We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pillebourdiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oisly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Pillebourdiere
Save
You added La Pillebourdiere to your Saves list
Route du Vivier 18, 41700 Oisly, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Oisly B&B and Inns
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was with my girlfriend in this bed and breackfast in August 2011, without reservation(i recommend booking) luckily we found a double room, the owners are spectacular,very nice,although for us it was a bab a little bit far from our itinerary they have filled this gup with their kindness..thank u very much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
131
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sue was the most wonderful hostess! Two couples stayed here and had the best time.
Every detail was taken care of with loving detail. The room was spacious and so comfortable.
The property was in perfect condition and it was such a treat to stay there.

Room Tip: Just count your lucky stars if you have a chance to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Having had the privelige of knowing Sue and Edouard as friends for many years before, a stay at La Pillebourdiere was a must. This finally happened 2 years ago and the memory of it still remains with us. We had a wonderful time, visited chateaux, the mushroom cave, ate splendidly both with our hosts, in a local restaurant and by ourselves. We cycled and explored. On one day when we were cycling and the weather was a bit unpredicatable, Edouard even offered to keep the keys to our car and in the event of rain, he would have driven out to pick us up from wherever we were, such is the service you get. Fortunately it did not rain that day.

Sue and Edouard keep a room free for us - we are hoping to be back probably this year - if you have room for us with all these wonderfully satisfied guests that you have.

Martin & Nelly

Room Tip: If you haven't been - go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I just received an email from Sue that this B & B is suspending operations as Edouard has been taken gravely ill.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

It does seem a little pointless giving Sue and Edouard an excellent rating because everyone before me has done the same. However it is certainly well deserved and I have great pleasure recommending you take some time to stay at La Pillebourdiere - even if it is a little out of your way. We stayed in the Bordeaux room which was very large and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was fantastic and Sue and Edouard were magnificent hosts providing a treasure trove of information on the surrounding Chateaux. Take some time to stay here

Room Tip: Stay in the Bordeaux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olifra, Owner at La Pillebourdiere, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Kylie & Geoff,
Thank you for the splendid review you have given TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to hear that your stay with us has partially contributed to make your visit to France and the Loire Valley memorable.
Kind regards,
Edouard & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were delighted to spend our time in the Loire Valley with Edouard and Sue! They provided helpful information on restaurants, discount coupons to castles and fed us home preserves and yogurt! Fluent in French, Swiss and English, these gracious hosts were comfortable with all ages of guests in their care. La Pillebourdiere is a clean, quiet getaway spot for a romantic excursion or a family experience. Nestled in the middle of the Loire Valley, it has quick access to all the castles you could possibly visit! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is the best place you can find in the Loire!!! I reserved it based on Tripadvisor rating and reviews and all it was written about it was true!!
We stayed there in August with my family. It's beautifully maintained and furnished. Sue and Edouard are excellent hosts, not only very friendly but also extremely knowledgeable about the area. Those home made jams and yogurts were so yummy! My kids had a great time in the backyard by the pond!
Though the B&B is not exactly next to any of the castles; it is close to most of the ones you want to see there. The hosts speak English fluently which was a great plus for us.
I hope one day we can go back there!!
So my advise would be: if you can get a room there don't even look any further!
Thank you Sue and Edouard for this memorable stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pillebourdiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pillebourdiere

Address: Route du Vivier 18, 41700 Oisly, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Oisly
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oisly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire valley, surrounded by the vineyards of Touraine and within easy reach of some of the most beautiful castles of France, Sue welcomes you at la Pillebourdiere, an old wine farm built in 1813 which has been converted into a comfortable and peaceful B & B, making it the perfect setting to explore the splendour and history of days gone by. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pillebourdiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.