We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop en route” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wedderburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn
Save
You added The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   State Highway 85, PO Box 15 | Central Otago, Wedderburn, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stop en route”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were glad of the spotless, comfortable cottage after long ride.
Amazing views and bed really comfy. Breakfast left in unit to help yourself and the owner came along and made herself known.
Even have tv and wifi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cottage for one night while cycling the rail trail. Perfect situation, right on the trail. Reslly well designed and thought out cottages, sensitive to the environment but comfortable and just enough space for the one night stay. A short walk take you to the Wedderburn tavern for a drink/meal. There is breakfast food in your room. We had a lazy start in the morning watching the sun breaking through the clouds while sitting on the deck of the cottage. A lovely host who came and had a chat. Would highly recommend this place for a nights stay if you are doing the rail trail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast BC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

When we rolled into Wedderburn on the second day of our cycle of the Central Otago Rail Trail, it was lovely to see these quaint cottages with a beautiful open view across the fields.
They are small and compact and just perfect for an overnight stop. Your breakfast is all in the fridge and ready for you to have at the time you wish to get going.
We stopped and had dinner at the Wedderburn Tavern just down the hill. It gets busy here so it is a good idea to make a dinner booking before you even start your cycle trip.

We had a good overnight rest here before heading onto the next part of our Trail experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfortable and thoughtfully serviced cottages. loved the peacefulness and rural views of the plains, hills and paddocks with sheep and cows. Highly recommend a stop here at the highest point of the trail.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in a double room and were bitterly disappointed. Admittedly the owner was rushed off of her feet with the public holiday but we were shown to our room without any indication of where the bathroom was, when breakfast was, whether we could eat in the tavern that evening, what there was to do in the area...It very much felt like the accommodation was an extra to the business rather than being the heart of it. Maybe we just came on a bad day but i'm afraid to say not a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a welcome sight the cottages were after our hardest day on the trail coming from Hyde. The setting is magical and the cottages themselves are just lovely. The bed was huge and I definitely had my best nights sleep in the cottage. The owner was welcoming and very friendly - what amazing vision she has. Dinner at the Wedderburn Tavern was great so all and all the best night on the ORT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group of 11 friends stayed in the cottages in December while doing the Otago Rail Trail and all really enjoyed our stay. The facilities were clean and comfortable and well thought out for weary cyclists. Our hostess was extremely welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for her. She provided a BBQ for us to use on our second night there and kindly allowed us to use the Lodge facilities as well. We would thoroughy recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn

Address: State Highway 85, PO Box 15 | Central Otago, Wedderburn, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wedderburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wedderburn
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge & Cottages Wedderburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.