We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fallons Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Fallons Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Fallons Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fallons Bed and Breakfast
Knock Road, Arm | Roscommon, Castlerea, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Castlerea B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location in the West of Ireland. Large, comfortable and well-decorated rooms. Housekeeping did an A+ job. Tom & Helen were always friendly, courteous and helpful. Outstanding full breakfast every day. WiFi and parking were included. I strongly encourage you to consider Fallon for your next trip to the west of ireland.

Just a quick note about the water, although the town supply is contaminated the supply to the property is not as they are on a different line. I had heard about the water when i visited a pub in town and spoke to Tom who clarified the situation so no need to worry about that :)

Room Tip: I stayed in room four which was huge, perfect for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Whilst researching our ancestors in ireland we stayed at this bed and breakfast. the rooms are really nice and the establishment is based in lovely country surrounds.. the breakfast was amazing and the hosts were most helpful, showing us all the ancient sites in the area. would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We enjoyed a restful and pleasant stay in Fallons B&B 2 weeks ago. As regular visitors to the west of Ireland we had visited other parts of the county but this was our first time in Castlerea (but certainly not our last).
After a warm welcome we were led to our room - the decor was contemporary and attractive and the room was comfortable with lovely views of the front garden.
The breakfast was hearty and tasty the following morning, the hosts helpful and warm.
Given the cost of the B&B we feel it was great value for money also.
We would very recommend the B&B as a great + relaxing place to stay, and will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here last month for the weekend and had a brilliant stay. Helen and Tom are first class hosts - very attentive and welcoming. They showed us a lovely walk way running from the B & B - very tranquil with hedgerows that were in full Summer bloom. Breakfast was also top notch with eggs from their own hens. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed only one night at Fallons after a long day of driving and visiting Clonmacnoise. So we were all a bit tired when we arrived. We were not offered tea upon arrival which we could have used for sure. There are kettles in the room for heating water for coffee or tea. But when I looked inside it was so disgusting I wouldn't use it! We had been warned by a TA poster that Castlerea's water supply had been contaminated by the winter storms and was not drinkable. When we arrived at the B&B we were told that they had bottled water for sale if we wanted it to drink or brush our teeth. I know it isn't the locals fault that the water isn't drinkable but we felt the price for the bottled water was far above the B&Bs cost and felt they were taking advantage of a bad situation.
We wanted to take a walk to stretch our legs after the drive but the B&B is located on a main road that we didn't feel safe walking. I happened to notice the drive that enters the B&B continues on over a railroad track. There are gates you have to open to get across. Be careful but do take the walk. It is basically a farmers track that leads thru fields and eventually comes to a house. It was a very pleasant walk. It would have been nice if we had been told about the walk rather than finding it ourselves.
When we returned from eating in town, I laid down and my wife and our traveling companion went to the lounge to relax a bit. They were able to get tea at that time which apparently tasted fine. The next morning breakfast was very good but we all agreed the tea was terrible. I don't know if this had to do with the water or something else but none of us drank it.
We all agreed this B&B was not near the top of the list of B&Bs we stayed at this year or prior years for that matter. I was surprised to see so many glowing reviews as our experience just didn't match that of others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights in a very spacious room. We were walking, so it was a bit difficult to get to the b&b safely, as it is located along an N route, but the owners drove us a couple of times to the village of Castlerea and picked us up again at request. Also, there is a good walking path from the village, but we didn't know about it when we first arrived. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruits and lots of choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon, Australia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This lovely B & B is great value for money. Spotless, and very roomy. A very relaxing place to stay and a lovely breakfast in a peaceful breakfast room with great views. The owners were wonderful and chatted to us over breakfast. Highly recommend and would stay there anytime we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fallons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallons Bed and Breakfast

Address: Knock Road, Arm | Roscommon, Castlerea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Castlerea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlerea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallons is an attractive dormer style family run bed & breakfast situated on the outskirts of Castlerea Town. Peaceful and unspoilt, Fallons is bright and spacious and tastefully decorated throughout. The large bedrooms are on ground floor level each with en suite, TV, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities as standard.Wholesome Home Cooked Breakfast is served in the spacious sun-room. A relaxing visitors lounge is available for guests to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fallons Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fallons Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.