We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with a family welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tullys Hotel

Tullys Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlerea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tullys Hotel
Castlerea, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Castlerea B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Old world charm with a family welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in tullys hotel and it was a delightful two days. The hotel is family owned and family run, Paul and son Mark and their team couldn't have provided a warmer welcome. The hotel is warm and cosy and the bar has a lovely buzz to it, with locals of the quaint town of castlerea coming and going, giving it a feeling of being the centre of the the community. We ate in the one night and though the menu was simple, the quality of the food was really excellent with very generous portions, that was the same the next day with breakfast where the Irish breakfast kept us going for the whole day. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and for the price terrific value. Yes there are more modern and plush hotels in the west of Ireland but there is something very special about this little gem of a hotel in castlerea, on a cold night there is nowhere nicer than to be having a drink by the fire in the bar and catching up with friends!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Tully Hotel at Castlerea in Sept. For what we paid we felt we got a good bargain for the room and breakfast. Not your 4 or 5 Star Hotel but a old hotel with lots of creaky floors (we like that shows character). Good hot water showers, nice choice of tea and coffee in the room. Good choice of dinner options downstairs in the bar plus beer and drinks. The breakfast was well done and as good as we've had in Ireland. Worth a stop and stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family during the august bank holiday weekend, as the annual festival was on in Castlerea. We enjoyed a pleasant stay in this welcoming family run hotel. The location was excellent, with most events of the festival taking place right outside the door! The staff and food was also very good, with a great selection on the evening menu in both bar and dining room. The room we were staying in was recently renovated and was very nice. I think they are currently in the process of renovating all of the bedrooms. I would definitely recommend this small hotel to other family's looking for a comfortable stay in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in Tully's Hotel in early May 2013. I was unsure of what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but was very pleasantly suprised. We were welcomed by some very friendly staff at reception, and were given the key to our room. The room was lovely and comfortable. That evening we enjoyed the lovely home cooked food in the bar, which is brilliant value for money. We ate there both nights of our stay, and were very impressed. The highlight of our stay in this hotel however has to be the breakfast. It was very nice, and there was no shortage of food. I will definately return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Tullys is a family run country hotel.Good food (try the homemade beef and mushroom pie), clean rooms, yes the bathroom door did hit the pan but not when closed, great service. Refreshing not to stay in chain style hotel that serve rubber chicken. The staff were friendly and the lady running the Thursday night Ceilhi was great fun. We only had one problem they only had wine from Chile, still can live with that. Would recommend to anyone travelling in the area. Visit the local shops, Stephen Traceys shoe shop is a delight and Tom Flynns general store is a delight. Enjoyed our chats with both.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel, in the middle of the town of Castlerea. It is clean, warm and cosy. Wonderful staff and warm welcome. The service was excellent, I couldn't as for more. Bar food was very good quality for money. Currently getting refurbished but would benefit from more gym and childrens activies. I would definately make a return visit and I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in Tully's hotel on Saterday night the 9th March, to say that we were shocked at the rooms in this hotel is an understatement. Our first room was small, the bathroom door hit of the toilet bowl when you opened it and the sink hadn't been cleaned. We asked for a change of room and we were given a key to room 14. Not much better that the first one, room was bigger but the cleaniness of the bathroom left alot to be desired. We enquired if there was any better room but we were told that they were all the same. Needless to say we won't be staying there again. The size of room was not that important but there is no excuse for giving out rooms that are dirty. I know they are doing renovations but that is still not and excuse. We did receive a reduced rate as we were told it would be 90 euros for the night, but they brought that down to 60. Still a rip off for the state of the rooms. The only plus is any staff that we did encounter were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castlerea hotels

Been to Tullys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullys Hotel

Address: Castlerea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Castlerea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlerea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tullys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tullys Hotel to your Saves list