We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abs by the Bay

Save Saved
You added Abs by the Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abs by the Bay
5730 Arthur Highway, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Taranna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked at Abs by the sea very last minute, late in the afternoon of the day we wanted to stay. We were advised that they were fully booked but they did have a small cabin suitable for a couple that was available. We paid only $90 for the night. It was wonderful, exactly what we were looking for. The cabin was small but had everything we needed, full kitchen, nice clean bathroom.
The setting is amazing you can walk right down to the waters edge and what the sunset. The owners were very nice & helpful giving us hints & tips on things in the area to see and do.
We were only there for one night but would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had 5 stopovers during our two week road tour around Tasmania and the last was the best.
Arriving shortly after the devastating bush fires we did have some concerns,especially as the route to the Tasman Peninsular goes through the most damaged areas. Our hosts were reassuring and helpful with suggestions about what we might like to do and even gave us fillets of fish that Stuart had caught the day before.
Our unit was spacious, tastefully decorated, very well equipped,spotless and comfortable. It was by no means the most expensive either!
It is convenient for all the historic sites around Port Arthur as well as beaches and outdoor hikes.
If you stay there be sure also to visit the Federation Chocolate factory just a km. away. Fascinating and the chocolate is simply divine!

Room Tip: Be sure to specify the type of room you require. Motel style, 1bedroom appt or 2 bedroom. If self c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Abs by the Bay in January when the wildfires were blazing throughout Tasmania. In fact, during our stay, the fires came too close for comfort and we were evacuated... But it was hard to leave. We had become family with the owners - they emptied out their refrigerators to ensure that their guests would have enough to eat and were comfortable - we felt so well cared for and safe. I won't ever forget our picnic at sunset the beautiful bay. The kids kept their mind off the emergency by going kayaking on the bay and my husband and I enjoyed quiet walks in the area (friends tell me there is even a tennis court, just behind the cottages).

We enjoyed the cottage at Abs by the Bay from the moment we stepped in. The workmanship and the elegant decor add to the efficiency, cleanliness and sheer comfort that the two bedroom cottage offers. We had a hard time getting out of bed and getting out to enjoy all that the Tasmanian peninsula has to offer. But the proprietors made sure that we had all the information we needed to plan a wonderful two days! Superb scenery, excellent driving conditions and my son says that he had one of the best surfing experiences he has ever had!!

I can't recommend Abs by the Bay more for a family, especially one with teenage children!

Room Tip: No swimming pool but the by is right there to enjoy, even better than a pool. The property even has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found these units to be exceptional value when visiting Port Arthur for one night. The room was well equipped, comfortable and clean - in short, everything we needed.

The area is quiet and guests have access to the waterfront area at the back of the property. It is only a short drive to the Port Arthur Historical Site, so it was perfect for doing the evening 'ghost' tour of Port Arthur.

The hosts were very helpful in recommending the right passes for our visit to Port Arthur and other attractions around the Tasman Peninsula.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was small but well equipped and very nice and clean! We loved it... It was great having access to a bbq. The riverside location was great. The only egative comment we have is the lack of wifi access... T

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a lovely double room with tasteful decorations and a spotless and spacious bathroom. The kitchenette was well equipped but a table in the room would be nice because there is nowhere to eat. The rooms are far enough from the street, so we had a quiet night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Welcoming surprise for the price. exceptionally clean and well equipped unit. Genuine and Welcoming hosts.after staying at a number of disappointing places this was wonderful for our last night. well done to the owners:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abs by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abs by the Bay

Address: 5730 Arthur Highway, Taranna, Tasmania 7180, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Taranna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taranna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abs by the Bay provides contemporary apartment accommodation set in attractive gardens with access to waterfront of Little Norfolk Bay on the Tasman Peninsula just 10 minutes from Port Arthur. Choose from spacious one or two bedroom apartments each with their own fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom and outdoor barbeque area, or a one bedroom studio suite with tea/coffee making facilities. With its modern style, convenient location and affordable rates, Abs by the Bay is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers to just relax, unwind and enjoy what the region has to offer, it is a popular tourist destination, renown for its sheltered rainforests, unspoilt natural beauty, spectacular scenery of rugged ocean cliffs, surf beaches, wildlife, adventure and heritage of the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Abs by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abs By The Bay Tasmania/Taranna, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abs by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.