We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the red curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Ginger

Black Ginger
Nai Yang Beach and National Park | Indigo Pearl, Phuket Town, Phuket 83110, Thailand
66 (0) 76 327 006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 912 Restaurants in Phuket Town
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get the red curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Nice and spicy!

And I mean VERY spicy!

Don't ask for local spice!!

The best red curry that I have had around the world.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    36
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's months later and I'm still thinking about this food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The food and the atmosphere of this restaurant makes it one of the most memorable dining experiences in my life. The surroundings and architecture of the restaurant are hypnotic. floating in the middle of a tiki torch surround lake, you step onto a floating platform, for a staff member to ferry you across the lake to the restaurant. The service is exceptional and the menu full of authentic Phuket specialties is amazing. Their satay was out of this world and the water spinach, delish. You could get a much cheaper meal on the nearby beach but honestly, don't, you'll regret it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Really very special and service top notch as everywhere at the Indigo Pearl. At this price the food was nothing special though. Still well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

There is not much to say about this place except that it was an experience worth living.

1. The environment: AMAZING! The way to get to the restaurant by a raft is a beautiful experience. Not easy to explain but very nice. The restaurant itself is magically decorated, black and dark colors, mirrors and chandeliers.
2. The staff: Very well trained, friendly and by far the best service in Phuket.
3. The food: Very interesting. I am not used to Thai food so not much to compare, but for an amateur in the field I really liked the food and found it different, interesting and would try it again and again. The cocteils we had (Indigo Pearl) were really nice. The desserts were very different that we are used to and not very much my type, but still I liked that I tried them.
4. Prices: it is an expensive restaurant for Phuket but not expensive in european standards. We got one starter, 2 main courses, 2 deserts and 2 cocteils and we payed appr 2500 bht.

It was an experience really worth living and even getting beyond that, I will go again tomorrow to try some more dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If you want to experience the boat across to the res then do it! It's a fantastic experience.

Food was good - we had the set menu on the day. Was expensive compared to the beach but it is a different dining experience.

Would recommended for a special occasion or last evening in Nai yang.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Black Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.