The staff is friendly and really makes you feel like you're at home.

The restaurant is great and and offers better vallue for money then Chiang Dao Nest which is next door. At breakfast they serve homemade bread. Simply great and fresh local produced coffee!


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Dear Friends,
I just spent three wonderful weeks at Malee's Bungalows in beautiful Chiang Dao - writing, trekking and enjoying their easy hospitality and great food. The garden setting, with lots of space between bungalows, is ideal - not at all expensive for what they offer: peace and quiet, friendly and caring service, and a large dining hall that exemplifies fine-quality Thai design and woodworking. And the surrounding area is lush - perfect for exploring on a mountain bike or skooter, or even walking.
For me, the real bonus is the Buddhist monastery and temple that's only 500 metres (and 500 'easy' steps) up the side of Doi Chiang Dao, the third highest mountain in Thailand. This place is beyond words - beautiful, sometimes above the clouds, and not at all a busy 'public' tourist attraction. Visitors are very welcome - but you know you're in special place.
And Malee's is right next door - what could be better? I'll be back soon - for my third stay in one of the most beautiful sanctuaries in the world. I know that's just my opinion - but if you visit, you won't be disappointed.
Have fun and "my pen lie",
Don Hansen (Byron Bay, Australia)

Room Tip: quite a range: from budget to A-frame bungalow to family cabins - no 'motel or 'hotel' s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very nice gardens in quiet place. We had simple room with shared bathroom which is quite simple, but clean and well maintained. Malee were very helpful and friendly. She also took us down to the city to bus station with her car by our check out. The swimming pool is great refreshment option after hiking in surrounding great jungle.

Room Tip: There are only 2 (maybe 3) cheap (300B) rooms with shared bathrooms - probably the cheapest ones in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very belated review due to family illness after we got back and then forgot about it until now! We stayed in October 2010: Arrived in Chiang Dao by motorcycle on a wet and cloudy day. We had a nice lunch in Chiang Dao but were shocked at all the rubbish EVERYWHERE after the local market - have not seen mega-rubbish like this anywhere in Asia. This left us feeling a bit doubtful about staying in the area, but decided to continue with our plans and look for accommodation close to Chiang Dao, but a bit off the beaten track.

We looked at several places down some side roads a few kilometres away and decided on Malee's as it looked private and less touristy, and also had wifi in room. We pretty much had the place to ourselves, which we liked. It's in a nice garden setting, with lovely plants and lots of beautiful orchids grown by Malee's husband, Kurt. Also, lots of interesting walking experiences very close by.

Wifi in-room was a bit sporadic, but worked ok in the dining/reception area, which is quite large, well-furnished, and welcoming. Our bungalow was adequate with large-size clean bathroom and good water pressure, however, the bungalow itself seemed dark inside and closed in. It would have been lovely to have the front door open at dusk, but not possible due to various insects/bugs (we live in a tropical climate, so expect this), but a screen door would have been wonderful so that we could look outside at this time of night and not feel so closed in.

Meal service was slow (surprising, as only a couple of other people staying at the time). Food was enjoyable but not fantastic. Malee was fantastic though and this made the whole experience very enjoyable!! She was so friendly, helpful and welcoming!! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows

Address: 144 / 2 m.5, Chiang Dao 50170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Dao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Dao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows befinden sich 1 km nördlich der Chiang Dao Höhlen in Richtung Wat Thum Pha Plong. Genießen Sie eine entspannte Atmosphäre dieses kleinen Paradieses inmitten unberührter Natur am Fuße des dritt höchsten Berges Thailand's Doi Luang Chiang Dao. Der kühle, erfrischende Dhala Pool befindet sich in einem gemütlichen Garten, wo unsere Gäste die prächtige Natur geniessen können. Familien mit Kindern fühlen sich in unserem ruhigen Ort wohl. Seltene Vögel werden häufig in nächster Nähe gesehen, was diesen Ort ein Mekka für Vogelbeobachter macht. Andere Aktivitäten an diesem Standort sind Trekking, Höhle zu erforschen und Mountain Biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malee`s Nature Lovers Bungalows Hotel Chiang Dao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malee's Nature Lovers Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.