We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accom for a great family getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlottes Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel
Kosciuszko Road, Charlottes Pass, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2630, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Charlottes Pass
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect accom for a great family getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Chalet for the first time. It won't be the last. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The meals are generous and delicious. The rooms are spacious and the common areas are perfect for the location - open fires, a few bars (although not rowdy) and pool tables and space for the kids to run around. Both our kids enjoyed the kids club, although we only put them in for a few hours a day as the slopes were just perfect for lessons. The beauty of this place is that you walk out the front door and onto the slopes. The hire shop is about 50 metres from the chalet and the staff there are also helpful. I have uploaded some photos as there are very few on the Chalet website and on Tripadvisor. I hope it gives a good indication of what you get for your money (note: we had the standard room and it was clean and comfy. Bathroom looked refurbished. Kids loved the bunk beds). We didn't have a tv in our room and Internet was pretty expensive ($25 for 24 hours of Wifi) but really we didn't need it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights right at the start of ski season 2012. We dropped our baggage at the Chalet's desk at Perisher and then drove back and parked at the Ski Tube. As there were blizzard conditions the oversnow transport took a little longer to get to the Chalet (about 40 mins). Once we arrived we were informed that our room wouldn't be ready for another hour but this gave us a chance to look around. The kids club was great. They take kids from 3 up and provide them with morning (9.30 - 11.30) and afternoon sessions (1.30 - 4.30 I think) and then take them for their dinner at 5.30 and a movie to follow, so that you can enjoy your 3-course dinner every evening. The all-inclusive part of this place is great because you don't have to think about things too much. Food is good and drinks are actually reasonably priced. We read reviews that said the rooms were tired etc etc but our room was clean and quite modern. We were worried about noise as we were directly opposite the kids club door and just round the corner from reception but we couldn't hear a peep. Staff were very eager to help and the whole 3 days were really without fault. The slopes at Charlotte's Pass aren't exactly going to sustain the interest of advanced skiers, but for families or beginner / intermediate skiers, this provides a great place to ski, without the people traffic you'll find at Perisher. We are looking forward to coming here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Location was beautiful! We arrived too early to check in so we left our luggage in the hotel and went out exploring. The staff took care of everything, they were very helpful. When we got back to check in, our luggage was in our room. Everything was taken care of. The room was lovely with amazing views. The hotel is nice and cosy with a main lounge area where everyone would sit around the fireplace. The food was also quite nice.
Would recommend!
The only problem was that I couldn't sleep at night due to the high winds..although that's not the hotel's problem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

It is the highest point in the snowy mountains cute chalet, great kids minding and kids club, excellent staff, good food, but as soon as u get into your room you ate taken back to uni, "the smell of oily sheets" so you sniff around and it is actually the pillows wow they must have been here since this place was built, first night slept on a couple of towels covered with a t shirt the second night a rain vest was a more fluffy option, rooms very tired clean bathrooms though.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed for three nights with two children (11 & 13) in perfect ski conditions. One TV is shared in the common lounge area and one open fire was operational which can get very crowded at 5pm when the bar opens! Rooms are very basic with non consistent servicing. A la carte meals at the restaurant were fabulous however children under 13 need to pay $30 each (kids club meals included free but as our children are too old for kids club nuggets & chips we opted to pay). Buffet nights were great if you like seafood! Otherwise basic roasts & veg. The staff are all over the place - some were great and others rude and awful!
Important note - Book your dinner reservations for your entire stay as soon as you arrive as early spots book out fast (our first night we ate at 8pm!!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is charming and full of character, with comfy couches and chairs around log fires, snow falling outside ... just heavenly. However (I hate to have a 'however', but for the price paid, I feel I have to), the rooms are very basic. We had a suite, and the decor inside was very old and worn, with chipped paint, marks on walls, cheap ugly couch and chairs, and a very daggy old bathroom. Everything worked fine, and served its purpose well, but for the money, I felt it was really overpriced. Our suite seemed to be toasty warm, but our friends who stayed in another suite felt cold, with only 1 heater for the entire suite (the Corner Room). When they asked for another heater, all the spare ones had been collected by other guests already.
That said, the staff were lovely, service at the restaurant was excellent, and the food was delicious. The kids club was well-run, too.
Being able to walk out and put skis on to go to lessons, or up the slopes, was a huge plus. I understand that other nearby lodges are quite a bit cheaper, though, and would be just as convenient. So unless you really hanker after the gourmet food and using the kids club for child-minding, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Had a great 5 nights in the Chalet and fantastic 6 days of Skiing. Although many of the staff were new to the resort, they along with the regular season staff (and owner) went out of their way to make every effort to ensure we all had a great time. Didn't hear a complaint from anyone. Families and couples all mixed well with plenty to do after the skiing stopped.
The meals were fantastic and the staff very quickly knew everyones names, just to make you feel at home.
Our room was very large and the bed and bunks were very comfortable. Considering the age of the hotel, the rooms are very well maintained and have all you need for your stay. You don't have a TV in your room, but the kids never even thought about it. They didn't even bother watching the huge TV in the guest lounge. It's just not the type of holiday where these things are necessary.
Just make sure you make your dinner reservations when you arrive as those in the know take all the early spots. You will want to eat early and get to bed early.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Road, Charlottes Pass, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2630, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Charlottes Pass
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Charlottes Pass
Also Known As:
Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel Kosciuszko National Park/Charlottes Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kosciuszko Chalet Hotel to your Saves list