We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park

Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park
5990 Arthur Highway, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
+61 1800 641 641
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park like an insider
Top Rated
$502*
and up
4-Day Tasmania East Coast Tour from Launceston...
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Taranna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at Taranna, Tasmania, 1.5 hours drive from Hobart and 10kms before the Port Arthur Historic Site. An innovative and holistic wildlife park dedicated to education and conservation of the Tasmanian Devil. Come face to face with many other Australian Wildlife such as quolls, kangaroos, possums, frogmouth, parrots and birds of prey.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were lucky to go there on a sunny day. We spent a few hours in the park, and were really happy with all the experiences: hand-feeding kangaroos and wallabies, watching tasmanian devils, quolls and birds... The staff was really welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. The animals are happily living in an as natural as possible environment, it's not a zoo. The location and surroundings are stunning. It was definitely the highlight of our trip to Tasmania.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    59
    14
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Visiting this place is a very worthwhile experience. A few people have acknowledged that it is a little pricey and I would have to agree with this considering it’s a fairly small park (you only need an hour or 2 to get around whole thing). However, the money is going to an exceptionally worthy cause so we just considered our entry fee as a donation to the conservation of the Tasmanian devils. Park includes not only devils but also various Australian birds kangaroos, wallabies, pademelons, and spotted quolls.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Saw this place by chance on the way to Port Arthur, and glad we called in. While the ticket prices are a bit steep, the money goes towards conservation of Tasmania's native wildlife. Make sure you catch the feeding sessions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk england
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“All you need to know about the little Devils”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Called into this attraction because we wanted to know more about these little animals and this was an ideal place to learn all about them. The park was also full of the native wildlife including Quollls ,possums kangaroos wallabies and wild birds. I We were impressed with the two guys who knew all about the Devils and what was being done to combat the face cancer which is devastating the population of the species. Spent over 2 hours there and found it a pleasant experience Spoke to both of the owners John and Caroline Hamilton and the staff who were very friendly and helpful NZ$33 for entry and NZ418 for children Can be done along with the visit to Port Arthur as they are very close by

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“See The Real Tasmanian Devil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Besides seeing Tasmanian Devils roaming around in Tasmania which is not very likely, this is the one of few places you can see the Tasmanian Devil and NOT the cartoon character. Also here you can interact with the Kangaroos. This is basically a small zoo. I was here in 2009.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasmanian Devil Conservation Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.